Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Mount Carmel-Holy Rosary School

Private | PK-8 | 48 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in New York

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $496,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,270.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 6, 2013

My daughter is beginning her second year at MT. Carmel and we love it! She is entering the second grade and we are excited about it. The teachers are very loving and caring. The principle is nurturing and caring. I love that she knows ALL her students; from 1st to 8th grade. It is a small school with a loving and educational environment. We came from a charter school; which was good but in this school, my baby gets to learn music, arts and most importantly, she learns about God. WE ARE LOVING IT!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2012

Fantastic school! Our daughter is in the PK-3 program and we've been very impressed with the principal, the teacher and the program. Love how they take early childhood education so seriously! In addition to regular instruction, our 3-year-old's class also has weekly lessons with an art teacher and a music teacher. What's more the after-school program also has small group piano lessons at a pretty reasonable rate! The school was recommended to us by a friend and we feel very fortunate to have found it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2012

I love this school, but the student body is very bad. The students are very rude and do not know how to respect one another. They're always picking on someone and are ALWAYS CURSING! but the teachers never seem to notice for some reason! So many bullies in this school.. and even if you tell the teacher or principal, all they do is give you a talk and call your parents. Even after that, the bullies still roam the school being rude.. I feel like the staff don't really care about what goes on.


Posted November 11, 2010

My daughter is currently in Kindergarten and she is doing extemely well. She first attended MCHR in Pre-K 4 when Pre-k 3 and 4 were together. This year they have separate classes which is really great. i would wholeheartedly recommend this school. The reason I choose this school was because at an early age my daughter showed interest in music and dancing. The principal Mrs Kaczynski is a wonderful prinicipal. My daughter's Kindergarten teacher Mrs. Villa is fabulous and she genuinly cares about the students. She does great projects with the kids and my daughter loves learning. My daughter recently told me that she wants to be a teacher just like Mrs. Villa.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2008

The school's principal Mrs. kaczynski is top-notch! She is an absolutely wonderful principal who loves her students and staff, treats the parents with fairness, encourages her children to strive for the best and has created an atmosphere for learning and demands student high achievement. I recommend this school to everyone who desires a quality education for their children. Go see Mrs. Kaczynski or Ms. Frances, school secretry who is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2008

My son attended this school last year for Kindergarten. He loved it there and his teacher, Ms Seltun was very patient with him and myself. The school has a lot of wonderful programs and the principal has done a great job with keeping the kids in line. The only problem that I had with the school was the willingness to get more academic programs pushed. They pushed the Music and Dance programs more. Even though still it is a great school and I am saddened that my son will not be attending next year since we moved out of state. If you are looking for a great elementary school, this is it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2008

I have been a student of this school for many years now and I feel that this is an excellent school because their are many after school programs that help students strive for success.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 17, 2008

My son is in Kindergarten and this school is wonderful. His teacher has so much patience with him seeming he has ADHD and he has learned to calm down in class with her clever tactics to keep him in his seat. It is a close-knit family oriented school and I will be saddened when I have to take my son out due to us moving . The principal andd staff are great and really keep the children in check and make them strive for perfection! I highly recomend this coll.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2008

i have been going to this school for many years and have no complant. with a strict hand they teach your child discipline and catholic values
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 12, 2007

I have visited all of the private Catholic schools in Manhattan for my daughter before making my final decision regarding this school.Mount Carmel/Holy Rosary has the best programs like learning to play the violin, learning how to dance, learn how to play basketball, and more programs are becoming available through grants that Ms. Kazinski works nonstop to provide for the school. She is a lady that as soon as you meet her, treats you with kindness and respect. She is prepared to answer all questions you might have.Ms.Francis the school secretary is a caring and open person. Holy Rosary cares about their children. My daughter is Second Honors and this school helped her love to learn. The teachers are all very dedicated. They strive to make sure that if your child doesn't know something and struggles with any material,that by the end of the year they know it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2007

While attending an Open House at the school and meeting with the principal, I was very impressed with the outcome of the school. The Principal is great, friendly and always around and involved 100%. She works hard to obtain capital improvement grants for the school. She conducts fundraising and part of the school s curriculum is music and dance. The school has a variety of extra curricular activities such as after school clubs in art, music, basketball and track team.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2007

This school is a school that will get you ready for a new life starting high school. When I attended this school last year, I had problems paying tuition. Teachers, principal and staff understood the problem I was going through. I thank the principal, Mrs. Kaszynski for being there for me and in believing that I can do whatever I want in life. She told me education... u must have.... and no one can take it from you. This school is not an ordinary school. Students work for their education once a week, prepares us to be independent and ready for what the future has for us. Gives us and opportunity to see what it takes to have an American Dream. I Give thanks to Mrs. Suzanne Kaszynski for helping me come through my obstacles.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 59% 21%
Hispanic 38% 21%
White 2% 52%
Asian 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Italian

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Suzanne Kaszynski
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Italian

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New York
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

371 Pleasant Avenue
New York, NY 10035
Phone: (212) 876-7555

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Ps 155 William Paca
New York, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT