Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Caedmon School

Private | PK-5 | 280 students

We are best known for the attention to each individual's passion for learning

 
 

Living in New York

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $818,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,020.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Thursday, October 23, 2014

As the Head of School, I feel such pride in the integrity, people, and in a child's experience at Caedmon. Our unwavering guide is to develop the wonder and curiosity of each child. Parent blogs can be helpful about NYC schools. I am thrilled that parents report their children are experiencing the robust educational and developmentally enriching experience to which we strive at Caedmon. I am also deeply saddened that some families did not have a fulfilling experience at the school. I assure anyone reading this that we continuously reinforce our commitment to a safe educational space. Caedmon remains profoundly committed to preventing and addressing all forms of bullying. As these posts are anonymous, I hope that any family unhappy with their child's experience will find my door open. And I make a similar offer to the writers below, as I never want to stop improving Caedmon. We offer a unique and vital option, with graduation following 5th grade. Research tells us that these early years provide the window for a child to fall in love with school or sadly decide that school is "just not for them." I invite anyone to come take a tour and make your own informed decision about Caedmon.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 7, 2014

My almost-four-year-old daughter is in her second year at Caedmon, and we couldn't be happier with this school! The teachers have blown me away with their attentiveness and sensitivity. My husband and I have watched our once painfully shy toddler blossom into a confident, articulate child who just LOVES school. In my classroom observations, I have often marveled at how calm and orderly the class rooms are and how engaged the children all seem to be. But the main thing my husband and I love about Caedmon is the sense of community there-- it was this that initially drew us in and still what we love most. I grew up in a small town where everyone knew everyone, and I was beginning to feel a bit of the Big City Blues living in NYC until I found Caedmon. The parents, teachers, and administrators are all just so friendly and welcoming, and--most importantly-- the kids just seem extraordinarily happy! As I always tell people when talking about our decision to send our daughter to Caedmon, a sensitive kid needs a sensitive school, and Caedmon is that school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2014

My children have both attended Caedmon's beginner's program (younger 3's) and we have been very happy with their progress. The teachers are warm and caring. The classroom is clean and well-organized. Discipline is maintained gently with positive encouragement and "break time" for children who need a moment alone to settle down. I observed the class on many occassions and was amazed at how quiet and focused 15 3-year olds can be with the right guidance. The school day starts with "circle time", discussing the calendar, the seasons, weather and sometimes have show-and-tell. The main part of the Montessori day is "work", focused on small projects with art, language, math, problem solving/logic or other themes. There are "practical life" works teaching skills like buttoning, pouring, using tongs, etc. developing fine motor skills that help with writing. Children sometimes work in small groups where they practice cooperation and compromise. There is a daily recess in the courtyard and weekly art, music and movement classes. Overall we've been very pleased with Caedmon and are excited about our kids starting in the Early Program (older 3's and 4/5 year olds).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2014

Caedmon is wanting to be a top tier Private School and so they have matched there prices accordingly, however, they are missing the other part.The education and development part.The teachers are very distant, never make eye contact with you and will not update you on anything.There is bullying and it's not addressed, no preparation for reading and writing whatsoever.It took me 2 years to "power wash" Caedmon Education off my child and I am happy to report he is now at grade level and reading and writing correctly.This would never have happened had he stayed in that school.The Finance office , however will find you and the PA will hunt you down if they feel you are not contributing enough.For every 1 update you get on how your child is doing academically , you will get 80 reminders to "donate".The donations are squandered on nonsense witch makes the school the best reason for sending your kid to Public School.Sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

Cons: staff is ignorant to bulling; overcrowded classes (nearly 30 kids in one class); not so nutritious food for preschoolers (despite advertising all their salad bars!); wrong place for active kids (no phisical activities). Most pre-k students do not stay there for K. Small space and filthy bathrooms. Afterschool program is weak compare to nearby activities offered by Y, various music schools and etc. Their discovery camp has no activities outside of one small room. It's more of a babysitting service (worst camp in the area). Staff is distant from parents, never updates on how kids are doing. With all the above, totally overpriced. Pros: none
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2014

Not sure how other 3s programs are but right now i feel like my son has learned close to if not nothing this year. He has matured but I believe he matured because he is getting older and more mature not so much due to the school. He has come home with 1 yes 1 art project all year and I believe the teacher made it (way to detailed and perfect for a 3 year old). I think the 4's and 5's are getting most of the attention and effort in the class. Im not sure what to expect going forward based on what i saw this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2009

My daughter is enrolled in the beginners class (2.9). The two teachers in her class of 13 students are gentle and patient. They have a calming way about them that gets the children listening and learning. My daughter only recently became toilet trained and the teachers were helpful and supportive through the whole experience. My daughter has changed from a very naughty, unruly, ill-mannered neanderthal baby into a lovely little lady in just five months! I was very worried because she had a tendency to push and pinch other children when she started and I was afraid she might be kicked out!! But somehow, without punishment or scolding the teachers were able to gently train that behaviour out of her. She has learned who Barack Obama is, recently celebrated the Chinese New Year, and at xmas wanted a minora! A very nurturing environment - two thumbs up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2008

We have been floored by the incredible, supportive environment at Caedmon. Teachers and administrators are very responsive to student's needs. Academically rigorous and stimulating, the school ensures kids have a wide variety of exposure to varying subject matter for pre-school and elementary school. The updated Montessori program is the best we've seen in NYC. Plus, our kids love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2007

As former Caedmon parents, it was a bad mistake to leave our child in the school after first grade. The academics consisted of a great deal of busy work, and report cards were unnecessarily harsh and critical. Most serious, however, was a bullying problem that the teachers and administration seemed unable or unwilling to correct. We really cannot recommend this school past the early years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2007

This is my son's second year in the pre-school program and we love it! He is very happy and it was by far our first choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2004

Caedmon is a magical place. It is a nurturing and academically stimulating environment. This will be my son's 3rd year there and he absolutely loves going to school. To sum up what Caedmon is about is to say that it gets children to learn and to love to learn, while encouraging and developing each child's individuality. So, when they leave Caedmon they are well-prepared to succeed wherever they choose to go after 5th grade, and they do so with confidence. For New York City, it is a low-key school with a diverse population of families and staff. We drive up everyday from 16th Street all the way to 80th Street to bring our son to a school that we think is just the best. One more thing, Caedmon develops creativity through a fantastic art program. My 5-year old can actually tell the difference between a VanGogh and a Monet!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 52%
Hispanic 10% 21%
Asian 9% N/A
Black 8% 21%
Two or more races 3% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% N/A
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Reading specialist(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Music teacher(s)
Math specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School psychologist
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Japanese
German
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Poetry

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:30 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Matthew Stuart
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (212) 879-0627

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Security personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

November 30, 2014

 
36
days left!
 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$20000 - $35000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Horace Mann School
Spence School
Trevor Day School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

416 East 80th Street
New York, NY 10075
Website: Click here
Phone: (212) 879-2296

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Brearley School
New York, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT