Advertisement
Advertisement

Ethical Culture-Fieldston School

Private | PK-5 | 409 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in New York

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $797,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,110.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 20, 2009

Fantastic school, great teachers, motivates, captivates the imagination and desire to learn from the children. Happy to see a school focused on learning and not just 'test prep'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2009

My son has attend Fieldston Lower since he was in 1st Grade and he will be entering 7th Grade at Fieldston Middle School this fall. I'm a working mom and even though there are clearly very wealthy children attending this school, my son has formed tight friendships with many of his classmates and has never told me of any situations in which a child has treated him badly because he's not wealthy. He is very eager to go to school and takes pride in his schoolwork. The teachers are available whenever needed even though I've noticed that the teachers tend to be lenient with the kids because the administration feels that parents are paying too much money (staff members have alluded at this when I've told them to be strict with my child & not let him get away with things). Overall I'm very happy with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2008

My daughter began last year in Pre-k, and we cannot say enough good things about this school. The parents are very involved and the school has a real sense of community. My daughter has made many friends here and the parents are very real. We feel very blessed to be a part of this school, and could not be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2005

My two daughters attend Ethical and began in Pre-kindergarten. We were attracted to the school for it's progressive education reputation, commitment to diversity, and sense of community. The academic program is very loose until 4th grade. There is strong focus on the arts and culture. We have been disappointed in the Ethics program, the gym program and the seemingly decreasing attention to socio-economic and ethnic diversity. My youngest daughter's class is not diverse when compared to her older siblings class. This trend down is disturbing. For almost every year that my children have attended, I have served as a class parent and/or grade chair. There is significant parent involvement from the same pool of families over and over. It is difficult as a working family to participate in all the volunteer activities for the school. I find that it ends up being the stay-at-home moms or those financially successful who participate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2005

The teachers are very caring. Math and science is weak while English, Art, and 'social studies' are strong. Sports program is quite good. Parental involvement is limited because most of the parents are so busy with their careers that they barely have time for their own children! (Many of the families are not intact, the result of a very high divorce rate.) College placement is amazingly good. The students are very rich. The philosophy is very idealistic and liberal. If your kid is not from a very wealthy background, I would steer clear of this school since there is a disconnect between the extreme wealth of the student body in general and the few non-wealthy kids added for window dressing. The rich kids basically won't give the non-rich kids the time of day when it comes down to forming real, lasting friendships.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2005

Ethical Culture/Fieldston school provides a well rounded program for students from pre-k to 18. In addition to an excellent academic program, the school emphasizes the teaching of ethics. This encourages students to develop compassion for others and become involved in their community beyond themselves. Ethical Culture/Fieldston also emphasizes the arts and the Fieldston campus offers outstanding sporting facilities on its suburban-like grounds. A good number of graduates go on to top-tier colleges.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 52%
Two or more races 12% N/A
Asian 10% N/A
Black 5% 21%
Hispanic 4% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ann Clarke
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

33 Central Park W
New York, NY 10023
Phone: (212) 712-6251

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Beit Rabban
New York, NY



P.S. 191 Amsterdam
New York, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT