Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Geneva School of Manhattan

Private | PK-8 | 176 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in New York

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $895,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,110.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 23, 2013

In the infamous New York City Kindergarten application process, we were not prepared for many positive surprises. We found one at the Geneva School of Manhattan. In all major respects, the school can be considered top tier. Many may find the initial faith statement and the requirement for active parent involvement a bit intimidating. We also had some skepticism which was quickly diffused by our extremely positive experience. Geneva takes its mission statement seriously. The emphasis on Christian values provides for a structured environment. Our two girls have thrived here. While there is a common understanding that everyone shares a similar faith, no particular denomination prevails. With the requirement for active parent participation, the school demonstrates that education is not just up to the professionals but is very much up to the parents. Excellence in education is therefore really the core strength of the school. Due to its small class sizes and caring environment, students at Geneva do extremely well. The lower tuition also helps attract a very diverse student body, important for our girls to prepare them for a global workforce.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2011

We have 3 children in the Geneva school. We are so happy with everything the school has to offer. This is our second year at the school and our children have grown so much in many aspects including character, Godliness, and academic excellence. It has the best of both worlds and incorporates a rigorous academic curriculum comparable to Many NYC's top private schools with the added bonus of Instilling kindness, and genuine love !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2011

Both my children began at Geneva School in Preschool and are now Fourth and Seventh Grade students. In all their years at the school, they have enjoyed wonderful teachers who took a personal interest in their education. They have made great friends. Most importantly, however, is the instilling of a lifelong love of learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2011

We've re-enrolled our child yet again because we love this school so much. He is thriving in academics, is extremely kind and considerate which we lead by example at home but is also reinforced at school. So many of the children and parents are loving, kind and genuinely connected in this gem of a school. It's a Christian education where people of all levels of faith can find their place. The teachers are fantastic and the school's location is ideal - right in the middle of all that NYC has to offer!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2010

This is our son's second year at Geneva. We are more than blessed to have found such an amazing school. The teachers could not be any sweeter, the community interaction is stellar. In terms of academics, the kids excel here. My son reads two grades above his actual grade level. They use the Singapore math method that teaches kids a very different way of dealing with math problems. They start very early on with French and teach Latin from 5th grade on. I would highly recommend this school to anyone that is interested in raising kids in the big city jungle without compromising academics and wonderful person-to-person interaction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

We are new to New York this year, but not new to classical education -- and were SO thrilled to find a classical school that was genuinely Christian in the middle of the city! My biggest concern moving here from the semi-rural West was that we would not be able to find a "real" Christian school with challenging academics and a professional, innovative, caring staff. Geneva is that and more -- our son is challenged, has grown academically and spiritually, and has just plain had fun at this wonderful school. Neither character nor acadmics are sacrificed at Geneva. Best of all, the community was so welcoming -- within days, we were "plugged in" as a family, with places to go and people to meet. Geneva and it's families are the real deal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

This is an Amazing school! I have two children at The Geneva School of Manhattan. This school has everything that we were looking for... Competitive and Rigorous academics, daily studies of the Bible and wanted Parent involvement. So many schools do not want hand on parent involvement. This school actually thrives on parent involvement and thoughtfully uses each parents unique talents. I love being a part of my child's learning experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

Geneva School is a gem in this city! We wanted a Christian school for our children, but not at the cost of academics. We have only chosen Geneva School because it balances solid Bible teaching with a rigorous Academic Curriculum, which shows in the exmissions to excellent high schools in Manhattan! The staff is excellent and highly communicative, the principal is personable and involved, and the parent body is supportive and welcoming. Also, you can't get an education for this price anywhere else in Manhattan! Apllicants should understand that this is an academically challenging, yet warm and nurturing environment. Joyful Rigor can best explain it! While our children work hard, and diligently, they are warm, funny, and happy! Physical Ed is offered more days than at most schools, They have an excellent art teacher--his work should be in The Met! Come see for yourself!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

My children have attended Geneva School for two years, and have really blossomed there. Geneva provides the best of both worlds: a solid, challenging academic education and a warm, nurturing environment. The teachers are loving and encouraging while still challenging the students in their academic and spiritual growth. The parent community is also wonderful, very generous and open. I am always amazed and humbled by the care and respect the students show one another as well as their teachers--real proof, in my mind, that the school excels at teaching and nurturing the whole child. Geneva School is a classical school, which means its curriculum follows the educational system and philosophy of Ancient Greece. In a nutshell, this means students learn in a three-stage process, processing facts and then thinking abstractly before they begin to form their own ideas and conclusions. Classical education is a great preparation for entry into high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2010

love the school to pieces. My 2 boys started last yr and they are really thriving. It is a very academic school with lots of nuturing to balance it. I have never seen such loving teachers and a wonderful group of families too. I was concerned about the religious aspects being too much but, while it is a bible based curiculum,it is not fundamentalist or taught ina way that is anything but,to further teach a child character. It really shows. The group of kids are well disciplined and very kind. We are very happy here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2007

The Geneva School of Manhattan offers a first rate, classical, Christian education in a caring and encouraging environment. The academics are every bit as strong as the other top schools in New York but it is the quality of the Geneva family -- teachers, administrators, students, and parents -- that make this school a truly special place, a place that brings out the best in our children. We have been at Geneva for two years and continue to be amazed at the kindness and respect the students show to the faculty and to each other, at the high degree of parental support and involvement, and at how strongly Geneva teachers believe in their mission. We have two boys at the school and can't imagine being anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

We are a 'founding family' of the Geneva School of Manhattan. The first year of the School's existence was my son's Kindergarten year. My daughter followed two years later. Both of my children have benefited from the rigorous curriculum and excellent teachers. Having a faith-based school available in Manhattan has given our family a steadfast support to our parenting. Both of my children learned to read in their Kindergarten years using a phonics-based reading program. The School teaches English grammar in the early years using a jingle approach. In later years, students diagram sentences, reminiscent to how I learned. History is approached from a Western Civilization point of view. Geneva School has chosen the Saxon Math curriculum. And, being a Classical Christian school, the students begin Latin in the third grade. These are just some highlights and don t do justice to the wonderful community in which our children are learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 49% 52%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 19% N/A
Asian 18% N/A
Hispanic 6% 21%
Black 5% 21%
Two or more races 3% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Rim Hinckley
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACCS
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (212) 754-9987

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

123 West 57th Street
New York, NY 10019
Website: Click here
Phone: (212) 754-9988

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ps 35
New York, NY




The Browning School
New York, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT