Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Jude School

Private | PK-8 | 224 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in New York

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $299,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,200.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 13, 2012

I know parents are unsure about this school but hear me out! I am a student at SJS in the 7th grade. I have been attending this school since 3rd grade & can I say I love this school. What surprises me the most is that nobody in my class likes to not go to school, including me. We would beg our parents to let us go in no matter what weather. Not only do we help one other in school but also outside of school. My class usely does get-to-geters... and I know what your thinking thats dangerous but its not. About 87% of the parents in my class work together to allow my school to have many things such as bake sales.(so they know each other). At SJS we are like a family. Despite that alot of the students are from D.R we always have each others back. We also compete in Speech Bees, Science Fair, basketball games (which they just put), and much more. So if your thinking about putting your child there you should and I know I am a child but SJS has taught how to be a young lady. :]


Posted September 13, 2012

My son is in Kindergarten and this is his second year there. I am very please with his academic learning and amazed at how caring the teachers and assistant teachers are. I love the fact that when two kids have an issue they help them resolve the problem right then and there, before the day ends so no one goes home upset at no one. My son and I just love love Mrs. Remo and I am glad to report that Ms. Julissa Matias-Kelly is no longer at the school. The school also has a new principle who is trying to do so much for the school and this year the school will once again have a basketball team and is offering Piano classes and for the summer 2013 the school will be offering summer school. More and more parents are starting to get involved. I have seen in a one year alot of changes which makes me very very happy. It's great to hear my son say I love my school. SJS ROCKS!!!! Registration is all year round and kids start as early as 3yrs old and a full day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2011

I thought this school was great until I enrolled my daughter in kindergarten. Ms Julissa Matias-Kelly is the worse teacher your child can have. She is abusive and intimidates the kids. When you speak to the administration they do nothing but tell the teacher about it, which then the teacher takes it upon herself to retaliate on your child. All the kids in her class are terrified of her. Kids need to respect not fear their teacher!!! The students visually shake when you speak to their teacher. Its a good school if you want to send your kids, but make sure its after kinder. Parents refuse to complain are scared to complain because they are scared of retaliation! Social services needs to get involved or the Archdioceses!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2011

From reading prior SJS reviews I am shocked with the last review that was posted. I am a 1981 graduate of the school, and since then other family and friends have attended the school and have had nothing but positive and encouraging things to say about the school. The person who posted the last review must have gotten up on the wrong side of the bed that day. The academics along with the discipline is MAGNIFICENT!!! None the less their religious teachings are at the TOP! For those out there who are interested in registering their children at SJS, have no fear. You are making the right decision. SJS is FANTASTIC!


Posted April 18, 2010

The school is terrible it is degrading to horrible acedemics and horrible children who bully so many
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 16, 2008

St. Jude School is becoming one of the worse private school. The Principal, teachers, and staff are very agresive to students. A lot of bad things are going on, such as, poor comunication, bad reputation, and the students are not getting a good education background. If you do not want your child to fair, Please do not bring it to St. Jude School, I do care about kids and I do not want that your child faced all these issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2008

The academics are great. The Reading First program does wonders under the direction of the new Principal
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2007

My children ages 8 and 4 attend Saint Jude, I am very happy and impress with the education and care my children receive at the school. The tuition is a little high but it is well worth the cost. The teachers are excellent! Keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2007

The school is ok and has come back over the years
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 19, 2006

St Jude School is wonderful in every sense possible. Mr. Carpenella is a wonderful principal, the teachers are unmatched in the great work they do with the children and with their disciplined yet nurturing manner. St Jude's has won The Speech Contest and the Science Fair this year. I am a former student and my child attends St Jude's as well. I feel like I am leaving my child at my second home with extended relatives. AMAZING SCHOOL!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 12, 2006

St. Jude School is a doing very well academically. I give the teacher a 10 out of 10. The principal of the school has a great curriculum in place. I highly recommend this school to anyone who is interested in enrolling their children. I am also a former student of the school as well as other family members and friends. If you are uncertain, make an appointment to visit the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2004

Unfortunately, St. Judes per teacher ratio is about double if not more then what u have stated (average abt 35-38 students per teacher. Currently the 5th grade class has 40 students. The teachers are all excellent with long educational backgrounds and extended time at St. Jude. The schools former principal Mr. Deegan was a superior figure for the children. We are now getting to know the new principal and hopefully he will be able to fit Mr. Deegans shoes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

this school for me is a diamond in the ruff. From the principal to the teachers there is no equal.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 96% 21%
Black 4% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% N/A
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
White 0% 52%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • David P. Friedlander
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New York
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

433 West 204th Street
New York, NY 10034
Phone: (212) 569-3400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Ps 5 Ellen Lurie
New York, NY


Jhs 52 Inwood
New York, NY


Muscota
New York, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT