Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ballet Tech Nyc Ps For Dance

Public | 4-8 | 154 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

61 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 13, 2014

this is the worst school ever. My daughter went to this school and when i put her in a prep school, she was failng. this school really needs to improve on academics. Im glad i got my daughter into a prep school earlly enough or she would have failed. This school is horrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2014

Very good schools, very worm environment. All staff works very hard to make your child happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2014

I loved all 5 years of being a student at Ballet Tech. I started off in the 4th grade with little knowledge of classical ballet and honestly, a questionable amount of interest in the area. I graduated last year loving the art and the training I received here helped me with my decision to continue dancing in high school. It's also been amazing seeing how much the school improved and evolved in the time I was there, with some traditions each year and some newly introduced ideas and activities as well. The teachers really get to know and engage with each of the students, so that they are able to further focus on their strengths and help the students to grow academically, artistically, and personally. The school is incredibly unique and I haven't heard of one that can compare to its environment and what it has to offer. I will never regret attending this school and would definitely recommend it to anyone who would even consider trying out dance as a hobby.


Posted September 26, 2013

I am so greatfull that my son is part of that community .From both side academic and the ballet program they care about the kids like there own always making sure that they excel good grades i cannot thank them enough for helping me raise a little boy in NYC public school wonderfull staff i wish he could stay there up to 12th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2011

A very unique and wonderful school! My daughter loves it so much she does not want to leave the school. She enjoys it thoroughly. The teachers, staffs, and PTA executive board are all wonderful! A very family oriented environment. They always welcome you. I love that she can excel both academically and artistically at the same time. As a parent I am very satisfied.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

This school has a family atmosphere between the kids in all grades and the faculty and staff. Academically the School achieves more than any other middle school I know.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2010

I love this school. I am glad to have been a part of the wonderful academic and dance program that they offered me. I am not currently at the school anymore but from what i hear from my friends who are still there, it sound like they are progressing on and doing wonderful things for the students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 7, 2009

It offers great academics and ballet instruction from wonderful teachers. The school lets the kids be artistic and expressive
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

Ballet Tech is one incredible and unique public school. It has given my daughter Keila the greatest opportunity, skills and tools to grow and improve herself as a student, daughter, young lady and a person. She has excelled beyond our expectations. The school has taught Keila to be diligent, disciplined and dedicated to both dance and her regular studies. The teachers teach with EXCELLENCE and true dedication towards the children. The love and care of the whole entire school staff is felt from the moment you walk in, wether is to drop your child off, attend a PTA meeting or a Parents Teacher Conference. This school is a true role model for all children that attend it. Ballet Tech should be used as a role model many other public school through out NYC. The character of this school will defenitely leave a positive mark in the hearts of the students and their parents for many years to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

Ballet Tech is the most and great public school! I'm so glad to have my son attend Ballet Tech. Bellet tech is the number 11111111111111111111111
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

My son and I are blessed to be one of the choosen ones who attends Ballet Tech/NYC PS for Dance. We are previlledged to be in an environment where learning is made more fun and at the same time training to be a dancer also develops dicipline. I give 2 thumbs up to the staff at Ballet Tech. The communication level is tremendous and the atmousphire is welcoming. This is my son's first semester at Ballet Tech and want for learning has inproven alot. Ballet Tech should be a modeled NYC PS and be mirrored through out all the bouroughs
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2009

This school has wonderful teachers,students,and more! This school also not only gives education but also gives students chances to be a dancer. All I have to say to this school is bravo!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2009

It teaches courtesy, discipline, dance and academics in a caring and professional atmosphere.


Posted October 29, 2009

The students work hard, the teachers are demanding but kind, and the results are terrific.


Posted October 29, 2009

I love the smallness of the school and the sense of caring and community. Also, I love the high level of academic and artistic achievement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

It is a place where children solidly learn their academics alongside the values of grace, creativity, and self-expression.


Posted October 26, 2009

Ballet Tech is the type of school that really bring the inner-person out of you as a dancer as well as a person. The feel of this school is also very homey because were all just a big family there, that make's kids want to come to school eveyday. You can't get no better then that.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 25, 2009

Ballet Tech finds dancers who didn't know they were dancers, and teaches them to be what they are .. .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2009

My nephew attends Ballet Tech and he is really loving it! He's learned so much in the academic field as well as dance. The school is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

Ballet Tech is a wonderful educational experience as well as a fun, different and healthy way for children to exercise.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

43 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

43 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

35 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

35 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

23 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

23 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

20 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

20 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

22 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

22 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the elementary and middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 1 32% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 30% 9%
Hispanic 2 23% 23%
White 2 14% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 1% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 23%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 261%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 11%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 56%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology

Arts & music

Music
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 169 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
7.2
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
7.2
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents9161%
Students70100%
Teachers889%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. ROY O'NEILL

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Technology

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

890 Broadway
New York, NY 10003
Phone: (212) 254-1803

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Friends Seminary
New York, NY


New York Hebrew
New York, NY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT