Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Cathedral Prep Seminary

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in New York

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $324,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,420.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 19, 2014

I graduated from Cathedral Prep in 2011 and I loved it. The environment was great, the staff is amazing and I made lots of friends I'm still close to. I arrived there in 2007 when Mr. Diaz was just a teacher and saw him move up to vice-principal in my final year and to principal after I graduated. The school is very good to the alumni, as I have been back to observe classes for my college field work in education. While at the school I was on the speech team and student council all four years. I was also on the NHS and the head secretary of the NHS as a whole in the school. I had an amazing experience and hope to maybe teach there one day. CK
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 30, 2013

I am so glad my son decided to go to Cathedral . It is the best school for him , near to our home ,with excellent teachers and great parents who care about the school activities and are always ready to help. The new principal Mr Diaz is great and down to earth . Having great teachers who care about their students it is very important. We are small school but with big heart. If you have to think about a male school have as a first choice Cathedral Preparatory you will be glad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2011

I graduated from Cathedral Prep over 20 years ago, and I still count many Cathedral faculty and other alumni among my closest friends. This school was amazing (and still is). The rigors of student life were not easy, however, as many other students left before graduating. That being said, the ones who "made it" were excellent students and have gone on to do some amazing things in life, some within the priesthood, many as laypersons. I must say that the academics required at Cathedral made my later years in college and grad school a breeze.


Posted June 27, 2011

My son graduated June 1, 2011. What I like about the school is the small class size that the teachers really know each student and even the rector /principal knows each student by name. My son was given a well rounded education by excellent teachers, guided and molded spiritually by priests and teachers. As a member of the National Honor's Society,he improved his leadership skills, as a member of the Forensic's Club, he gained confidence in public speaking since he is a quiet child, and community service makes him more civic minded and become a better member of society. I am really thankful for the 4 years my son spent in Cathedral Prep. I know the 4 years of education given to him by the faculty and staff of Cathedral Preparatory Seminary prepared him spiritually, educationally and mentally for the rigors of college and future endeavors. Thank you Cathedral Preparatory Seminary- rector/ principal, administration, priest, teachers and staff for helping my son developed a well rounded personality!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2007

My son is currently a sophomore in the honors program. The class size and the devoted faculty set the students up for success. Teachernet helps keep the lines of communications open. My son is maturing and growing spiritually and academically. Students are asked to be open minded and to accept God's will for them they are not forced into the priesthood. My son is guided and encouraged to be the best Catholic gentleman he can be. The faculty is honest, supportive, and they understand teenage boys. They have reasonable expectations of students. The school offers honors and regular classes. Incoming students and parents are concerned about Latin. Faculty assistance before and after school is available. Tutoring with National Honor Society Members also available. Your son will succeed if he makes the effort. Excellent school! Wonderful nurturing environment. Tons of extracurricular activities and sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2006

I went to Cathedral for all four years of High School and I have to say that it was one of the best choices in my life. The teachers were amazing that they really care about you. The small class sizes make learning more fun and interesting.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 23, 2005

My years at Catherdal went very fast. I had such a great time. The faculty was great. They were very spportive and helped in anyway they can. I made many friends in which I still keep in touch with. The academics was awesome. I learned a lot and was opened up to different cultural things. I also enjoyed the religious aspect. It made me really think about the priesthood and if it was something that God was calling me to do. I suggest Cathedral to all my students. I will never forget the memories.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 52%
Hispanic 25% 21%
Two or more races 7% N/A
Asian 6% N/A
Black 6% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Fred Marano
Gender
  • All boys
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Brooklyn
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Soccer
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

56-25 92nd Street
New York, NY 11373
Phone: (718) 592-6800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ming Yuan Chinese
Elmhurst, NY



Newtown High School
Elmhurst, NY



Ps 330
Elmhurst, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT