Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Highway Christian Academy

Private | PK-7

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in New York

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $505,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,270.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 28, 2012

I was told by a few people that this was the school to go to for academics. I do not see that I had my child there and I found so much wrong. The television is always on, the teacher has her own personal television she is watching, there is no cafeteria, no library, not much of anything. The staff is clueless,rude and soooo unprofessional. The homework is not checked. I can go on and on. I believe maybe at one time they could have been a good school, but I do not see them as a good school for my child. Did I mention they are greedy for money but where does the money go because its not invested in the children. They have nothing for them. Research a little more you can find a better school. I give this school no ratings(the one star was an accident) and all the ratings are saying the same things then there must be some truth to it not just one parents opinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2012

My son attended Highway for the past year and while I think the teachers give the students a decent foundation; the administration is HORRENDOUS. They lack professionalism as well as common sense. When I went to interview, the woman conducting was eating McDonalds and talking with a full mouth. Her office reeked of onions and she had the worst attitude. For the amount of money they collect between tuition, book fees , and trips as well as candy sales you would think they would brighten up the place or add some extracurricular activities. My other issue was several times when I went to visit the children were left unattended and in chaos. By the way, what's with the sleeping "security" guard?? I use that term loosely.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2012

My son attends HCA now. He has been there for 2 years. He has learned a lot but it now time for him to move on. A good soild foundation; academically they are good but the Administration Staff is horrible. Attitudes all the time; and they do not know how to speak to you. When I came in to register my son; I was in the office and one of the staff members had the radio blasting WLIB 1190 gospel radio station. She had to repeat her question to me a few times before she could hear me. No professionalism at all.... Who is the principal? I have never met him or seen him before...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2009

Academics in this school depends on the teacher your child will have. There are some teacher's that's very good and they children adore them. Other teacher's need to leave there personal life etc. out of the classrooms. To me, it feels like the teacher's walk on straws. Administration there is a toss up. They are not very professional. She The classroom sizes are getting smaller and smaller. My child was blessed to have the best teacher's this school offered and she's very smart. I just wished that they could've challeged her more. I would have to agree with the other parents, if your looking for extracurricular activities, you're looking in the wrong place. You will not find it here!!!! I would also like to point out, the entrance door does not close all the way all of the time and I believe someone should be downstairs at all times.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2009

I attended Highway for many years. From PreK to Eighth grade. This is an excellent school for academics but seriously lacks extra curricular activties and i dont believe all of the teachers are certifies beinq that it is a family run adminitration. The administration needs a serious attitude adjustment also. I always wonderes where all of the money for tuition went to because there were not any type of activties, games, snacks, movies, There was nothinq. I learned alot in that school and i commend their academic ability because I came out a scholar, but I see this school closing soon because of dissatisfied parents and over priced tuition.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 1, 2008

Highway is a good school for academics. My daughter is doing good. They need more programs for the childern(computers, dance, arts). They need better security anybody can walk in the building. Also, there is no PTA and they charge for everything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2008

Highway is a great school for academics. My son who is 4 and in pre-K for 4 year olds, is already reading, writing his name and counting up to 100! I think the administration needs an overhaul, as it is a family-run administration. The tuition is very pricey compared to the benefits these children should be reaping: air conditioning, 21st Century technology (computers), better lighting and more extracurricular activities (how about music, art, dance?). I am looking to enroll my son to an environment that has all these things and more because he deserves it! Parents need to see what their tuition is getting them besides the academics, as the children's learning ability is a partnership with the faculty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2008

The academics are great but the staff needs a attitude adjustment. They are over priced and they should offer tutoring/resource during or after school. If they don't want to pay a tutor then they should try to get school interns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2007

Daycare is excellent! I have two children enrolled at Highway.( K2 and K3) The teachers show a great deal of love and patience with my children and are concerned about me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2007

i thik they are greedy for money and don't provide enough extracurricular activities even during the summer. where is the money going?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2007

My daughter is on Highway from 1 year and 6 month with pull ups to now she is on 3rd grade I'm so happy.the academy is very good my daughter learn a lot the teachers are so respectful the religion education is fantastic and the after school with different programs like,movies, karate,dance,basketball or computer is a great ideas.How about the summer camp my daughter go every year she love the trips zoo,apple picking,parks,rolled-blades,bowling I love Highway I recommends to the parents who looking for strong academic education
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2006

My child has been at the school since 3 yrs old. The school has improved, but they can use more improvement. Too many fund raisers and nothing to show for it! What are they doing with the money. You pay for everything at the school, so where is the money going?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2006

High Way is a great school as far as academics, but as far a activites they have NONE!. The younger children rarley do any art's an crafts or anything but run around the class room and watch T.V and the school does not provide enough toys or anything for the younger children to play with. I also think that the kids are watching way to much TV in the class room, and not doing enough activites. For all the money that we are paying for our children to attend this school they should have Air Condition and be able to provide MANY activites for the children. This is a Great school for learning but if you want your child to be involved in any kind of activites High Way is not the school for you...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2005

Expenive school. Want kids to write cursive at 3 years old.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2005

The academic program is excellent. The environment of the school condusive for children who are used to small settings.It is an extremely safe environment. However, the extracurricular activities are lacking. Parents are very involved with the school. Parents work with the teacher to help the child have a successful year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2005

Highway teaches the children academics very well and excellent religion classes but they need more activites for the kids such as art classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2005

Highway has great academics, but needs more sports,and other activities, for Highway not to have a gym is insane for the amount of the tuition that we parents have to pay. The tuition is as much as my rent. If they would lower the tuition I know many parents that would love to send their children there just for the academic program alone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2005

The academic programs are above that of public schools I feel that my daughter learned alot while attending pre k. The teachers are okay. The administration is lousy. The principal has a 'because I said so attitude' when ever you ask question on how the school is ran. There is alot sickness amongst the students, and because parents pay tuition they feel that they must send their child to school ill.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 78% 21%
Hispanic 12% 21%
Asian 8% N/A
Two or more races 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
White 0% 52%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Wanda Mayfield
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Pentecostal
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

132 E 111th St
New York, NY 10029
Phone: (212) 348-8328

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT