Advertisement
Advertisement

King's Academy

Private | PK-8 | 30 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in New York

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $496,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,270.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2012

This school is excellent! My son has been in school since prep 3 and he has excelled so much. The class sizes are very small which almost equates to a one on one education. It almost as if my son is in his current grade and the next. He is pre-k now and he is doing way more than a lot of other per-kindergartners I know. I find several flaws, however the academics outweigh them except for the lack of technology and extra-curricular activities. And one other thing.... The whole staff is African American... from the principles to the teachers. Oh... and one last things... they use to accept children as infants but the state came in and told them that they teach too much, hmmmmmm speaks volumes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2009

My daughter has attended the Kings Academy since the tender age of 8mos. and she is now 5. She has always beddn well cared for there and the education is phenomal!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2009

My son has attended since age 2. Pre K thru Kindergarten is where the school's strength lies. He learned all the basic stuff for reading and writing. I took him out at grade 2.6. He went to Sylvan for an assessment and was found to be on grade level. However, they need add'l staff at this time to be able to give the 1st grade and up, a full day's work. H.W. has decreased as well. They are a family run school and parent involvment is out of the question. They don't allow you to see the class in action, nor do they allow you behind the 'closed doors'. They don't have any extracurricular activities, Gym nor computers. They are well priced and are open 7:15 through 5:45. Late pick-up fees are extremely high. And they enforce them as well. You can schedule an appointment with the teachers at any time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2009

I attended the King's Academy for 17 years, and its a wonderful school. It may be a small school, but you get that one on one time with the teacher to get a better understanding of the work. It's safe, the teachers care about you, and you meet wonderful children. I learned everything in this school from the Bible to Algebra. Till this day I am still affiliated with my teachers by attending the church. All i can say is if you want your child to get that one on one education, be in safe place, not in over crowded school, and get all the basics they need even the bible you should send them to The King's Academy.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 11, 2007

My child attended kings academy for two years. I am still impressed by what she learned. They provided an excellent foundation. Unfortunately, I had to take her out due to our relocating. This school is very nurturing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2007

Excellent school with extremely caring teachers. The curriculum is geared to excellence without pressure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2006

My daughter started this school in Novemember and I have seen a tremendous improvement with her social skills. I am very please with the King's Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2006

If you are looking for a school which has a religious foundation the King's Academy is that school. I have a child in kindergarten and he excels due impart to the emphasis on reading, writing, and arithmatic, as well as having respect for himself and others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2005

good school; circulum is really good, however I wish that the school had a gym for the kids as well as hot lunch for the children. school does not have computer in classroom. If I had to rate the school on a scale of 1 to 10. I would give it an 8 because I do feel that both my children are receiving a good education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2004

This school has an excellent curriculum, but the way it is taught isn't the best. This school has one extracurricular activity and that is volleyball. The students don't even get gym uniforms. The net is ripped and droopy. The ball has patches missing in it. It is horrible but overall it might be a good school for your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Thomas Streitferdt Jr
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2345 3rd Ave
New York, NY 10035
Phone: (212) 348-7380

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



P.S. 138
New York, NY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT