Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Northeastern Academy

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in New York

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $299,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,200.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 14, 2010

this school is great! It makes every student feel welcomed and is a very good environment.


Posted March 18, 2010

An excellent small school environment for my child. In additon to academic content, it also provides opportunities for language immersion in several countries, exposes children to international careers, provides individual and group support for students and allows students to accelerate on an individual basis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2009

This school is great. Although it had an issue a few years ago, it is getting better. Especially with the improved music and academics. I'll miss it when I graduate.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 17, 2008

As an alumni I can attest that Northeastern Academy seeks excellence and achieves it. Through its programs and studies, it assists students in reaching their goals in life and a little extra. The staff is wonderful and students can learn from them as people and teachers.


Posted March 11, 2008

This school is bad they are alot of gang fights and fights in general.Students always talk during class making it hard for others to learn.There are no extracurricular besides basketball which is not even handle right.The teachers cannot control the classes and are not very good teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 20, 2007

I had a great time at this school. I learned alot by being taught by the teachers there. If you looking for a good school that is focused on seventh day adventist religion this is the school for you, but I must say that the extracurricular activities was lacking when I went as well but there was other things to do.


Posted October 27, 2007

I am a former student of this school and know it to be an institution of higher learning that is rooted and grounded in christ. While the extraciricullar activities did have rrom for improvement, I feel that this is an overall need of our denomination considering the observance of the sabbath on days that traditionally are used by other teams for competiton.


Posted June 9, 2007

I do not like this High School. It requires more safety and a more sophisticated and austere discipline code. Most students are not focused on their education and are more focused on basketball and Myspace. The school needs more staff members as well as supervision to watch the students and ensure optimum safety. There should be more empasis on education and on physical recess activities and a bit less of spiritual emphasis. Students occasionally talk during class periods making it unfair to those who wish to learn and make abundant achievements in their life. This school, as you can evaluate from my description, is unsatisfactory and I wish this school would improve for the future students and teachers who attend and are associated with the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 6, 2007

The school has a great academic program and helps prepare the students for college and their careers
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 87% 21%
Hispanic 13% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% N/A
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
White 0% 52%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • James Bennett
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Seventh-day adventist
Associations
  • GCSDAC

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

532 West 215th Street
New York, NY 10034
Phone: (212) 569-4800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT