Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ms 224 Manhattan East School For Arts And Academy

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 247 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2013

ME has a wonderful music program. My son learned how to play an instrument and read music while he was at ME. Now he spends most of his free time composing! Thanks ME!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2011

I wonder why you chose to pie the math teacher. be honest how much do you love the sixth grade math teacher. be honest now! ha ha


Posted May 20, 2011

i am currently in sixth grade at manhattan east. and i LOVE it so much. i live all the way in the bronx. its hard to go to school there, the traveling and everything. but its completely worth it. i didn't think so at first, but i made so many great and amazing friends. they may have a soccer team, and theres art, drama, dance, jewelry making and so on. the only thing thats annoying is walking up 5 flights of stairs, and being on top of two really bad schools. i love this school. the staff is very nice, lovable and comforting. everyone feels like a big family. my class, 6J, say we're a big happy family. the staff feels like a second family. the school feels lie a home. i love you manhattan east, i wish i could stay there forever. i espeicially liked when we got to pie the teachers. i got to pie my math teacher. :D <3


Posted March 1, 2011

I am currently in the 8th grade at Manhattan East and i cannot wait to get out of this school. There are some fantastic teachers but over the last 3 years, our best 5 teachers have left. I have heard rumors that the teacher tht is currently the best at ME is planning on leaving. We are now faced with half of the teachers just not being able to teach. Dont get me wrong, there are some very very very good teachers! but there are some teachers that just bring the school down completely. On top of that, the principal covers up things, cannot control the students, and when she punishes us, she goes way overboard in a way that will not benefit us at all. She is NOT a good principal. The only reason that parents have the illusion of the school being good when they visit on tours is because the students know how to act and so do the parents. For example, the tours almost always happen when my class is in spanish. We do not respect the teacher at all, and he can never control us and he never teaches us so we are out of control. When the tours come in, we know how to sit quietly, listen to the teacher, and pay attention and to do our work.


Posted March 1, 2011

(continuation of the last post tht started with "I am currently in the 8th grade at Manhattan East) There are many many druggies at ME, mostly 8th grade, but sometimes 7th. There is a LOT of bullying going on at the school, and at the end of last year, a student left because she had gotten in a disagreement at the beginning of the 6th grade. A rumor was made about her that everyone knew was false, yet they continued bullying her just for the fun of bullying someone. The list of complaints fo on and on, but I hope that this is enough to convince 5th graders going to 6th NOT to come to this school. It may seem like a very good school, but in the few years I've been here, this school has gone downhill a lot.


Posted May 12, 2010

Great school, awesome place! Anyone who comes here will absolutely love this school. It should recieve 10 stars for it's amazingness! I highly recommend it to any students grades 6-8.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 14, 2009

I really adore manhattan east! it has really great academics, and our teachers really push us to do our best. we really are the best school ever.. Go Bulldogs!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 11, 2009

My daughter graduated from Manhattan East and has gone on to a specialized high school. she has been placed in all honors classes and 2nd year Spanish, based on placement tests that the high school gave her, so, I have to say, I think Manhattan East prepared her well. More importantly, she had a wonderful middle school experience at Manhattan East. She established great friendships with students and with teachers, she became a proficient musician, and she had a lot of fun. My older daughter also attended Manhattan East and had a great experience as well. (I will say that the math and science departments have improved significantly since she was there.) It's a great little school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2009

I really like Manhattan East. The school is just what it is advertised to be; it has a challenging academic curriculum and includes the arts in many ways. The children who attend are privileged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2009

Manhattan East School is a terrific and wondrous include the teachers and of the Principal Mrs.Sarro. I'm currently a new student at the school and so far the academic is excellent. I have more challenge just like I aways excepted my school to be. The only problem is certain students who don't get along with others. But I still love it especially the electives where you have the opportunity of doing what you enjoy doing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 25, 2009

Manhattan east is a excellent school. i currently go and even thogh this is my last year I would love to stay. The only problem is the location, there are many schools around with kids lookin to do no good.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 5, 2007

I am both a alumni and current parent at Manhattan East. Both of my children have done well here. My son went on to attend a specialized high school and was extremely prepared when he arrived. He made great friendships at ME as well. My daughter is finishing sixth grade and I am pleased yet again with the school. If anything, it has strengthened the math and science departments even more and the staff do a tremendous job of both challenging and supporting the students. The elective program is strong with classes like dance, drama, magazine and publishing and locomotion (a science elective) among others. This is addition to the well established music and art program. The students and their parents are a diverse group with brings a wonderfully unique diversity to Manhattan East that doesn't exist at many other schools. The parents are also supportive of both activities and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2007

Good academics, facility has improved, location is bad, music and arts program are great, jazz band is top in the city, basketball team is competitive, only a few parents are involved. Not enough work, very good in the fields of social sciences, as well as earth science, math is of a low level. A friendly staff and students, will help students with anything. Cafeteria, auditoream and leisure area is state of the art. Overall Status Academically: B
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 2, 2007

Manhattan East has been a terrific experience for my child, graduating 8th grade in spring 2007. The academic programs are top notch, with teachers who love their subjects, and really enjoy teaching. In 8th grade, students take 4 Regents (i.e., high school) classes: Math A, Earth Science Regents, Spanish Proficiency 1, and US History. The school has an 'everyone can do it!' atmosphere, and thus is very warm and supportive. It's like a family. Beyond this, the arts classes are some of the City's strongest. ME offers, among others, classes in studio art, photography, dance, orchestral band, jazz band, chorus, and drama. Every child learns how to play a woodwind, brass, or percussion instrument, and learns how to read music. The school has annual drama, dance, and music concerts. It has a new (fall 2006) $2M professional auditiorium and a new playground with sports field. Parental involvement is high.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2007

I believe this school is the greatest middle in East Harlem. The school is filled with highly qualified teachers and staff. The principal is very dedicated to the school and she does a good job supervising her staff. Parents are allowed to witness (Open Door Policy) classroom instruction. Manhattan East staff work hard to assure that your child go above and beyond standards. I love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2005

Amazing school. it was the best 3 years of my life. they have great teachers who truly care about the students. the principal knows everyone by name and face. great music and art program. a little lacking in sports. the staff makes you feel at home so it quickly became like a second home for me. its small and personal which is good for a lot of kids. caring environment, kids are nice and its easy to make friends because the school is small. I would go back in a minute...I truly loved the school with all my heart.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

46 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 2 43% 23%
Black 2 36% 19%
White 2 13% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 7% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 1% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 12%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 260%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 19%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 44%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 293 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
7.2
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.3
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.4
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.4
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents9046%
Students19096%
Teachers1381%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. LILIANA SARRO

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

410 E 100th St
New York, NY 10029
Website: Click here
Phone: (212) 860-6047

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT