Advertisement
Advertisement

Corpus Christi

Private | PK-8 | 159 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in New York

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $535,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,210.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 14, 2013

My daughter attended this school for two years and graduated from eighth grade, She loved it here and so did I. Faculty made us feel very welcome and like family. The school is very up to date with Technology with smart Boards in every classroom! I noted that the pre K is very diverse which is really nice. The school is small and intimate, my daughter came home with smiles on her face from the friends she made and tears when she had to graduate. She was challenged, A lot of reading in the last two years and good classic books too. She even learned Italian. We will miss this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

I graduated in June 2013 and the teachers skills were impeccable. My ELA and Reading teacher made it easy to understand. My Math teacher never pressured me but allowed me to take my time learning. I actually liked it there.


Posted May 9, 2011

This is my son's first year in the school and he loves it. The kids are friendly and well mannered. The Principal, Teachers and Staff are wonderful. Classrooms have smart boards. The curriculum is the same as the State Standard curriculum. The only downside is the lack of space for outdoor recess. Other then that I highly recommend this school to anyone who has a child going to Middle school. This school is a hidden gem on the upper west side.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2010

Corpus Christi is a great school that I am glad that I found. The school has good teachers who care about the students. Teachers who my son hasn't even had for class yet know his name and talk to him to see how he is doing. The classrooms have smart-boards in them, helping to introduce the students to technology early. My son has been provided with challenging coursework and the support needed to help him grow academically, personally and spiritually. Overall a great school and I am happy to have my son enrolled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2010

Although it's only been my first AND last year, Corpus Christi has definitely prepared me for high school. The values and principles learned here are everlasting, the academics and teachers are remarkable, and the experiences and friendships created at Corpus Christi School are simply unforgettable. A small community with wonderful staff, who can pass up the opportunity? Of my previous 2 schools, no single aspect can compare to that of Corpus Christi ! -N.C.


Posted February 18, 2005

Corpus Christi is a very special place. Everyone knows each other and all the teachers are encouraging and helpful. The academics are significantly challenging and all the students are friendly. The principal not only knows the name of each student, but who they are and what they are like. Corpus Christi is an extremely nurturing environment. It fits the needs of each individual and makes everyone feel like they are at home. The Corpus Christi community is very close, and values along with academics are taught as well.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 61% 21%
Black 26% 21%
Two or more races 11% N/A
Asian 1% N/A
White 1% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dorothy Valla
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New York
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

535 W 121st St
New York, NY 10027
Phone: (212) 662-9344

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT