Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sisulu Walker Charter School Of Harlem

Charter | K-5 | 267 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in New York

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $560,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,150.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 31, 2014

The past reviews are just what there are the "past". Michelle Haynes is the current principal. One of the previous comments said that she has to fix the mess that was left. That is very true. She has so far turned this school's academic report card into a "B". She has great compassion and dedication to this school's students, teachers and families. I am new to SWCSH. This is my 1st year. I came from a very well know charter school that failed my children and forced me to pull them out for their lack of seeing my child's true potential. Since coming to SWCSH with my 3 children a 1st, 2nd and 4th graders, I have seen great progress. Their teachers not only make frequent assessments on the students to determine each student's level of achievement, but they also use the data to critique themselves for perfection. With our new principal I have no doubt that SWCSH is moving in the right direction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2011

My child attended this school from 3rd grade and I had to transfer her out during the summer due to my unhappiness with this school. She is now attending another school for 5th grade. My child started at the same time that the new principal Dr. Cejas started. Since I had no prior history with the previous principal, I had an open mind in regards to the new principal. My mind has since been made up to remove my child from the school. The school is quite tight, with 1 space being used as a gym, lunchroom and auditorium. They don't offer much in the way of Afterschool for kids. The Afterschool ends at 6pm. According to my daughter the children just did their homework most of them. Very little in the way of fun activities. The children go on some nice trips during the school year. I do believe that the majority of the teachers working there truly care about the children but there are 1 or 2 teachers there that are clueless and who act ghetto. Academically they are strong in Mathematics but weak when it comes to Reading and Writing. They do offer a Saturday Academy that runs for 3 hours for 4 months to help students improve their Reading and Writing skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2011

My child attended this school for 2nd grade thru 5th. There is a lack of parental involvement & the new principal seems a bit standoffish as if she doesnt want to be bothered by the parents. She delegates parent inquiries to the clueless Assistant principal or rude & abrasive parent coordinator! The building is definitely overcrowded and the fact that there hasn't been an alternative used for recess is disgusting! The kids are housed inside from 8am-6pm. The test scores are average and the teacher turnover is extremely high! This is the only charter school remaining from the inital state charter sadly I feel its a disservice to the community! The transition to middleschool was a nightmare due to the lack of relationships and knowledge of the guidance counselor. Over 10 years and yet no substantial awards or gains for our children's advnacement...just SAD! Seek an alternative until changes are made!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2010

A school I had grow so fond of has taken a turn for the worst. The teacher turn over rate is horrific! All the great teachers have left and the allocation of the teachers that remain is off centered. Parents are not welcomed by most of the administrative staff and unfortunately our children spend many hours enduring negative energy. I am doing everything in my power to make sure my children do not return in September. I do not recommend this school at all. They need to shape up big time. There is no space, classes are over crowded and kids hardly get recess (and I'm being generous with 'hardly'). I've reached out to the Principal, teachers (all three of them in one academic year) to no avail. I am soooo disgusted with Sisulu-Walker. The Board needs to get a clue. Who ever is responsible for the hiring needs to re-asses.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2010

I agree with the last posting. My daughter has been attending this school since she was in 1st grade. I loved her teacher Mr. Smith, he's gone now. In 2nd grade, she went through 3 teachers. They were all great but i felt it was too much change. Now in 3rd grade I think all the good teacher left. This school as definitly gone down and the city makes it very hard for you to get in any other school that u would prefer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2010

I am a parent whose child has attended Sisulu since 2005,k I feel that Sisulu has went down hill and the only reason why my child is still here is because it's hard to find another school right now with another teacher that is as good as Ms. Haynes the best teacher in this godforsaken school. Without Ms. Haynes, our children would be lost.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2009

There is too many issues with my childs class. She is in fourth grade and has been thru 3 different teachers in a span of a month. There is a new principle and she needs to assist the children who have behavioral issues instead of allowing them to keep disrupting the class. Overall, i have would not recommend this school. Too many issues and too many move arounds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2008

I love this school. My daughter has exceeded beyond anyones expectations. She has continued to make high honors and has scored beyond her grade level in her placements exams. The only problem is that some of the children dont have good examples at home so therefore bring 'ghettoness' to the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2006

I love Sisulu Walker. They have the most amazing and qualified teachers. We're the first charter school in Harlem and we're still going strong. Sisulu is under the leadership of a new principal and she's just amazing. The only problem that i have is the lack of parental involvement. This is my son's second year - and we're looking forward to the next three!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2004

My son has been attending this school for almost 3 years. Ms. Haynes his current teacher has done a wonderful job in preparing him for middle school. His test scores for (2004) were very good a 700 and 675. Bravo to Ms. Haynes and Ms. Fuller-Hope you must feel very proud of the acomplishment you have achieved. I am said that you my son will not have Ms. Haynes or Ms. Fuller-Hope to continue bringing out the best in him. If you have a chance to see Ms.Hope and Ms. Haynes doing what they do best which is teaching. You will know that your child education is very important to them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2004

My son has been attending this school for two. His teacher is an outstanding and wonderful teacher. Ms. Haynes goes the extra mile to make sure her students are doing the very best they can. Bravo to Ms. Haynes and Ms. Fuller-Hope for an outstanding job with the 2004 ELA and Math test.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

My child has been attending the Academy since 1999. This is the school's 3rd principle. When my child arrived the majority of the students were below level. They have turned around my children. There should've been a focus on the children who were above level. Those were the ones who suffered. That's why so many have taken their children out. The direct instruction curriculum worked for those who was below, the above children were bored and had disciplinary problems. Hopefully with the two years left they understand the importance of servicing all children's needs. Also they need to improve with parent participation. I was active from the beginning, the same 15-25 parents out of the 247 always participated in activities and meetings.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
31%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

29 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

29 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

21 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
5%

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

21 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 2 86% 19%
Hispanic 2 12% 23%
Two or more races 2 1% 1%
White 1 1% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 0% 9%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 157%N/A49%
Male 143%N/A51%
Limited English proficient 26%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 271%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 8%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 8%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 120 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
9.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.6
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.5
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.9
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.7
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.2
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents10250%
Teachers1882%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. MICHELLE HAYNES

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

125 W 115th St
Rm 203
New York, NY 10026
Website: Click here
Phone: (212) 663-8216

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT