Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Manhattan Christian Academy

Private | PK-8 | 400 students

MCA is best known for quality Christian education and our devoted staff.
 
 

 
 

Living in New York

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $299,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,200.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 6, 2014

Sadly, I am very disappointed with manhattan Christian academy. Their elementary school program (grades pre-k thru 4) is quite good. However their middle school has much to be desired. They do not know how to address pre-teen and teen socialization and issues. Their idea of problem solving from bullying to cutting is to pray it away. If that doesn't "heal" the offending party, then kicking the child out is their answer. If you are not a full tuition paying parent, or do not attend their church, you are made to feel less than adequate, both student and parents. The teachers are over worked and under paid and when you need to ask a question or need information about your child, they are difficult to get a hold of, or when they do, they give you vague responses. My recommendation to MCA would be to hire a well trained professional in social work to help students and families alike with resources, counseling and information, instead of pushing the child and family aside and making them feel like failures and sinners.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2013

MCA is an amazing school. I am a pre-school parent and absolutely love all that MCA is doing for my son. MCA is definitely doing an amazing job in raising up intelligent Godly men and women who will be change agents in this world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2013

I am an alumni of this school. I love this school. The teachers and staff are very kind. You feel very welcomed. Everyone knows your name. They offer after school tutoring, if you don't understand something, they will help you until you get it. They also have extra curriculum which is really fun. The spiritual aspect is the best. Every morning we get together as a school and have a time of worship and devotion. I still go back and visit.


Posted October 11, 2013

MCA is an oasis in the middle of chaos. I am so thankful for answered prayer and am glad that there is still such a school that offers Christ Centered Education without compromising academic excellence. The children excel spiritually, academically and socially in a short period of time due to the teachers and faculty ministering God's word through being examples of Christ's love. If you are looking for a school that develops the whole child, then look no further, you've found it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

MCA is AN EXCEPTIONAL EDUCATIONAL EXPERIENCE: If your desire and goal as parents is for your child to be spiritually centered, highly challenged academically, and well-rounded, then Manhattan Christian Academy is the place for you (and your child). It is a hidden jewel in upper Manhattan, but a shining light and hub of spiritual grace, academic genius, and creativity for all involved. The children are mature, focused, and supportive of one another, and the faculty, staff, and teachers, are dedicated to ensuring that each child realizes and reaches his/her fullest potential - spiritually, academically, socially, and emotionally. The school's extracurricular activities - robust and plentiful - only serve to enhance each student's daily learning experience. We could not be happier as parents of a MCA third grader. The spiritual and educational standards that we have set for our son are very high and are being met each and every day at Manhattan Christian Academy. In short, while the road to long-term success in life begins in the home, it continues and is reinforced each day at MCA. - Very Proud MCA Parents
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2013

MCA has wonderfully committed staff, who care greatly about the children. So blessed to be a part of this community.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 1, 2013

This school is amazing!!! So grateful to God for leading me here. My children love this school and I couldn't imagine them in any other place! My children are thriving in the hands of such loving, caring and devoted teachers and staff. Academically my children are being prepared and challenge beyond my expectations... And knowing that's is being done in a environment that daily points them to Jesus truly delights my soul! Thank you Manhattan Christian Academy for being a safe haven of Gods love for my children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2013

Be aware! New school year, new faces, and a new way of conducting school business. That's right, if you're willing to give your parental rights over to the administrator and his staff, then this is the school you're looking for. Yes, you'll have very little to say in reference to your child's well being while at school. But on the other hand, if you feel you know what's best for your child's personal needs, simply because you are the parent, then this is definitely not the school to enroll your child in. It grieves me to see a good school turn in this direction. Oh, and don't let the word Christian in their name fool you, there's very little, if any humble Love for others coming from the top at this point, especially when you're in disagreement over the concerns of your child's needs, and more importantly his/her safety. I pray the ones in charge of this school would read this review and withdraw from the errors of their ways. I pray that in sincere Christian love, they would humble themselves, and respect the concerns expressed by parents and teachers in considering what's best for the children. May God bless all the children and teachers at MCA, Amen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2012

My son has been in this school since he was one month short of 3 yrs old. I was searching for a school with a wonderful nurturing environment and I found it in MCA. Everyone from school administrative staff, to the teachers of lower and higher grades will know your child's name. This school places a strong emphasis on family orientation, etiquette, and disciplining. My son loved all his teachers and their assistants very much. Unlike public schools, private schools have a cut off date of Sept 1st to be 5 yrs old and enter kindergarten, this policy has forced me to remove my son from the school, I did not want him to repeat another year of pre-k.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2011

This school offers a great educational opportunity to the public schools and charter schools in the area. They primarily serve neighborhood families and work hard to help a majority of the families with significant tuition assistance. They have achieved much higher high school graduation rates of students that have attended MCA vs the NYC Public Schools, at a much lower cost per pupil. The teachers and faculty really care about the students and work hard to provide an oasis of learning in what can sometimes be tumultuous home lives.


Posted May 18, 2011

I have a child that is an MCA alumni and one child that is currently in the school. A godly staff, an awesome curriculum, loving faculty.... Wow! a true gem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2011

My children attended MCA and public school. I never regretted sending them to MCA . I had godly teachers encouraging them when they did wrong and taught them how to live a godly life. I'm sorry for those who didn't have a good experience! If you've found the perfect school please post it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2011

All schools have problems. The best thing at MCA is, when they catch a student doing wrong, or encounter a dangerous student situation, MCA doesn't sweep it under the rug. MCA deals with problems right away and notify the parents, and the authorities when necessary. There goal is the protection of their students in all cases.


Posted September 9, 2009

I love the school the staff and the teacher are very nice and if you have any question they are always willing to answer it. My son really enjoy and love the school and he learn so much that i was surprise. the curriculum that they provide to the sudent is excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2009

Wasted my money. Had a horrific experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2009

I LOVE this school! Everyone is super nice. They help you academically until you really understand it. I am a straight-A student thanks to the excellent curriculum. I am in the 6th grade and I love everything about the teachers, faculty, and staff. I have been there for 8 years and counting.MCA is really a true blessing! From the age of 3 to know, I can't get enough of MCA.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 5, 2009

This school has been a tremendous blessing for my family. I have children in the elementary school and am confident that they are receiving a stellar education. The curriculum is impressive and the teachers are great. I thank God for giving us the opportunity to send our children to such a Christ centered school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2008

Both of my children graduated from this school. I am a proud parent of this schoo.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2008

2007-08 was the first Pre K year for my daughter Dejoy! Is has been amazing to see her growth. I thank God for allowing my daughter to be part of this school and thank every teacher for making a diference in their life by teaching not only the ABC's but also God love!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2007

I currently have 2 children at this school my daughter has been here since 2nd grade and has done extremely well she will graduate this year with honors Im very pleased with the schools
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 79% 21%
Black 18% 21%
Asian 2% N/A
White 1% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Mime club

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Cooking club
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Richard Bonifas
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (212) 567-2815

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foundations and Frameworks
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
  • Service learning
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Cooking club
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Math club
  • Media
  • Mime club
  • Prayer
  • Scrabble
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Manhattan Christian Academy serves children in Preschool through grade 8. The school is committed to providing the Washington Heights/Inwood and Fordham sections of Manhattan and the Bronx with quality Christian education in a safe and character-building environment. MCA is a nondenominational school founded in 1976. MCA is accredited by the Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools, the Association of Christian Schools International, and recognized by the NY State Board of Education.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

401 W 205th St
New York, NY 10034
Website: Click here
Phone: (212) 567-5521

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Jude School
New York, NY



Ps 5 Ellen Lurie
New York, NY




Muscota
New York, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT