Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Ignatius Loyola School

Private | K-8 | 537 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in New York

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $999,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,110.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 11, 2014

Strength: Religion. The other three Rs are hit or miss, with the misses too frequent. The principal has zero leadership skill; no public speaking capacity; and a default answer of "no" to good ideas. Good teachers tend to leave; those going through the motions tend to stay. The principal is the problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2013

LICE! MS LARKIN refuses to screen the elementary school children every year, so parents have to pay ($600) every year to take car of the problem. Its horrible to have to do this year after year when i simple screening would stop the spread of lice.. 2nd, 4th and 5th grades Sept 2013 all have LICE ...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2012

I love Saint Ignatius Loyola School. When I step into that door, I see a great, heart warming community. The academics are amazing, and the teachers embrace you and love it when you try your hardest. I have many friends in that school, and the principle is full of love and good spirits. It is a place that is like my second home.


Posted November 18, 2010

Although my sons are now adults, I look back at the education they received at SIL very fondly. They received a stellar education in the basics of Language Arts and the basic foundation of Math skills. This is going back quite far in the days of Sr. Audrey as principal and Mrs. Wescott as the wonderful and nurturing Kindergarten teacher. Sr. Genevieve, Sr. Francis...all just wonderful educators. I can only hope that when my sons have children of their own, they remember the wonderful values, community and education they received at this school. In addition, I've yet to meet a finer group of parents associated with any other school than SIL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2010

I am a recent alumni and I hve nothing to say but that it was the best school experience I've had in my life, though I may be biased after having gone to school there since kindergarten. Saint Ignatius has prepared me extremely well for high school at Marymount, which in itself, is very difficult to get into. The teachers push the students to strive to the best of their abilities and I just have to say thank you to them for helping me. They are also very understanding and offer help to the student when needed. The school has also been renovated, so the whole building has air conditioning, and each classroom has a smartboard which makes learning in the classrooms much easier.


Posted March 4, 2010

I am an alumni. Excellent school, loved the memories, teachers were amazing, high school is easy because of Saint Ignatius. The only prob was their rules were funny. They would get upset about the weirdest things. Sometimes we would have fun and play with each other and mess around with each other, we would be kids, friends, but they would get all uptight about it and say you can't do that or why are you doing that??? It made no sense but otherwise it was a great school with great academics, and great opportunities.


Posted June 16, 2009

Top notch school in every respect. Very strong academically, great teachers and leadership, strong family values. My children love the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2009

Fabulous school, because of affiliations, a little less expensive than other private schools in this neighborhood but better academics so great value too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2008

Not sure about the prior comment about some parents coming with a 'package'. One of our favorite things about the school is the parent community. We have made many friends and in general find the parent body to be warm, down to earth and invovled in their kids' lives. There are obviously always exceptions. Most parents choose this school for a reason - the philosphy involves creating independant, responsible and ethical children. There may be other things to criticize, but the parent body would not be the thing I would choose. On the whole, in New York City, I believe St. Ignatius provides more bang for your buck than any other private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2008

Saint Ignatius Loyola is an excellent school. This school educates the whole person, mind, character and spirit. It is very strong academically and the teachers are fantastic. If you want your child to succeed in life, send him/her to Saint Ignatius Loyola.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2008

St. Ignatius Loyola was the only school we applied for our daughter two years ago. She has had a wonderful time there with a caring environment and excellent academics. Save for the limited after-school programs St. Ignatius is as good if not better than many of the 'gifted and talented schools' in New York. Not that extra-curricular activities are non-existent at the school. There are activities such as brownies and cub scouts, arts, gym, etc. available after school. Under the watchful eye of the Principal, Mrs. Cavallo the intermittant renovations to the building includes renovated classrooms, a new computer room, new library and a new science lab all done on time and within budget.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2008

Great academics for kids. The school has their priorities straight. Too bad many of the parents come with package.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2008

SIL is a great school not only academically but spiritually and socially. Students are disciplined and they develop strong, mature individuals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2007

St. Ignatius is a fantastic school for a very reasonable price considering the alternatives. The whole environment is structured to provide students with academic skills, integrity, honesty, courtesy, social skills, diversity and a wide variety of extracurricular activities. The principal Grace Cavallo is extroardinary and imbues the whole institution with warmth, kindness, strong values and high standards. The parent community is very involved, welcoming, and fun. The other kids are smart, funny and multi-cultural. I could go on and on but suffice it to say that since my son entered 3rd grade here, we have counted our blessings on a daily basis. He is entering 6th grade and is so enthused about school, jazz band, art class, and basketball. The individual attention and advocacy of all his teachers has made a huge difference in his life and ours as parents. Thank you St. Ignatius!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2007

Fantastic for children and parents! We are grateful everyday that we chose this school for our child. It is hard to know where to begin. The teachers, the principal, the staff, the students, the parents, the curriculum, the extra-curriculum, all are contributing to make this school stand apart. This is a school with an amazing environment of people who care. We went through the independent school process. And our child was accepted at a top school (first choice). We opted for St. Ignatius and have never stopped smiling. (Did I mention that the tuition is about 1/5 of the private schools!) The bonus is that the school has a strong religious character that pervades everything. It makes raising a child in New York so much simpler. All the values and grounding that you somehow hope and expect your child will internalize are taught and modeled everyday. I strongly recommend that you take a look.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2006

Wonderful school with strong academics, great music program and very strong parental involvement. Close-knit community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2006

High quality education, great teachers and warm atmosphere. It is a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2006

Very disciplined. It did not work for my daughter. She was not happy. I guess the enviromnent was too stiff...Let kids be kids and let them learn at their own pace is my opinion. This is not the case here..Children are pressured like they expect them to read by kindergarten..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2005

Great! Academically and developing childs talents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2005

Great pgogram based on a solid foundation. Especially in the K to 3.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 52%
Hispanic 12% 21%
Asian 9% N/A
Black 4% 21%
Two or more races 4% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian N/A 6%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mary E. Larkin
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New York
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

48 E 84th St
New York, NY 10028
Phone: (212) 861-3820

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Ramaz Lower School
New York, NY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT