Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Manhattan Country School

Private | PK-8 | 191 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in New York

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $915,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,110.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 26, 2009

I used to be a student a MCS, and i enjoyed the two years that i attended. It could be slightly hectic, but that was something that helped me manage during middle school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 26, 2008

I have gone to Manhattan Country School and my daughter has as well. Its is amazing with such great diversity, academic support and you are guarrenteed to go to one of the top high schools of your choice. I highly reccommend it, I wish they had a highschool.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2008

My son has been at MCS for 4 years and the experience has been strictly okay. While the ideological underpinnings are very beautiful, the classrooms can be chaotic, lacking teacher or curricular direction. Although my son had no problems learning, he developed a hatred of reading by 3rd grade. While this school is probably better than the average public school in NYC, by virtue of its small class sizes and a curriculum that strives to teach and nurture the whole child, it falls short compared to other private schools. The leadership is weak (except the head of the lower school, who is fantastic) and the administration doesn't know how to handle the burnt-out teachers (of whom there appear to be many, unfortunately). While the school lauds itself for having a diverse community, it fails to make it a cohesive community. Small, thoughtful steps that would enable this are simply not taken.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2008

MCS is an amazing school with an outstanding mission. The community is so warm and happy you just want to be at school with your friends every second of the day. I everything about MCS. Unlike many other schools on the upper east side, MCS has a very diverse student body. I love this because you get to meet so many different people with a variety of different cultures and ethnic backgrounds. MCS is a haven for any student that is up for a challenge and excited to learn
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 10, 2008

Very good school. I recomend it. Very diverse and many nice people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2007

A wonderfully nurturing school and loving environment. Warm family atmosphere with racial and ethnic balance. However, is not able to meet the needs of academically gifted children or children with learning differences. This is unfortunate because the school has the potential, with its small class sizes (18 children per class)to meet student's individual needs but chooses to maintain a 'cookie cutter' philosophy. The Upper grades involve excessive amounts of homework and tremendous academic pressure for the average child who may not be mature enough to handle the independent work required. This seems, however, to be a trend in many private schools as they prepare students for the high school level. Some fantastic teachers who care, lots of parental involvement, especially in the younger grades, average availability to music, art, and sports, financial help. A good match for the mature, independent, average to above average child who needs a smaller learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2006

MCS is a school with a clear, well defined and unfortunately still unique mission. My child is a graduate of this nurturing community that has embraced real diversity( racial, cultural, gender, socioeconomic etc.) and combined city and country learning. MCS was instrumental in developing her committment to a life that includes services to others. Yes, MCS also provided sufficient academic challenge. My daughter's classmates' high school acceptances and colleges were impressive. MCS was weak only in the ease and availability of sports and other extracurriculars. It is exceptional in its committment to it's founding mission. Parent involvment is very, very strong. Although my daughter has attended fine educational institutions since leaving MCS none have had the impact of her MCS family. We love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2006

Great School if you like the independent 'teaching in the round' methodology. Great for building social consciousness. A little lacking on the physical activity, and sometimes too forgiving of other students shortcomings and the way it effects the other students ability to function. Still, an A- school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2006

MCS is an amazing school. Listening in on a discussion you are blown away by the thoughtfulness and depth of children's comments--even at four years old! The school community is extremely supportive and involved and the teachers are some of the most amazing ones I've ever seen. And where else is your child ever going to learn to milk a cow and weave textiles as part of their regular curriculum?
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Michele Sola
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7 E 96th St
New York, NY 10128
Phone: (212) 348-0952

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St Bernards School
New York, NY





The Spence School
New York, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT