Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Adalbert Elementary School

Private | PK-8 | 54 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in New York

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $324,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,420.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 18, 2014

It is very easy to blame the teachers, the principal, and the administration for ones own shortcomings. Parents' must participate in their children's education. Homework is on the web with specific information about the child and parents must look at it daily to ensure that their child is doing well. Saint Adalbert school has a very high passing rate for state exams. The tuition is affordable, the education is excellent and it is a nurturing place to bring your child to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2014

St. Adalbert is a wonderful Catholic school. The Faculty and Administration are very professional and courteous. The school has small classes so children get individualized attention. "Option C" is a useful tool that helps parents keep up with their child's homework. The tuition is very reasonable; most importantly, the religious education is superior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2013

The teachers work very hard to know each students' strengths and weaknesses and to adjust their teaching methods to the students. There is NEVER a time that teachers disrespect or demean the students. If anything, there are some rotten apples, students, parents, who ruin it for the whole. They are highly disrespectful to the teachers, staff, and administration and then expect respect themselves! Incredible! Give respect to get it in return! All the teachers are caring and respectful. The upper grade teachers truly care for their students and look out for them. The teachers are more than qualified but choose to remain in a small school that they feel is home! Booooo to those who bash St. A's. they must have been the issues!


Posted April 8, 2013

This school is wonderful. I can't say enough good things about the education, the religious and moral teaching, the teachers and last but certainly not least, the principal. Unfortunately, we had to move. We relocated out of the city to an area where the public schools are said to be excellent, but am finding them to be no comparison. I wish we could go back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2013

This school was one of the worst experiences of my life. It was always cold, one time they told everyone to go get their jackets from the closets. The principal was to cheap to pay for substitute teachers so she would come sit in the teachers chair and not teach just hand us a worksheet puzzle. The money we give them apparently wasn't going to the school considering the fact 2 windows had fallen on two students. Did not like this school.


Posted August 6, 2012

I found St. Adalberts to be a reasonable and affordable alternative to Public School One poster asked where the money is going...that question needs to be asked of Public Schools. St. Adalbert's tuition is approximately 4K a year. Currently, the Public School system which is failing dismally spends at least 21k per year per student and the students are still failing. St. Adalbert's students ranked I belive above 90 percent passing on State Exams AND they don't just require their students pass the State Exams, they require their students actually are accountable and pass classes. The Public School system simply passes students along, and we are finding more and more our Public School H.S. graduates have to take remedial courses, they're not even prepared. I am happy I decided to send my child to St. Adalberts. I believe my child had quality instruction, dedicated teachers and exceptional leadership. I would recommend any parent who is concerned about a quality education as well as a safe and emotionally nurturing environment send their child to St. Adalberts. ~A parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2012

Terrible school, the education is below most school, with teachers who give good grades because they are too lazy too actually look at an assignment. In the seventh and eighth grade ELA, we read books and learned nothing from them. There is no AC so it tends to be colder outside in the summer, even if it is 100 degrees. Tuition is expensive, and so are uniforms, but what they do with the money is unknown, as there are close to no field trips or fun activities. Teachers hardly actually do any teaching and even play favorites, punishing kids without proof that they actually did anything. And all "advanced" classes mean is that you get about 5 more homework questions than regular classes. Wasted my time because I hardly learned anything.


Posted June 13, 2012

I am a NYC Public school teacher and I can tell you that I did not hesistate to send my son to St. Adalbert. From the administrative staff to the teachers, afterschool personnel and the Principal, Sister Kathleen, everyone worked with my son to ensure that he would have a productive, nurturing and learning environment. That these days is so difficult to find. I am teacher who has the privilege of teaching 3 students who have graduated from St. A's and their abilities and respect for education made my choice even easier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2011

I suspect the three negative comments are trolls. While they may have had a bad experience, in thier personal past with other administration they now appear to have a personal vendetta - the current administration from as best as I can gather are committed, understanding and supportive. Sr. Kathleen takes a personal interest in EVERY student in her school. My son left Public School in a state of near trauma due to bullying that was uncorrected in the Public School. Sr. Kathleen has made my son and EVERY child in her school a priority, she is compassionate, empathetic but also insists that students be accountable - something that is sorely missing not only in school but in many homes today as well. I give St. A's an EXCELLENT rating and would have no problem referring ANYONE to send their child there. That is not to negate any pain one may feel due to an experience one may have had in their past; however it is equally abusive to sabotage opportunity for other children due to personal misgivings. There are other ways to seek justice; however, don't poison the whole barrel, hold those specifically responsible accountable. Otherwise, it's slander.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2011

I planed to send my child to this school this May. I went to this school and met with the principal and few teachers, however, I was so disappointed. The principal is horrible and the education system is way behind other schools. I decided not to send my child to this school. Please save your money and time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2010

I went to this school and sadly the nuns and teachers at that time had verbally physically and mentally abused us. For 9 years everyone that went to that school endured it. I have kids and still live in the neighborhood and I refuse to send my kids there They have gotten a better education in public school. Hold onto your tuition money put it on the side for the college education instead .. the kids will be better off !!


Posted November 3, 2010

I went to this school and I can honestly say the education was poor. Very behind the times. Save your families money and send the kids to public school.


Posted April 12, 2010

this school isn't the greatest but its okay the upper grade teachers are caring and loving but the principal is harsh and hardly gives second chances. i use to go to this school


Posted February 10, 2010

My daughter has attended St. Adalbert's from pre-k and is now graduating 8th grade. Not only has she received an excellent academic education, but also an excellent moral education that will stay with her for the rest of her life. Most of the teacher's are excellent, and the principal is the most hard-working and caring person you will ever meet. There is nothing more important to her than the welfare of her students. I am so happy that we chose St. Adalbert's to give my daughter the foundation to take her into her adult years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2010

Everyone (from the principal to the teachers to the nurse to the office staff) at Saint Adalbert's is very approachable, helpful, and responsive. My wife and I feel very fortunate to have our daughters in the school and we have seen them both progress so much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

The school treats every child from grades pre-k to 8th grade as individuals with certain goals. After graduating from this school, I've seen many accomplishments for both this city and state as a whole!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2009

This school is excellent in academic and the atmosphere is great. My niece graduated from here and now goes to one of the Prestige College in the country with a full scholarship and my nephew is in eight grade now. My son also attends to this school and his in 4th grade. Principal is very caring and knows the students individually and that is very important. Parents with negative comments or students really needs to assessed their priority because it takes both parents and students to be on top of everything. Teachers teach and guides the students but students needs to do their share of learning and effort. Whatever school you attend to bottom line is do the work and put effort in learning. I highly recommend the school to all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2009

My son was a new student in September 2008 and the transition from a Public School was difficult for him. While this was a very challenging situation, I found the administration very supportive of the transition. I noted that another parent on this site was not pleased due to the lack of 'test prep' however, that is the exact reason why I elected to place my son in St. Adalberts. I am not looking for test prep, I am looking for a well rounded education. While there will always be times when parents, students and teachers do not see eye to eye, the most important lesson I believe one can teach a child is accountability and how to adapt to such situations. I am overall very pleased with the staff and administration and especially hold the Principal Sr. Kathleen in the highest regard and would recommend St. Adalberts to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2009

I love St. Adalbert and never regret sending my kids there. My oldest son graduated and is currently in high school...the other two are still in St. Adalbert. Most of the teachers are good, there are some exceptions as every where else. The prinicipal is very caring for every single one of her students. I have a lot of respect for sister, the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2009

Excellent school. Excellent Principal. You will never find a Principal as dedicated to her students and teachers as the one in St. Adalbert. Teachers are great because the Principal is a great educator. Kids learn to love and respect one another and brings out the best in each other. Will recommend this school to anyone, anytime!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 44% 52%
Hispanic 28% 21%
Asian 23% N/A
Black 3% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% N/A
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Kathleen Maciej
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Brooklyn
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

52-17 83rd Street
New York, NY 11373
Phone: (718) 424-2376

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ascension School
Elmhurst, NY


Ps 102 Bayview
Elmhurst, NY


Ps 330
Elmhurst, NY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT