Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

School Of The Blessed Sacrament School

Private | PK-8 | 267 students

Our school is best known for the community we've created with staff and parents.
 
 

 
 

Living in New York

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $797,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,110.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 10, 2014

I am a parent of a very active child who is attending SBS. The school is below average. The school has too many half days (11:30am pick up) which is ridiculous. Our first year we had an amazing teacher but now are regretting having our child in this school. Plus of the school- Location is great, price is affordable for NYC, uniforms ( Sadly- they are not using Lands End for their uniforms- the new company is horrible), After-school activities are great and their tuition are kept low. Cons- Their is no open communication between teachers, administrative and parents. Don't find the school welcoming. The school is good for the price you pay in an over price city. If don't expect much, don't question administration/teachers and you will have a great experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2014

This is our 2nd year at School of the Blessed Sacrament - we chose it over schools like Success Academy, Mandell, Dwight etc., all of which are fine schools I am sure. SBS offered something more, a whole child approach. The staff and teachers are great, it is obvious they really do care for the kids and want them to learn and grow. The curriculum is age appropriate but clearly geared toward learning and offers measured competition in the class room, prompting kids to have pride in and take ownership of their work, while still enjoying what they do. Kids are also prompted to be respectful. Our daughter started reading within the first month in kindergarten and now, in first grade, reads chapter books and Harry Potter. After care is good and structured - the kids do the homework (supervised & reviewed) and then have free time. Enrichment classes are very good and much improved in just one year - French, ballet, tennis, arts, drama, tae kwon do, and math & science with Launch Center, to name a few. The new principal Joh Joven is dedicated to academics. The PA is great and very dedicated to improving school facilities - new doors, floors etc. I would choose it all over again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2014

Blessed Sacrament school is a great school. I am very happy with the staff, the principal, the secretary at the office is wonderful and very helpful. The academic program is strong and prepare your child for the futur. I also like the way they teach them to be respectul towards their friends and adults. I rate 4 stars instead of 5 because there is too many half days (11.30am dismissal at least 2 times per month) as parents both working it's a problem to find someone to come and pick up your kids and look after them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2013

This school is working its way up with more improvements in the program and adding new and wonderful teachers to its faculty. The new science lab is wonderful and is now being used by students of all grades! The teachers really seem to be involved with all students on individual levels and the special needs children in the classroom actually help foster more active use of religious values and I've seen growing friendships between students which is really important to me. The school has been adding new special subjects to the weekly routine and they are raising money for even newer technology to add to what is already in the classroom! We are really happy with the teachers and students in the classes we have had so far and are looking forward to another great year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2013

Blessed Sacrament is a great school and I am completely happy there! The teachers genuinely care about their students and it is a smaller school so they actually know my family, we are not just a tuition check! One reviewer mentioned something about never seeing the learning center-she must not be there a lot. They have a beautiful facility built off the library and it is the learning resource center. I feel this is a wonderful school. Im happy, my two children are happy, can't complain at all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2012

We have had a wonderful experience with Blessed Sacrament. The teachers have been challenging the children and have gone above and beyond their roles to make sure each child is up to speed. The academic program is fantastic. They have weekly spelling test along with challenge words to earn extra points. My son is in 2nd grade and is learning algebra along with preparing for first communion. We are happy to have our children in such a fantastic school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2012

I gave the school a 2 star because the lower grades are amazing and the upper grades 4th - 8th is not so great due to the lack of resources. The teachers are very dedicated and the parents involvement in the lower grades PK3 - 3rd grade is awesome. After 3rd grade you would begin to feel the difference. There is some kind of performance issues between the students and the teachers. Too many half days (11:30 am dismissal as mentioned by other parents). The school needs a real gym. Currently the cafeteria/gym is shared.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2010

I would not recommend it. The main issues are lack of technology, a science program, social economic studies and teaching strategies. The information is introduced and the kids are tested, however, they are not learning how to relate the information in a way that allows them to identify new ideas and/ or create higher/critical thinking. It is more about how much is covered on the syllabus; less about information the children comprehend and retain. Further, the site boasts of a broad computer education experience but there are only two computers in the kindergarten classroom. Not one computer in the other classrooms or a lab dedicated to computers at all in the entire school! The Learning Center is also listed on their website but my child has been there for 4 years and I ve never seen nor heard of a center for learning. There are also claims of enrichment programs but there are only pay programs to be taken as after school programs and even those are subpar. Finally the half days are exceedingly high for 11:30 pick up this school year there were 33 and the days out are at a total of 48. What is a parent to do???
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2010

Blessed Sacrament is a terrific school. My son is completing his first year of PK3, he adores his teachers Mrs. Sandy and Ms. Gabriel. A weekly lesson plan outlines their Spanish lessons, weekly trips to the library, gym classes, religious and music classes. This is a great school if you are looking for a small, intimate setting focused on education and the fostering of values and respect. In the past year, all 8th graders, except one, got into their 1st choice high school! This school is a gem on the Upper West Side.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

Blessed Sacrament has changed our lives, it is a great school that focuses on values, morals, and helping us raise our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2009

My son went to Blessed Sacrament for K and 1st grade. I wasnt to happy about his teachers. He also had a problem blending in with the students there, something that was not really helped or corrected for him by the teachers. I wouldnt recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2009

I was a student at Blesed Sacrament. I attended that school from 3-8. Everyone knows your name. The principal Mrs. Engel and the other staff are wonderful. They make you feel comfortable. I would advise to send your child here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 20, 2009

If you are looking for a small caring school with dedicated teachers and staff, this is your school. My daughter has been very happy here and her skills are growing each day. Becuase of the school size, every child is known by name. The facilities aren't as fancy as some schools but the dedication and care make up for that. The community is also very diverse racially but all the children respect and care for each other. I also like that the Cook Center for developmentally challanged kids is housed within the building and the children from this program are mainstreamed for schoolwide activities which helps the student learn compassion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2007

I have been so happy with my son's progress in the Pre-K 3 class. Miss Sandy and Mrs. B are great with the children. They have an excellent handle on the 20 kids and it's obvious they make the day fun. You never see a kid sad to be dropped off in their classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2007

My son is currently a kindergarten student at School of the Blessed Sacrament in Manhattan and my daughter will be in the pre-K program next year. We are very pleased with the kindergarten program. The teacher is excellent and provides parents with weekly summaries of her lesson plans, which is rich in language and content in the areas of reading, writing, math, and religion, while affording ample opportunity for imaginative play. There is also a great music program, with all students participating in the Christmas and spring concerts. The gym coach is very effective in fostering a love of sports, and runs a tennis program after school on Thursdays. Extra-curricular activities include dance/musical theatre, martial arts, and piano lessons, all offered on the premises after school. There is an active Parent Association and parental involvement at all grade levels appears to be high. Its library is wonderful, too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2007

Blessed Sacrament is a great school to attend. The teachers and faculty are great. I would like to commend Ms. Angie who knows how to interact with the sixth through eight graders.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2007

Great school, the principal mrs.Engel she's very friendly and comfortable to talk about your child education. The pre-k3 assistant teacher mrs.B she's great with kids and very helpful. I thank god for mrs. Engel and mrs.B the deserve a+++++++++
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 36% 52%
Hispanic 29% 21%
Black 24% 21%
Asian 5% N/A
Two or more races 4% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Security personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Dance club
  • Drama club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Clubs
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:45 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • John Joven
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • Direct instruction
  • Independent Study
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Soccer
  • Taekwondo
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Soccer
  • Taekwondo
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Chess club
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Register to visit School of the Blessed Sacrament on TOURING TUESDAY, November 18, 2014, from 9-11am. TOURING TUESDAYS are universal open houses scheduled periodically throughout the school year at Catholic elementary schools across the Archdiocese of New York. Reservations for Touring Tuesdays are required. To reserve your space at School of the Blessed Sacrament, please call our 24 hour bilingual line, (646)794-2885.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$5000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Convent of the Sacred Heart High School
Regis High School
La Guardia School of the Arts
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

147 West 70th Street
New York, NY 10023
Website: Click here
Phone: (212) 724-7561

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


York Prep School
New York, NY


Beit Rabban
New York, NY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT