Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Guardian Angel School

Private | PK-8 | 208 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in New York

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $925,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,070.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 11, 2013

As a former student, i love this school for my son, he has learned so much, and the teachers are awesome. i love the sense of community and family in the school. all of the kids know each other through out the grades
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

My Daughter has been a student at GAS for 2 years. She adores her teachers. I am happy with the education structure at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

My daughter has been attending this school for 2 years now. She loves it! The teachers really seem to care and the principal knows each kid by name and character. Overall, as with any school you have to do the leg work with your child to keep them engaged at home. I'm a full time mom but still find the time to read to my child each night and play math games with her to keep her performing at her peek.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2009

This school is really bad.They dont have a gym,nice teachers and the students treat him bad (hearing from my son's complaints),he wont be attending this school when i find a school better for him
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2009

I think GAS is a good school. It really needs to get gym uniforms for the kids the school makes the kids where their regular gym clothes under their uniforms which I think is absolutely crazy. Each year the tuition goes up and we the parents are constantly paying out money for different things in school, it would be great to pay for a proper gym uniform. There curriculm is OK and the teachers in 3rd grade, 4th grade, 6th grade are excellent teachers who are totally open to work with the parents. I think the 8th grade teacher needs to relax alittle and learn to hear and listen to the parents when they come to you with concerns and issues. Overall the school I feel the school is a safe enivorment and I am comfortable leaving my child there.The school needs some improvements inside and outside. need a parent assoc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2009

I have 2 children. They both have experienced the 'wonders' of Guardian Angel School. My daughter graduated from GAS 8 years ago. She has been so appreciative of her education at GAS, stating it has been a solid foundation to being successful at high school and college. My son, is finishing 6th grade and is doing very well. The principal and faculty really care for the students. They really take their professional duties seriously, by providing the best education and guidance as possible. I am proud to be a parent of a past and future graduate of GAS. Thank you to all at GAS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2008

Unfortuantly, this school overall does not prepare your child in the upper grades to think critically, express views, and become avid readers. This school is great from grades 1 through 3 and after that the academic challenges fall short.


Posted July 14, 2008

My two youngest children just finished their first year at Guardian Angel and I have to say, being a former graduate of the school myself I am extremely happy and impressed with how well this school is run. Miss McElduff and the staff do an amazing job mixing education, religion, discipline, love and fun. My boys are very happy to be attending. LisaMarie
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2007

The school is tough, but comforting. It has its bad and good times. I think it is a nice, small, safe school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 23, 2007

I'm an alumni of this school and I can honestly say that I have fond memories of a very close knit community that offered lots of old-fashion, Catholic discipline and lots of homework. Guardian Angel gave me a love for literature and it saddens me to know that teachers like Sr. Anne and Sr. Marie de Lourdes are no longer there. This school accomplishes what the local public schools failed to do for years. They have educated a significant amount of the minority population in Chelsea including children from the neighborhood public housing developments. I am seriously considering this school for my own children. They were a beacon before the gentrification of Chelsea and I still believe that they are shining as brightly today.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 21, 2006

As an alumni of Guardian Angel School I can say that the education, safety and discipline given here is excellent. The teachers work hard to givethe students the best education. What I like the most is the good old fashioned discipline that many children so desperately need nowadays.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 15, 2005

This is a wonderful school. The classes are small, so the teachers can do a better job teaching and controlling the children. Each grade prepares the children for the up comming year. It has no gym and offers no extracurricular activities for the children. The parents are very involved and look out for each others child. Everyone shows support for the school during the one event spring fling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2005

my daughter graduated from this schol great school teaches great morals , and my son is next to graduate
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2005

My daughter is currently in first grade moving to second grade. She has been in this school since Pre-K and she loves it. Everyone knows each other, therefore everyone looks out for each other as well. When my little girl is at school, I know she is safe and in good hands. When the younger children get let out of school, their respective teachers wait until they physically see the parent or person in charge of picking them up. If I happen to be late, I feel at ease knowing that my child is safe and in the office waiting for me. What I love about Guardian Angel is that it is a small school with a big heart. The children are well educated, and taught to love and respect themselves, as well as others. This is a lovely school that is a community within a community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2004

My daughter attends this school. She's in first grade. The reason why I put my daughter in this school was because of their academic teachings. I attended this school myself for eight years.. I do have to admit that it was very hard because both of my parent could only speak spanish. The great thing was that my teachers work very had to always have me at good grade average and that my reading would improve. I graduated in '88 wih good grades. My sister followed in my footsteps and also went for eight years. We are seven yaers apart so I do have to say that the school did maintain their great academic skill. The teachers and principal try to maintain their students with high expectation and great self esteem. Not only are they there as teachers but as a friend. The disadvantage is that the school is small.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

In my time attending Guardian Angel, I always was trained to respect my elders, and that hard work was essential when heading into the work force. I would just like to thank Ms. McElduff for all her guidance during my attendance there.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 66% 21%
Black 18% 21%
White 11% 52%
Asian 2% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% N/A
Two or more races 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Maureen P. Mcelduff
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New York
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

193 10th Avenue
New York, NY 10011
Phone: (212) 989-8280

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Quest To Learn
New York, NY


Ps 33 Chelsea Prep
New York, NY




Corlears School
New York, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT