Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Rodeph Sholom School

Private | PK-8 | 607 students

RSS is best known for its academic excellence and close-knit community.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in New York

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $1,035,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,110.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 25, 2013

Rodeph Sholom School is a wonderful school, both academically and community wise. Not only is there an intelectual academic program, but the nurturing and experiential environment has allowed me to succeed in all 12 years I have been here.


Posted November 3, 2009

Rodeph Sholom School is a truly special place. I was a parent at the school for 12 years until my last child graduated. It was an incredible experience, and my children will always be Rodeph Sholom students at heart. It's way more than a school, it's a home and a community that you can always run to. The teachers teach not only academics like at other schools, but life lessons, and how to be a good human being. I'm sad to say my children are disappointed with their new schools in comparison to Rodeph Sholom because of how amazing it was. I recommend it to any parent looking for a truly fantastic school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2007

rss is the best place ever!!!!! i have been going here for 10 yrs and i dont want to leave!! it is my second home...
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 25, 2006

My child started Kindergarten at Rodeph Sholom about seven weeks ago. I was very skeptical about sending him to a private religion-affiliated school beforehand, but we are impressed and delighted. The teachers are smart, dynamic, engaged and thoughtful. The facilities are clean, bright and new. So far, so good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2006

This is an exceptional, unique reform jewish day school, delivering a top quality education in both academic and religious subjects. The children are actively engaged in learning, and involved in religious studies, at very high levels. The school is part of a warm religious community but the focus is on a balanced spiritual and educational life. Teaching is affirmative and supportive, and individual strengths and weaknesses are encouraged and addressed respectively. The administrative and teaching staff go out of their way to ensure a safe and secure educational environment. For parents looking for a sound academic base plus religious school, this is a wonderful and unique option.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2005

I was extremly dissapointed with the Rodeph Sholom School. My children often told me that the school was dirty, the teachers were mean/unhelpful and the school didn't seem to care. I can't believe i paid over 20,000 dollars a year for this! Parents: Do not send your kids to this school! Try somewhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2005

I went to this school for over 10 years. Everything was fine until the school decided to create a Middle School. The elementary school was great, the middle school was not. The middle school teachers were not helpful, mean, and simply not friendly. When high school applications came, the school didn't do much to help kids get into the school they wanted. Many of my classmates (including me) were dissapointed. Overall i would not reccommend this school, try somewhere else.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 25, 2005

My experience at RSS has been wonderful. My 4 year old went through the Mommy & Me, 2s and 3s program. In all three years she has had caring, nuturing and thought provoking teachers. The PTA is very strong and supportive. All the families that I have gotten to know have a high standard for their children's education and place morals and values as a top priority. This is the perfect place for the family who wants a great overall education with a focus in Jewish studies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2005

Both my childrenn go to RS, and they love it. the facilities are new and well maintained. The teacher/student ratio is very good, and the attention each child receives is excellent. I am always aware of what's going on with my children, and the staff is very receptive to any comments or questions.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 52%
Hispanic 3% 21%
Asian 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Black 0% 21%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
Security personnel
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Hebrew
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Paul Druzinsky
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Jewish (Reform)

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • independent school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Hebrew
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Security personnel
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Bus is via private company
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Cross country
  • Ice hockey
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Ultimate Frisbee
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Ultimate Frisbee
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10 West 84th Street
New York, NY 10024
Phone: (646) 438-8500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ps 9 Sarah Anderson
New York, NY



Trevor Day School
New York, NY


Dwight School
New York, NY



Smith School (The)
New York, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT