Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

De la Salle Academy

Private | 6-8 | 145 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in New York

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $799,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,580.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 5, 2013

De La Salle Academy is not just a school, it's a community, a family, a home. I am a current 8th grader here at DLSA and I couldn't have made a better choice than coming into this school. Not only are the students friendly and supportive, but the faculty is equally as helpful. DLSA is a place where you can be yourself, you will not be judged. Keeping in mind that this is my last year here at DLSA, I'm not worrying about missing my friends. The friends I have now are lifelong friends. Additionally, considering that the school is so small, the teachers really get a good sense of who you are, whether it's about academics or not! In a class, you can get good attention from every teacher individually even. DLSA is all about community and belonging. For me, personally, I have two families. One, my ACTUAL family and two, my DLSA family. DLS is really like a family. I mean, if you have a brother or sister at home, you may have your ups and downs, but in the end, WE ARE FAMILY :) and I love every single one of my brothers and sisters (and moms and dads...)


Posted June 25, 2013

I am please to be able to give some insight on De La Salle Academy. DLSA is my alma mater; I graduated from this school in 1990 - it seems like a life time ago. De La Salle provides gifted children from low income families the opportunity at a high quality education that may otherwise not have been attainable. Through the help of sponsors and donations, the school makes up the difference that the parents of these talented kids could not afford. I was fortunate that the school board believed in me and accepted me among thousands to attend. I firmly believe that De La Salle and the education and life lessons I learned there provided the foundation for who and what I've become today. I feel blessed to have been part of the DLSA family and am happy that many more generations of gifted city kids will have the same opportunities I was given.


Posted May 28, 2013

I am a student currently in 8th grade and I entered in 6th grade. This school, not exaggerating one bit, changed my life. Academically it pushed me to do my best and to work hard for the grades that I earned. There is also a strong community where everyone is there for you. The small-ness of it also adds onto the community because everyone gets to know each other well. I know this all sounds idealistic but it's true, this is a bubble from the real world but this place, this bubble also allowed me the extra time to find who I truly was and to learn about myself and my boundaries in life. It prepared me for the real world and it also brought me to have friends that are supportive and won't bring me down but actually push me up to do better and to achieve my goals. My friends are friends that I believe I will keep past high school and college, these are my life buddies. When I first came here, I thought that these people were crazy hugging me and actually being happy and so bright at school. Usually at public school you don't see those expressions, but at De La Salle those are common expressions. Happiness to be at school with supportive teachers and friends surrounding you.


Posted February 12, 2013

I know that my child (who is in the 8th grade now) really loves this school. Personally, I do not think she could have gone to a better middle school. Every teacher in DLS is not only very good at teaching, they are very supportive and encouraging. The principal is always around mingling with students around the school. Every subject in DLS is challenging, and one has to really learn to manage their time in order to get a great report card. DLS really puts a lot of emphasis on being a community member, being a leader, being the best student that YOU can be, and just taking all the opportunities that come your way. DLS not only helps you get to the best high schools in the country, the principal also keeps in contact with you throughout your education career and beyond. All in all, I believe that this is a really great school and a really great opportunity. They have their own website, so apply! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2011

While there is a learning curve - more in terms of learning time management and scheduling, rather than academically, we are so happy our son is in this school. He is struggling to keep on top of his homework right now, but he will get there. Nevertheless, he feels he made the right choice in moving to this school, is happy and has many friends among classmates. It certainly seems as nurturing and supportive of academically inclined children as we initially thought. It was worth the work to enable him to be accepted. He was so thrilled to get that letter. The principal and his staff all seemed totally committed to empowering the children to reach their potential and go on to great schools. We look forward to seeing our son flourish here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2010

All schools should be modeled after DLSA. I have a child in 7th grade and this school is just beyond awesome. Subjects are wonderful and taught very well. The Principal is accessible and treats you with respect and dignity. Everyone from the teachers to staff and students treat you like a person and everyone is just wonderful and caring. The best choice we ever made was to have our child go to DLSA. You won't regret it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

De La Salle is a great place. No, even better. Here at DLSA, the teachers are smart and they care for the children, and they actually want them to succeed. They are also nice to the parents. Here, they don't only teach about how to be smart,but they also give you love, and moral teachings. It makes you feel like a real family. The principle is the best. He REALLY cares about the children, and they all look up to him. He is a perfect example, and a great man.


Posted February 14, 2010

De la salle acaademy is a place not only where you can excel academically but excel socially and to widen the range of thought. It is a place not only where you can strive for sucsess but a place where you feel loved and cared for. I am currently a student at de la salle academy and i feel all these things and so do many of my other community members . Its such a wonderful atmoshpere adb any child is lucky to be there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2010

Wow. The people are great. The teachers are great. The opportunities for success are so close. A truly remarkable place that has changed my life. I have great friends, a great education, and great morals. Thank you DLSA. The principal is great too. He talks to every student and knows each and every student very well. He is funny and a great leader. Perfect for running a school for academically gifted children. Thank you Brother Brian. The teachers are amazing. They make you laugh yet intimidate you enough into learning respect. They are brilliant and highly qualified for teaching. I never thought I'd be friends with my teachers. Thank you my wonderful teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 24, 2009

I love De La Salle academy. Not only is it academically challenging, you'll be in a safe environment and be taught to make a difference in this world. I am a student in my last year and I must say that you will always have to go through the various hardships in middle school, but you'll come out of De La Salle a much stronger individual than when you started your De La Salle experience. I recommend De La Salle Academy 100% -Z.Y
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 6, 2009

i am actually a student at de la salle academy and i personally have to say that it is a wonderful school.I know that when when i leave de la salle academy i will leave with great memories
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2009

Greatest school, and atmosphere I have ever been in. I grew morally and academically wise, it was phenominal as well. It's a challenge, definitely, but it was definitely worth while, and it's just so inexplicable the feeling and mindset change you go through from the time you enter to even after you graduate. I cannot thank De La Salle enough, especially all of the faculty members, for how much they impacted and improved my life. Great school, wouldn't think about it twice!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 29, 2009

De La Salle Academy is a wonderful school. It helped me find who I was and it gave me a challenge. Everyone knew who you were my the first couple of months of school. The students are friendly and the teachers are helpful and insightful (not always so uptight either.) I enjoyed my time there, but I will hold my experiences at the new middle school. Thank you De La Salle. - N.C.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 10, 2009

Great school, but it needs serious renovation. Everything looks so old and dirty. I don't want kids to get sick. Also, they need to make the library and computer rooms bigger.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2008

I am a former student from De La Salle Academy. I attended De La Salle for seventh grade, but unfortunately I moved during the summer before the eigth grade. Saying that De La Salle is a good school is an understatement. It was the first school that actually challenged me. It's like everyone is your friend there. Everyone wants to help you. De La Salle taught me to never limit my possibilities and I admire them for that. Thank You De La Salle Academy. - Dora
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 10, 2008

when I first came to the school, I hated it because I am not the kind of person to be so happy like the other kids. As I started school, i met some extrodinary people. This school is the best school that you can send your child to. The enviorment is so peaceful. I could dress up in a monkey suit and no one would laugh at me. I feel very comptable and safe in this enviorment. The students are willing to help you in need and you get ' adopted' by the older kids. They help you when your in need. The teachers stay after school everyday to help you with your homework. I really recommend this school. This school helps you find who you really are and exposes you to the real world.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 8, 2008

I came to this school in the the seventh grade as a smart kid, but I was always afraid to let it show. I never trusted anyone, I guess it is safe to say, I hated the world. By the time I graduated, I was a Public speaker, who could stand up for himself, I became unafraid to show the world who I am and what i could accomplish. This is more than a school, it is a community of people who want to make their mark on the world.


Posted May 25, 2008

De La Salle is home away from home for alot of the students at DLS, including my daughter. Prior to my daughhter's enrollment to DLS I was concerned about her social and emotional needs to a new new school. It was a smooth transition for her. It is such a warm and accepting environment for students. Brother Brian and the staff are genuinely concerned about each individual, it's reaaly heart warming for parents and students alike. I am so grateful that she's in a school that supports her emotionally and academically. TY DLS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2008

My daughter now 19 also attended De La Salle, and has gone on to do well even now that she is in college(Clark Atlanta University). I'm seriously considering my now 10 year old son going there as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2008

De La Salle is by far the best school i have ever been to. You learn more than just academics there, you learn to be a better person and build you own set of moral values
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 39% 21%
Asian 22% N/A
Black 21% 21%
White 10% 52%
Two or more races 8% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Brian Carty
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NAIS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Gym
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New York
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Gymnastics
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Organize cultural events
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

202 W 97th St
New York, NY 10025
Phone: (212) 316-5840

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The Studio School
New York, NY






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT