Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Metropolitan Montessori School

Private | PK-6 | 210 students

MMS is best known for it's strong academic program and extraordinary exmissions.
 
 

 
 

Living in New York

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $1,035,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,110.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 13 ratings
2012:
Based on 11 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 13, 2012

Metropolitan has been a warm, wonderful home for our child since the first day of primary at 3 years of age. We're now in Upper Elementary, and can't say enough great things about the Upper Elementary program and exmissions prcoess. All the children go to schools that are right for them, and most move on to the top schools in NYC. But even more importantly, they get a superb education while they are at MMS. The school is intimate and caring. The children are treated and known as individual learners. We will truly miss this school when we leave, and always treasure our time here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2012

I am the parent of an MMS graduate who is thriving at a top independent high school. My child is well organized, motivated, and responsible. Not perfect by any means, (the bedroom is a disaster), but on the way to becoming a grounded adult. I attribute this success to the wonderful foundation that MMS provides. Children discover their strengths, and they learn how to work at those things that don't come so naturally to them. They learn to listen, to be open to new ideas, to be independent. They learn that hard work can be rewarding, even fun! MMS is not just about learning facts, but becoming a well-rounded person. It is a jewel of a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2012

We are new, but have been very impressed with MMS so far. Typical day for my 4-year-old: arrive and change into inside shoes (very Japanese!), choose work for the morning. Maybe make a model of the earth (crust, mantle, inner core, outer core) or fill in the numbers 1-100 on a grid matrix. Get self a snack, cubing a melon slice with a rounded knife, sticking toothpicks in to serve (all autonomous). Wash up from snack and head over to circle time, learn about how raptors, hunting birds, parent their young. Gym class (yoga and dance) followed by a visit to the rooftop playground and garden to check on vegetable plants, grown from seed. Round out the day with a one-on-one lesson with a teacher on cursive letter writing. Head over to River Run Playground after pick-up for a big playdate with classmates. As parents we've have multiple occasions to observe our son in class, even our nanny has been invited to several workshops and classroom observations. His teachers have been extraordinary in their communication with us (calls, conferences). We have made great friends with other MMS families. I am volunteering as a room parent next year. We've been thrilled with MMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2012

I have a 6th grader denied admission to ongoing schools. There are a few of us. This is rare, students have been admitted to top notch schools. The new head has been a disappointment. We have to realize it takes time but if the first year is any indication, she is all talk and no action. There is no discipline and the policies in place are not enforced. Children are allowed to retake tests until they pass and can bully and misbehave without punishment. The school is already challenged ending in 6th grade; your child may be qualified but there are no spots. 6th grade is not an entry point for most schools and when it is it can be a tough transition. Many children apply out in 5th grade to have a better chance of finding an ongoing school. This does create a very small graduating class. The exception to the 6th grade issue is anyone interested in Hunter; there are an unusually large number of children who qualify for the Hunter test. This confirms the academic strength of the school. Academically the school is strong but based on this past year, the problems seem to be getting worse not better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2012

We think that Metropolitan Montessori School is the best place for our children after several years at the school. The learning environment in the Primary section of the school is top notch, both in its Montessori approach and the general classroom environment. We have children in the elementary section of the school too and the same sound approach to teaching continues. The children are engaged in their work and are learning the traditional subjects of elementary school, as well as broader life lessons about living in a community. I have chaperoned a few field trips and the teachers receive compliments about how respectful and inquisitive the MMS children are during their visit. We have a new Head of School and this first year under her leadership has been a good one. As the school year ends, it is clear that she is acclimating well to life at our school and is determined to continue the good work of MMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2012

We just finished pulling our children out of this school. They are counting the days. What was once a small unique school has taken a turn for the worst. The new head of school has proven to be a failure. Parents are forced to band together and attempt to overturn various poor decisions she has made. While the academics are challenging, children who cannot keep up are encouraged to get tutoring to keep up or are counseled out. This leaves classes that dwindle each year after K with very few children entering. There is high teacher turnover, teachers do not stay for very long, even those with children at the school. The school prides itself on their exmissions process, yet this year many children were not accepted to any ongoing schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2012

I love this school. I went there until i was 7 and started when i was 3, and then I moved to Boston and in MMS i had the best time. when you first waled through those doors it was like one big happy family. everyone there was nice, happy, and helpful. me and my older brother went there and i swear every time my dad had to tell me its time to go I would get upset from how much fun i had there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2011

I have been a parent at this school for a number of years and have truly enjoyed the experience. They have done a great job at engaging my children and creating a love of learning. The school has recently hired a new headmistress so change is afoot. But given her background, I'm sure the school will continue to meet and exceed the needs of both the parents and their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2011

I go to this school and everything from teachers to pencil sharpenersis great about it. The kids are nice and students get to know the teachers as a friend, not a teacher.


Posted September 17, 2009

Metroplitan is an oasis of love and warmth where the development of the individual is honored.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I really love this school. Children learn in classes of mixed ages providing a wonderful community and learning opportunity. The curriculum focuses not only on academics but also on grace, courtesy, awareness of, and respect towards themselves, others and the environment. The environment created here fosters self confidence, self esteem bringing the children up to their potential in all areas of life and developing a sense of being a responsible member of the global community.


Posted August 28, 2009

Too expensive for what is offered. Some teachers are great, others are very inexperienced. They don't know how to handle individuals and fall back on reinforcing the Method. Your child will conform. They are extremely rigid. The facilities are limited. Kids adapt well, so most are fine, but too many lose an appreciation of learning. If students perform badly on standardized tests, the school explains it by saying 'we're on a different time table'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2006

MMS is a truly special place, simply unique in New York City and probably the country. The children are imbued with a true love for learning and thes highest ethical development.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2006

This quaint elementary school on the Upper West side aspires to great excellency. Although in the lower school (gr. 1-3) the acedemic system is weaker, in the upper school the acedemics turn to rigor as the sixth grade students travel on to some of the finest NYC schools. The school is unique in its size (about 15 co-ed per grade), in it's blend of montessori ethics and teachings as well as standard teaching ways. It also is one of the few montessori schools that continue into the 6th grade. The students recieve loads of attention and many graduate with the message that they must help make the world more beautiful, for only one person can make a difference.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 24, 2006

Even though I am not aparent, MMS is a wonderful school. The levels pf learning are very advanced, and the teachers and students have a great bond. What I love is if I had a problem wiht the homework and did badly or didn't understand it, the teacher will sit down wiht me and teach it to me. The only people that don't belong here are procastonaters, because the teachers keep an eye out for all the assignments.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 52%
Asian 15% N/A
Black 9% 21%
Hispanic 5% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Clubs
  • Literary magazine
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:45 pm
School end time
  • 2:45 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:50 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Brenda Mizel
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • American Montessori Society/ New York State Association of Independent Schools
Associations
  • AMS
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (212) 579-5526

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Literary magazine
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Parents are an integral part of the MMS community, and the Parents Association provides a friendly and vibrant forum for supporting the school. Parents sponsor social events to welcome new families, contribute to Annual Giving, organize the holiday book sale, and stage a gala benefit in the spring. Room parents facilitate relationships among families and provide support for teachers. Monthly meetings feature speakers on education and parenting topics.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2011-2012 school year
$25000 - $30000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

325 W 85th St
New York, NY 10024
Website: Click here
Phone: (212) 579-5525

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



The Calhoun School
New York, NY



Calhoun School
New York, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT