Advertisement
Advertisement

The Dalton School

Private | K-12 | 1311 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in New York

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $915,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,110.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 25, 2012

I was accepted into the Dalton School, and am starting my Dalton education this September. But, once I entered that school to think bout applying, I knew this school was just right for me. Their academics seem to be rigorous, and I feel that there is a big sense of community, much like there was at the program through which I am entering Dalton, Prep For Prep. After getting accepted into Dalton, I spent a day there, and the students are really curious, and they were really friendly and kind to me. I was surprised because this had not happened during my 1st day at the public school I attended. The teachers were amazing, and they were very willing and happy to answer a question a student had. Everyone is extremely nice. I am really looking forward to attending Dalton in the fall!!! -Marco Paz-Solano


Posted December 17, 2011

I graduated from this school and I loved it. I am very smart.The teachers are awesome.I would recomend this school to everyone in New York.


Posted June 25, 2010

I started at Dalton in kindergarten and just graduated a few weeks ago, and I can honestly say that it was an amazing experience. The faculty (well, most of them) are brilliant, engaging, and insightful, and are always willing to help you or challgenge you when you need it. The school is undoubtedly slanted toward the humanities (History and English are definitely the best departments in the high school), but no matter what your interests and abilities are, if you pick the right classes you will be challenged and you will learn A LOT. In high school you can make your schedule as heavy or as light as you want (within certain boundaries, of course), depending on how many extracurriculars you do and how much down time you want, and in this respect Dalton is great at letting each student direct the course of his/her education.


Posted December 24, 2009

I go to dalton and i couldn't be happier. It is balanced so well!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 7, 2009

The Dalton School is wonderful because it teaches you alot, and the work is not too hard. Ruth Simon


Posted July 13, 2009

Excellent school due to the amazing faculty, who are always more than ready to help. If you want to do something, you can get it done here. If a student wants to do nothing... well, he/she can do that too.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 9, 2009

Dalton is amazing! I've been attending this school since kindergarten, and leaving has never crossed my mind. Every type of student is accepted here, from the Model UN boy, to the actress, to the computer science lover. I've never felt uncomfortable around my teachers or the administration, and both are always extremely friendly and great! besides all this, the academics are superb. Though at times the work load can become stressful, your teachers are always there to support you. There is no better learning atmosphere or school in the world.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 5, 2008

Not only does Dalton offer the best educational program, but I personally know kids in almost all of the other competing private schools, and Dalton students are just blatantly the nicest, most supportive, and most appreciative for what school they are able to attend. I cannot even imagine attending any other school; I would be a completely different person, for the worse, of course.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 23, 2008

I love my school but I do think the work there can get pretty difficult
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 10, 2008

Dalton is the most amazing school in the world. I wouldn't want to go anywhere else. The teachers are amazing and always accessible, the library is a great place to work and has a pretty good selection of books and materials and the arts and athletics are great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 3, 2008

I had a son who went here for 3 years in high school and hated it. He felt unprepared for college, and wished that he had gone to a different school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2008

Dalton is different from any other school. It has many different after school programs and their sports program is great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2007

This is by far the best school in the city, I talk with kids in all of the other schools and none seem to be even close to comparing with Dalton. The teachers are amazing and they are always there to help. Going to Dalton has been the best decision I have ever made.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 2, 2007

Dalton school is quite good. Very very good at natural subjects. Exellent in art and sports. It is considered to be the best in the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2006

The school is very spaceous and nice. Good academics. Needs a better quality of life for minority students.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 5, 2005

The Dalton School is a very wonderful school. My daughter has been going there for 8 years so far and she loves it. The environment is extremely pleasant and enjoyable. The teachers do really fun stuff with the children and they do a lot of hands on things. They are just the right amount of fun because they also know how and when to be strict.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 52%
Black 11% 21%
Two or more races 10% N/A
Asian 8% N/A
Hispanic 3% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Ellen Stein
Gender
  • Coed
Associations
  • NAIS

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Lacrosse
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Squash
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Lacrosse
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Squash
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

108 E 89th St
New York, NY 10128
Website: Click here
Phone: (212) 423-5200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Davids School
New York, NY


Spence School
New York, NY


Ramaz Lower School
New York, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT