Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

P.S. 188 the Island School

Public | PK-8 | 368 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 14 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 6, 2012

I believe that 188 is one of the best schools in Manhattan, I had two children in the past attend the school from grades 6-8 and they did very well in the school. I would refer parents to look into this school, they have an excellent curriculum and the Principal was a great leader, and as for the teachers they are teachers that care about their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2012

Wow, I am totally shocked to see the negative reviews of my school. The Island School received an A last year on the NYC Dept. of Education's school report card. We offer an unparalleled talent development program including computer programming, filmmaking, drumming, drama, and animation. Academically, our students consistently achieve at or above their peers. Our teachers are committed to connecting with students and meeting their academic and emotional needs every step of the way. With a state of the art science lab, gorgeous library, Internet Cafe, you would be hard pressed to find a school better suited for student success. Please disregard the ratings-- they do not reflect what you'll find in this school. Instead, take a look at our website, www.island188.org, and come by for a visit!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 13, 2012

My child got placed into this school due to zoning. During my visit I saw poor teacher / student interaction on more than one occasion. The students were distrustful and there was a complete lack of authority and leadership from the teachers. Also, the bathrooms were filthy, worse than an outhouse. I am concerned for my child and I am desperately trying to place him somewhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2012

Sometimes difficult decisions have to be made that aren't going to make everyone happy. However, if a parent and teacher are able to sit down and communicate without yelling, then half the battle is won. Both sides can get their point across and it teaches children how to problem solve. We are their role models. Listen before you react.


Posted January 18, 2012

Both my girls go here one in 2nd and kindergarten. This school don't have now educational structure, poor teacher and student relationship, and I can go on and on. However my kids been going here since October 2011 and tomorrow I'm pulling them out to go to a better school. When a child crys. About school and your child loves school something is really wrong. So please be aware don't put your child in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2010

The school recently had a trip to great adventure but my child's class did not go. I found out after that other kids that failed class went on this trip.... what kind of message are they sending.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2009

this school is the best i love this school i was a student here and so was my daughter the teachers are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2009

I want to congratulate Ms. Michell and Ms. Jones. Teachers for a wonderful job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

The Island School is one of New York's best kept secrets. My child has participated in violin, lego robotics and theatre with Rosies' kids. Teachers are excellent and the principal raises vast amount of money to further the program. Did I mention the new internet cafe and the renovated auditorium. The passion and intelligence that the principal and staff pour into this school. It's wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2006

I'm not a parent, but I worked here as a part time helper in the classroom. The place is a complete mad-house. The administration needs to get their act together. I only stayed because I felt so bad for the kids. There is no schedule, there is no reliability, there is no leadership. Everyday there's a new problem... that anyone other than the current administration would be able to fix. Don't send your kid to this school, but if you'd like to volunteer, this place could sure use some good-hearted help!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 17, 2004

I took my children out of this school! This school has the potential of being great because of the teachers & the after school program, not the principal. The last reviewer said it right 'evewrything gets swept under the rug.' At one point there was a slight outbreak of ringworms & lice and the only reason I was informed is because the teacher told me. I confronted the VP in this matter, the teacher was later reprimanded for disclosing what should be public knowledge for hygienic purposes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2004

This school is a mad house..this is a place where your child gets taunted or picked on by bullies or hurt and no one in administration wants to hear or do somithing about it...in this school all gets swept under a rug and the kids have no respect ...this will be the first and last year my child goes to school here....the school safety agents try to keep the peace and protect the kids but how can they do it when the administration have no back bone to support its behavioral and educational standards coming from the Dept of Education, aside all else the school administration and Teachers are easily scared or intimidated...So parents can say or do what they want.........we dont need more security we need stability! This is the worst school in the city!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
2%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
41%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
7%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
5%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
10%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 88% in 2011.

26 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
3%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
41%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
3%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
7%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
29%
Math

The state average for Math was 31% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
5%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
13%
Math

The state average for Math was 28% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
6%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 34% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
22%
Math

The state average for Math was 27% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
26%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2011.

47 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the elementary and middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 66% 23%
Black 27% 19%
White 4% 48%
Asian 2% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 18%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 97%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 11%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 46%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 363 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
9.3
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
9.8
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.5
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
9.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
9.8
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.6
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
9.3
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
9.8
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
9.3
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
9.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.6
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents19059%
Students15181%
Teachers2261%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. MARY PREE

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

442 E Houston St
New York, NY 10002
Website: Click here
Phone: (212) 677-5710

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

P.S. 94
New York, NY







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT