Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Robert Louis Stevenson School

Private | 7-12 | 47 students

We are best known for individualized college-prep.

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Extended programs

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 
 

Living in New York

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $797,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,110.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 13, 2014

One of the great schools in NYC. The curriculum is founded on understanding rather than achievement in standardized testing. This is a school for gifted/bright kids who can't tolerate what is now called learning in the public schools. It is small, intense, challenging, and about as close to college as you can get. The emphasis is on the person and learning rather than grades. Great fun lively and enriching environment housed in a brownstone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2014

Absolutely terrible school. They claim to be "therapeutic" and yet caused me more damage while I was there than I had arrived with. I'm now a Sophomore at NYU and completely happy with my life, but it took me years of therapy to deal with the abuse that I endured while I attended RLS. Do not send your children here.


Posted March 3, 2014

I could give this school 2 stars easily because for the price $54K, it should be way above average. This school doesn't help children in the ways they claim on their website. Parents are not "free" or removed from the troubles as assured both in the interview and on the website, and regarding children with school refusal, its not a place that makes the difference. They are grade obsessed and not creative at all in making a difference. If your child has depression this is not the school it makes itself out to be. Maybe it works for other issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2013

Amazing school, I'm a new student, and I absolutely love being here. It's the only school that has ever worked for me.


Posted October 18, 2012

Stevenson saved my son. He had a great connection with the Dean when he first got there. So much so that he said, "for the first time, someone really understands how I feel". He didn't dread going to school any longer. He felt really comfortable and accepted. This school believed in my son and succeeded in helping him believe in himself. He's in college now and doing well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2012

I've worked at Stevenson for the past 9 years. I love this school! We have very little staff turnover and everyone works together well. Everyone who works here truly believes in Stevenson's mission and works here because they want to make a difference. We are supported by a Learning Specialist, Educational Coordinator, therapist, and the Clinical Director. We are encouraged to differentiate instruction for students who need it. I always feel supported when I want to try new things. I've never worked in such a strong, supportive environment. A happy staff definitely makes for a better environment for students. I would send my own children here if they were in need of additional support and a small classroom experience.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 1, 2012

I agree with the review posted on July 19, 2011. It's a therapeutic school that my child needed therapy because of attending!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2011

This is a very unique school. Students get in depth personal interaction with teachers and staff since the school is very small and the ratio of teachers to students is low. The staff is supportive and makes a big effort towards the growth and progress of each student, both academically and emotionally. Students come from around the city and area so there is a varied student body. Each student is valued, and their own unique talents developed and encouraged. I would highly recommend this school to anyone looking for a progressive and one of a kind school. My son has done well and flourished there, as with many of the students, his self esteem has improved dramatically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2011

My son came to Robert Louis Stevenson School after spending his 9th and 10th years of High School doing virtually nothing. His attendance record was terrible and his academic achievement worse. He is in his second year at Stevenson and has made great strides. He has learned how to be a student again through the program at Stevenson. The amount of oversight and guidance provided by the excellent Advisory program and the small class size has been instrumental in my son's progress. We were at the end of our rope and my son was quickly running out of options. Now my son is actually thinking about his future and our whole family is benefiting from his enrollment at Stevenson.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2011

For the right child, this high school definitely deserves a look. My sister s son was in a fast track Manhattan private school. Due to a combination of factors, he fell off the track grades getting worse, social problems, and his mood and conduct hit bottom. I m not sure how my sister found it, but this school turned out to be the answer for my nephew. For the first time in years he was not just willing to go to school, he was happy (and for the first time in years, I didn t have to brain-storm with my crying sister about how to handle him). His grades improved and slowly his confidence came back. He is attending college now and I don t know if that would have happened except for Robert Louis Stevenson. If you have a kid who is struggling, you might want to have a look at this school.


Posted July 19, 2011

As of May, 2011 the new Head of School has suddenly departed. There is only one psychologist on staff, also new in 2010. Though it is labeled a 'therapeutic' school, the advisors have no professional training and a great deal of responsibility. Parents are kept at a distance. Academics are mediocre. More than half the students have had substance abuse problems. For some kids it might be the only choice, so it is good the school exists.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

The school is a perfect fit for kids who are out-of-place elsewhere. The teachers and other staff take the time to really know each student's strengths and weaknesses, and as a result, build a daily experience that caters to those strengths while supporting the weaknesses. The kids have daily Advising groups, and weekly all-school meetings, so any concerns or issues that a student may have get a chance to be heard and addressed, rather than just having him/her 'deal with it.' They also put the right emphasis on each student's personal responsibility for their work and habits, helping to grow the students' maturity level. I'm so please I found this place!! Hardly anyone has heard of it, so if you're looking, this is DEFINITELY worth checking out!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2006

RLS is a great school that provides a wonderful enviornment that is nurturing while allowing students the ability to change and grow over time. The teachers are incredible, hailing from all different backgrounds and bringing incredible insight and life into the classroom, engaging students and really making a difference. It is a life changing institution that combines small class size (an average of eight) with well trained teachers who are prepared to help with any issue that might arise for a student. The downsides are the unavailability of sports due to the small size of the school, and the lack of a language program, which the school believes to be a burden that some students simply cannot bear. All things aside, it is a great place filled with amazing people who do more for the students than most other small private schools in the city.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 18, 2005

The school itself houses a devoted and dedicated staff. Children emerge from this school ready to take on middle school and are well-prepared in advance. Over the last few years the school has lost some of its 'community' feeling but for the most part, parents are still eager to participate and children are happy and engaged.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Various New York City private and public schools
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Douglas Herron
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Non-Denominational
Associations
  • NAIS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special ed
  • Special eduction
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Computer
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • softball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • softball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
More from this school
  • Stevenson School is an independent, therapeutic, college preparatory day school in Manhattan. This year Stevenson celebrates 50 years of helping bright adolescents who have struggled in other schools. Here, student's self-esteem is raised, their desire for learning is reignited and they develop skills for college and life. Founded in 1961 by New York education visionaries Lucille and Leo Rhodes, Stevenson maintains a rigorous academic focus within a framework of individual attention and a therapeutic milieu. We encourage students to celebrate their successes and once again take the risks that make learning exciting. With their growth and achievement, our graduates face future challenges with confidence and optimism; more than 95% of graduates go on to higher education.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Various New York City private and public schools

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

24 W 74th St
New York, NY 10023
Website: Click here
Phone: (212) 787-6400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ps 452
New York, NY


The Anderson School
New York, NY




York Prep School
New York, NY


Rodeph Sholom
New York, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT