Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ms 243 Center School

Public | 5-8 | 221 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 23, 2014

the center school is first rate. my son's performance has improved dramatically in all subjects
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2014

1 1 1 11 1 1 11 1 1 11 1 1 11 1 1 11 1 1 1
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2014

test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2013

Some teachers at this school are abusive and the principal does not care. I know for a fact they are under investigation but the DOE considers corporeal punishment a private human resources matter so even if charges are found to be substantiated there is no public record of this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2011

I absolutely love everything about the Center School. My daughter just graduated June 2011 and my son is currently an 8th grader. If they could continue their high school years at Center School, they would. Students enjoy being there every day. Teachers are amazingly helpful, involved and well appreciated. Ms. Schwartz, Director of Center School is also amazing. She knows each student by their first name and it s not because they re in trouble, it s because she is in tuned to each child s academic performance. Parents are totally involved. I have not met one single parent that had or has anything negative to say about the Center School. If you were to ask any parent what would they change about Center School, they would probably say nothing or would really need to think about the question. Outstanding school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2011

I am a former student of the Center School and I plan on sending my daughter there when she's in the 5th grade. Out of all of my school years the Center School left the biggest impression on me. It's not one of those big schools where you get lost in the shuffle and your teacher doesn't know your name. It's a community... it's a family. I recently saw one of the teachers on the train, she's still teaching at the school and she remembered me (10+ years since I graduated). In fact half of the teachers that were their when I was attending are still there. If that doesn't tell you a little something about the teacheers there I don't kow what does.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2009

Every day I'm thankful that my children (7th grader and 5th grader) are at the Center School. They continue to receive a steller education and exposure to things that rival many of the elite private schools. I'm convinced that any child who is willing to be challenged will come through their program a shining star!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2009

The Center School is easily the worst school in the city. It claims to be a 'community' but is hardly one. Do your child a favor and do not send them to this horrendous school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 7, 2009

We have sent all three of our children to Center School and they have received an outstanding education from a faculty that is creative and attends to the most important aspects of education, engagement and competence. All three of our children have been prepared and made it into the specialized high schools both science and the La Guardia. This small community really offers a private school education in a public school. The kids and adults make it a wonderfully loving community. You're lucky if you get the chance for your child to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2008

I am currently an eigth grader at the Center School and there is no doubt in my mind that this school should go first on your list. This school has the absolute best principal in the city and a funloving facilty. The principal knows the names of every student in the school, likewise, the students know all of their classmates. The curriculum is incredibly unique. I am currently taking an accelerated literature class where we are, at the moment, reading Henry James AND taking a class about allegories incorporated in superhero movies, where I watched 'Iron Man.' I have to admit, I'd say 5% of the student body does not love the school, but the other 95% adore it. The Center School prepared me very well and I am applying to the upmost presigious high schools in the city like Stuyvesant High. Dumb, smart, everyone has a friend and does well.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 12, 2008

Have had two kids attend and they've more than enjoyed it at the same time received very good educations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2008

We are current 8th graders at the center school. We love it so much! it has helped us grow into wonderful young adults. I would send all your kids to Center School.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 22, 2008

My 6th grader is excited to go to school almost every day! Teachers are smart, creative, nurturing and incredibly supportive of individual students needs. Student/teacher ratio 13 - 1. My son has a strong sense of belonging to this community and has great pride in his association with this terrific school. He's loving Latin and Literature!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2007

This is a great school with a principal and teachers who understand the idiosyncrasies of educating children in this age group.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2007

I am completely and utterly dissatified with the Center School. My son(who just transfered from P.S.84) sa he is scared be the amount of violence at the Center School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2007

My daughter just completed her first year at Center School, a transfer from PS 87. Not only was the quality of instruction more than I had hoped for but the faculty imparts the most important elements of education.. curiosity and engagement. Nothing else really matters. If your child is not excited and motivated by their instructors, then no school can succeed. The Center School delivers on those levels far beyond expectations. I would give it the very highest ranking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2003

My daughter spent two and a half years at Center, and we lamented when a move from NY took her away from the school. It is a truly wonderful place: simultaneously rigorous, supportive, and creative. I've never seen a school where the parents and teachers are so committed to the mission of the school. We miss it still!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

An extraordinary middle school--and those are rare. Elaine Schwartz, the Director, has created a perfect transition from elementary to high school, with a lot of support, and a central base in writing of all kinds and arts of all kinds as well as literature, math, science, and social studies.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 63% 48%
Black 1 15% 19%
Hispanic 2 14% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 8% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 11%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 214%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 67%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 379 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
9.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.3
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.2
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
9.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.2
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.9
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents19592%
Students17099%
Teachers14100%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

100 W 84th St
Rm 310
New York, NY 10024
Phone: (212) 799-1477

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Smith School (The)
New York, NY



Rodeph Sholom
New York, NY


Trevor Day School
New York, NY


Dwight School
New York, NY


Ps 452
New York, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT