Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Brigid School

Private | PK-8 | 242 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in New York

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $361,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,250.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 23, 2014

This is an amazing school I am in the school. I enjoy the school very much. The teachers are nice. The students not to much I just keep my distance,but I like. So I recommend this school very much.


Posted September 19, 2011

I am commenting on the review form the parent posting on June 21. I am the principal of St. Brigid and I feel that we are responsible as a school to notify parents in advance that their child is not meeting standards. At the March report card, if the child continues ot struggle this is a sign they may not be meeting the requiremnts for the next grade. We offer a summer program here but in no way is it mandatory and many of our children take summer classes eslewehere even free at the local public school. So in no way are we putting money first. This parent was with us only one year, and he is not up to speed in math. It is sad that she wrote this about our school because of her frustration. We beieve in havign al our students be successful and work very hard to supply them with the skills necessary for high shcool and college.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 21, 2011

After being in the school for one year this is my observation...Some of the teachers are very involved with the kids, however, this pales when it appears that the main focus of the school is money. Many parents were told 3 months before the end of the school year that their kids were failing math or english(1st-7th grade) and that summer school was recommended...for a hefty fee of course. I am so disappointed, that an institution that is founded on the principles of Christ is lying to trusting parents...and making the kids feel dumb. Deceitful strategies like this are sinful and preys upon parents that want the best education for their kids, so they become oblivious to such deception. Again, I was impressed with some of the teachers and the principals knowledge of all the kids, but I will not be fooled but surface behavior. For these reasons I am departing from St. Brigid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

It offers a wonderful education in an area that ofetn doesn't have great opportunities for children. The teachers are warma dn friendly; and they immediately make you and your child fell a part of the family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

I love St. Brigid School. The principal and the teachers are always concern about the students. The teachers know every child by their first name and that makes the transition from one grade to the next a great experience for the students. They welcome new students with open arms. The are always new activities and events that the students love and enjoy. It is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2008

I am also a former student & St. Brigid was a great experience. I attended from 3rd to 8th grade. When I have children I want them to attend a school just as good.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 4, 2008

this school has had a great impact on me and I really enjoyed my stay
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 4, 2008

I am a former student and all the time that I attended at St. Brigid, the teachers are very strict but all of my graduating class moved on and went to great expectations!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

I am a graduate of this school. St. brigid is a wonderful learnning institution! As a student, I thought it as rough and unfair. As a graduate, I can say this school molds its students to be ready for the future. I take great pride that my daughter will be starting 2nd grade there this year.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 10, 2003

This school highly encourages parental involvement and strict compliance with it's rules. This sets the stage for fine learning within stringent guidelines. The principal is involved in every stage and knows each child by first name. At first, I thought they were too strict (after all, they're just children), but after seeing the results on my own children compared to others, I thank the school for the wonderful job they've done. Highly recommended!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 91% 21%
Asian 5% N/A
Black 2% 21%
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
White 0% 52%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Italian

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:45 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Sheila Smith Gonzalez
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (718) 821-1079

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Italian

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Brooklyn
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

438 Grove Street
New York, NY 11237
Phone: (718) 821-1477

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Ps 86 The Irvington
Brooklyn, NY




Robert E Peary School
Ridgewood, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT