Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Adalbert Elementary School

Private | PK-8 | 394 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in New York

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $324,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,420.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 6, 2009

Terrible teachers, Wannabe Gangster Kids, and Awful Communication between Kids and Teachers. Teachers are to blame, they do not teach the kids well enough to be prepared for tests, In my opinion, its one of the worst catholic schools in the district
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2009

I graduated in 1991 and have very fond memories of the school. When I attended, the school is rich with team spirit, a disciplinary prinicpal and teachers, an incredible support staff and just a wonderful environment. What I remembered most(besides great friendships) was that the school made learning fun. My son, who is currently in the fifth grade, is attending the school, with the same prinicpal. I plan on enrolling my younger son in a few years. I highly recommend Saint Adalberts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2009

Average to below average teacher quality and poor communication between the school and parents make this school subpar.


Posted November 14, 2008

Amazing school. my daughter went there and ow she's 22 years old working in TV. My son 7, is now attending the school and it is as good if not better since my daughter graduated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2008

I am now a senior in highschool and can still recall the amazing days at St. Adalbert's. I am one of four kids in my family that have graduated there and still have a younger sibling attending. Not once did I regret the experiences I had there, I loved it. It's such a heart warming place that not only cares about giving you a great education but about you as a person as well. The principle is beyond helpful and goes out of her way to give you the best experience you can have. Her faculty and staff are some of the best people you'll ever meet. Sending your child there would be the smartest and best thing you can possible do for him/her. There are so many times I wish I could just go back there. The atmosphere of the school is so family-like and they make everyone feel welcomed.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 22, 2008

This is a fantastic school.The kids and faculty are all so nice.There r never any scandels or other issues at this school and I know because i've been in this school since pre-k.The are alot of extracurricular activites availbe to the kids such as basketball,srcapbooking,band,soccer,and a lot more stuff.The principal is very nice and decorates the school for current holidays.She is a very nice person.If you live on Staten Island you schould definetly send your child(ren) to this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 1, 2008

This school is not recomended has horrible standards and does not do well on state tests.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2008

This is a great school to send your children to. They are so caring and wounderful. They have a lot of sports and afterschool programs to keep your child content. I love this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2007

I go to this school and it's highly recommended. I'm in the seventh grade, the principal and teachers are truly helpful. In this school, there is a no-BULLYING zone! :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 24, 2007

I went there for 8 years, graduated to St.Francis Prep, and will never regret going there. The principal is great, all my teachers were fun and great at what they did. I made so many friends there as well. It is an all-around fantastic school. I would definitely recommend it to a younger child just entering Kindergarten.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 13, 2007

I would not recommend this this school. The school only cares about tuition, is rude to parents and there have been scandals in the past. I was a former Student and found the school to be a sad state.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 27, 2006

I love this school, the kids from lower grade to higher grade knows each other and the Principal is always there watch the kids during lunch break. It is just like one family. If we weren't moving to a new place I am not taking out my kids from that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2005

St. Adalbert's is for children from Nursery School through Grade 8. The teachers are excellent. They emphasize discipline but their warmth and caring are never absent. There are lots of extra-curricular activities, including scouting, basketball, and baseball. The have a music program. All students have art class and computer instruction, in addition to the basic school curriculum. There is also an honors program for gifted students. They offer after school care for a small charge to accommodate working parents. Also, during most times off they have camp the children can attend. In this time of fiscal hardship, resulting in the closure of so many Catholic schools, St. Adalbert stayed open due to its consistently high enrollment and community involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 44% 52%
Hispanic 28% 21%
Asian 23% N/A
Black 3% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% N/A
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Kathleen Maciej
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Brooklyn
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

52-17 83rd Street
New York, NY 11373
Phone: (718) 424-2376

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ascension School
Elmhurst, NY


Ps 102 Bayview
Elmhurst, NY


Ps 330
Elmhurst, NY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT