Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holy Name Of Jesus School

Private | PK-8 | 40 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in New York

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $799,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,580.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 8, 2013

Holy Name is exceptional. The teachers go above and beyond their call of duty. The principal, assistant principal and staff are all amazing and have an open door policy. Any questions you can go and speak to them any time of day. The school has been amazing in teaching my children. You could not ask for more. The classroom sizes are great for one on one teaching. The technology and arts programs are just astonishing. Please visit Holy Name of Jesus. Enroll your child today. You will not be disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2013

Holy Name is truly a one of a kind school on the upper Westside. It has exceptional teachers that go beyond their everyday job duties to ensure that the children are learning. Holy Name offers small class sizes which allow teachers the ability to work more one on one with the students. The school offers an onsite afterschool program which provides homework help. The principal and Assistant Principal are always willing to meet and support students and parents. HNS is just an overall fantastic school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2013

I am from the Class of 1980. After graduating from Holy Name, I went onto The Loyola School and subsequently Canisius College in Buffalo. I recently returned to university in Dublin,Ireland, as a mature student to undertake a dual Honors BA degree in English and Human Development and was accepted into Trinity College Dublin to undertake my teacher qualification, which I completed with Honors in 2010. I am a product of the education I received at Holy Name and the teachers I had there have shaped me to become the educator I am today as I now work in special needs settings and disadvantaged areas, which are very similar to the Upper West Side I grew up in. Catholic education in Ireland is obviously a given; however, in New York City it is seen as a privilege and the fact that low income families are willing to sacrifice so much for their kids to attend Holy Name School is a true testament to the School's value. PLEASE DO NOT CLOSE OUR SCHOOL!!


Posted January 3, 2013

Holy Name of Jesus is a diamond in the rough. Go to the open house this January and you will see what I mean. I expected to go there to just see what will be offered to my son entering elementary school. When I arrived I was amazed by the technology offered in each classroom. The arts taught here as well is such a breath taker. My boys have been here for four years now and I love Holy Name. The teachers give your child the undivided attention they need. Your child actually learns here. Don't pass up your opportunity to give your child a great education. Stop by and see for yourself what I'm talking about.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2012

As a former student I cab honestly say that Holy Name has molded me into the person I am today. The unbreakable bonds I have today with my forner classmates is remarkable. The teachers instilled so much in us that it is as if we are losing a family member by the possible closing of this wonderful school. The teachers actually care about the students which is hard to find in the school system. Holy Name has been around for quite some time and there is a reason for that. It's a wonderful school to send your child if you want them to have the proper educational experience.


Posted December 21, 2012

This is the best Catholic school in Manhattan! The teacher care and go above and beyond to help the children succeed. The Vice Principal is the greatest and the cost is the lowest of all Catholic schools in Manhattan!!! Simply Wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2012

No other Catholic school in the area that has a computer LAB, Science LAB and an AMAZING theatre program led by professionals! Quality education and still has the lowest tuition in Manhattan!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2012

I was a student of Holy Name back in the 80's. HNS prepared me to ace my exams and granted me a seat at BX Science as well as Notre Dame HS. I sent my eldest daughter to HNS after the public school system failed to stop the bullying she endured in 4th grade. She was welcomed with open arms. After my son graduated 5th grade from a nearby school June 2012, District 3 decided to oust him despite having 4's on his State exams and despite having been a District 3 student as of pre-K. After losing my appeal to District 3's decision, I decided to enroll him at HNS for 6th grade. It took a bit of adjustment but yesterday he was named Student of the Month!!! How awesome is that! The only time my son was ever honored was during graduation. Praising children throughout the school year is necessary to give them the motivation to keep doing well. The idea of HNS closing is simply unbearable. I have another child that I was hoping would start the pre-k program come September. The teachers are caring, the student population is diverse, the neighborhood is wonderful and the school is reinforcing our personal teachings to raise children with morals. Help Save Holy Name School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2012

Holy Name provides an educational curriculum based on religious beliefs and values, allowing your child to develop in their understanding of themselves, their connection with God and their affiliation with others. This school upholds the education of your child to their maximum potential; the teachers respect and promote genuine learning experiences. Your child will attain knowledge and develop the skills necessary for success in superior educational pursuits and a broad range of vocations. They offer a community atmosphere in which your child can confer and live out the principles upon which their education is based. Children are encouraged to contribute to humanity and to assume leadership positions in shaping public attitudes and agendas. They learn to question, establish confidence in their own excellent choices in life and to experience the sense of achievement stemming from individual accomplishments and responsibility. You can be certain that your child will obtain a strong academic education in an atmosphere structured to have a lasting value. Holy Name is an amazing school and I look forward to all the success that lies ahead!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2012

I am a graduate of Holy Name School (Class of 1981). My brothers and sister also graduated from this great school. Cousins have graduated as well.The teachers always pushed us to do our best and taught us to take pride in everything we did. It was our home away from home. Holy Name has come a long way compared to other Catholic Schools in the neighborhood. They have introduced technology and computers into the classroom and music and theater into the curriculum. The after-school program they offer is quite helpful for working parents. For my family, Holy Name is not just a school but a tradition. My two older children are graduates and my son is currently attending. When my granddaughter was born, we knew where she would attend Pre-K. The tuition and fees have always been lower than the other schools in the area even with all the extras the school offers. Some have issues with some teachers at the school but I have to say it is nothing compared to some of the teachers I have seen working for city schools. It is just a matter of working with the principal to try to come up with a solution. Holy Name will always have my vote as the best Catholic Elementary School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2012

Amazing school, great community, and great neighborhood. Beautiful church, gym, classrooms, and recreational center. It is a school with a lot of history and tradition. It is a parochial school doing it's best to stay in the cutting edge. Tuition is cheap in comparison to other parochial and private schools. It is great to be surrounded in such an amazing atmosphere of loving and caring teachers and administrators.


Posted March 25, 2011

i was at this school in kindergarten and u pay alot of money to do nothing i can honestly tell u my three years in this school and I only went on 2 or 3 trips and one was across the street to famiglia! I highly not reccomend this school for your child.


Posted December 8, 2010

I find Holy Name to be a great enviroment for children. When you come to Holy Name, you are welcomed into a family that teaches excellent Catholic values. Being apart of the parish and seeing the young men and women that have come from that family, I wouldn't hesitate putting my child there. The teachers make the children feel like they are about to jump into a new adventure every day, and the children are eager to learn. From the smallest child in the Montessori program to the oldest young man or woman in eighth grade, they are all well- mannered and courteous to whomever they see in the street or walking the halls. They have a great respect for themselves and for the school. Holy Name is an excellent school to start a child's educational and social development in today's society.


Posted October 9, 2010

My daughter is currently in Kindergarden and she loves her class her teacher and her classmates. She comes home learning something new and a new prayer or song. She loves getting homework and is getting better paying attention. They are very organized and detailed with each student. You walk in the main door and is smiles everywhere. I know i made the right choice putting her in a catholic school compared to public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2010

My daughter has been enrolled in Holy Name for the past three years. In September she will start third grade. I'm very please with the school and the teachers. Its a family enviroment. The teachers are very inclusive of the parent. My daughter is very happy there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

I love Holy Name school because they have made my son become a respectful young gentleman.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2009

This is a wonderful school! My son will be going to 3rd grade and I am a very satisfied parent. The teacher that I have had the pleasure of working with were simply amaming!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2009

This school is great. I am currently an 8th grader and a a part of the Class of 2009. I have attended this school since i was in 1st grade. I feel that this school has teachers who aren't only their to give you a book smart education but a life education too. They open up to you as if they were your friends. Since i have attended this school for so long I have an idea of the teachers who are more qualified and better. The current eight grade teachers Mr. Garcia and Ms. Brown are the best teachers there are. They prepare you fully for high school and the future things you are going to encounter in the real world when you grow up. I think if you put your child in this school you will not regret it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 10, 2008

The worst school! Over crowded and 7th grade teachers have the worst attitude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2008

I think this schools is on of the best kept secrets on the upper west side.If you talk to parents and ask them what they think of Holy Name, they will tell you they love it.That really drew me to this school. Parents are friendly and their is such a community feel among the students.The school has really embraced my son. My son has excelled even more academically.After two months he was named student of the month.He continues to thrive. The student are really challenged academically.Be prepared for quite a bit of homework....A recommend this school to everyone.Also the principal here is very nice, accessible, and he treats the student as a people.Also Ms. Eason in the school office is extremely wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 45% 21%
Hispanic 45% 21%
Two or more races 5% N/A
Asian 3% N/A
White 1% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • John R. Joven
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New York
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

202 West 97th Street
New York, NY 10025
Phone: (212) 749-1240

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

De la Salle Academy
New York, NY




The Studio School
New York, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT