Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Brearley School

Private | K-12

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in New York

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $999,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,110.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 4, 2014

Excellent school both academically and as an environment to develop independant thinking. Has kept up with the times. Over the years has retained its status as one of the most academically sound of the private schools.


Posted June 18, 2013

Graduate - 13 year journey k-12 - great school - strong emphasis on academics. Has evolved well with the times. Used as a benchmark for all post-Brearley academic adventures, few have compared well.


Posted June 7, 2012

I am an alumnus of Brearley, having started in kindergarten and remained through twelfth grade. Brearley has been and remains the best girls school in the US. It has withstood the test of time and has adapted with the passage of time but always retaining its laser focus on academic excellence.


Posted November 8, 2009

The Brearley School has opened so many doors for me, it has helped me find my true passion. It has an excellent music department aswell as rigorous academics, there are also many extra-curricular activities including all levels of sports and clubs. I highly recommend this school...
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2009

I've been a student at The Brearley School for 11 years now, and have loved every minute of it. From lower school right through high school, I have experienced the vast intelligence of the teachers and their intense attention and it truly provides a great environment. Not only are the academics supreme, but a fantastic Visual Arts program is offered, as well as Music, Chorus and Theatre through out Lower, Middle and Upper school. The extracurriculars are all a student could wish for from their school: a fantastic Drama and Technical Theatre program, an impressive Debate team, a sculpture class, wonderful orchestra and vocal ensembles, and of course, a highly competitive sports program. Overall, Brearley is the ideal school whether you are looking to start your daughter in kindergarten, or highschool.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 11, 2008

Academically speaking, Brearley is outstanding. I have one daughter at Brearley and one at Nightingale-Bamford, and Brearley is much more academically prestigious. The set backs at this school is the lack of a strong art department and lack of a competetive athletics program. Brearley is primarily just for academics so if your child want's to be an artist or athlete, I suggest another girls' school. The best fact about Brearley is that it has the highest matriculation to Ivy Leagues then any other school in the nation. Overall, 4.5 out of 5 stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2007

What a wonderful school--everything a parent could wish for. The quality of the teachers and their friendliness are plainly outstanding. Every day when my daughter gets back from her 2nd grade class, she says she has learned yet another thing. Overall, this school is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2006

Academic programs are hard, very good techers, very good at some sports, everything else is great
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 25, 2006

Outstanding education for girls. Well rounded, highly thoughtful teachers and dedicated students.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 2, 2006

Extremely difficult. Known as the most difficult among all the Manhattan private schools. Satisfactory programs in art, a great music program, and the sports are lacking for a serious athlete. Brearley is for a hardcore academic student and the slight disappointment in the sports and arts is accepted because of Brearley's extraordinary academic program.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Priscilla Winn Barlow
Gender
  • All girls
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
  • NCGS
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

610 East 83rd Street
New York, NY 10028
Phone: (212) 570-8516

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The Caedmon School
New York, NY






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT