Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Thurgood Marshall Academy For Learning And Social

Public | 6-12 | 580 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 1, 2013

i spent two years here and it was okay i guess. the building was always clean and the teachers were challenging us but the real problem was the students. my friend was jumped in the locker room twice in one week and there were recordings of it and everything. i had to get out of that bad environment, the fear i was in was really affecting my learning. the teachers provided us with challenging material and curriculum but the only problem were the kids. in the end of my seventh grade year i was threatened by a group of girls who said they were going to jump me. i couldnt even come to the last day of school. this school is also in harlem, a predominately black area, so me being not of african american decent made it challenging to even get into this school, it felt like everyone was giving me a hard time because i didnt look like they did. the lack of diversity is a problem here, but as for academics it is actually ok.


Posted September 12, 2012

This is my daughter's second year in TMA's middle school. I have to say that from the moment I attend the open house two years ago to this day I have been very impressed with the teachers, the principal and the staff. For the first time, my daughter wants to get good grades and do her best. I like the fact that the teachers call me all the time to tell me that my daughter is working late with them on project or assignment. I also like the fact that she is in a safe and nurturing environment where the teachers don't mind staying late with the children to help them. I like the fact that the teachers listen to the children's concern and address those concerns in a matter where the children are left feeling encouraged and geared for success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2011

My daughter is in TMA, she came from the TMA the Lower school and all I can say is amazing. TMA the lower and the High school has offered my daughter so much and right in front of my eyes she has developed a want and a need for education that could not be obtained anywhere else. The staff is beyond caring of the students, the teachers go above and beyond expectations and to me as a parent this is just a great school. I love the open door policy in which I can just pop in the school and sit in any classroom and just observe. To me this demonstrates that noone has anything to hide.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2011

I am a sophomore at TMA and I absolutely love it. I have been here since the 7th grade and have learned so much. One thing I love about this school is that the teachers have belief and faith in us and therefore have expectations. They push us to our limits. They not only teach us what we need to know but they teach us things from their life's experience. I truly love this school and am proud to say I attend it despite what the poor ratings.


Posted April 10, 2011

This is my granddaughter second year and it seems some of the teachers are good,but some of the white teachers are not respectful when speaking to some of the students saying you people,and snatching papers out of the students hand.I feel that if you are only here for a paycheck you should not be teaching find another career.I teach my granddaughter to respect adults and I expect the same from them towards the children. I understand the principal is about to retire,but this issue needs to be dealth with before it becomes a problem to serious to talk about.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2011

This is my sons first year at TMA and I must say I am very impressed the staff are all professional, respectful and extremely helpful....The academic rigor although a bit much at first is very impressive as they are focused on the students collegiate career..You will not find many middle schools as college driven as TMA...Great School! We love it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2009

My son loves this school and I do too. This school has a lot of oppertunities. I am pleased very happy with the staff there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2009

I am a student in Thurgood Marshall Academy. Thurgood Marshall Academy is by far the most excellent school I have attended. Saturday day classes to the Gateway builders program. All the teachers are very welcoming and are always there to help you. Dr.Johnson is just amazing, she is always open ears. The art in Thurgood Marshall Academy is just incredible, I love it. A very good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 7, 2009

I am the parent of a former student of Thurgood Marshall Academy for Learning and Social Change. This school provides an excellent learning environment for students under the instruction of some of the hardest-working teachers that I have had the pleasure to know. The Administrative Staff is great as well. As Principal, Dr. Sandye Poitier-Johnson is outstanding. She cares for and is concerned about her students, while employing a no-nonsense approach regarding their academic achievements and their behavior. From the Security Officers to the Principal, Thurgood Marshall works as a team with their students, never hesitating to assist parents and students (in whatever capacity they can) to solve a problem. After-school assistance is available for students, and ample interesting and fun after-school activities are offered. All-in-all, this is an excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2009

this school is very clean all the teachers behave excellent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2007

great teachers and an excellent learning environment to be in
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 3, 2006

My daughter just graduated from this school, I am happy with the results of her SAT's and her college choice. Her teachers's always helped her with her problems, and stayed after to help her. In this school 90-95% of our students go to college. We are a happy family here. The acedemic programs at the school are above average. My child was in the A.P Chem class and did get college credit for this.Our music/ art teachers have Satueday class and are always willing to help out after school. Parents are always involved in the school,when I visited the school there was always a parent there to greet me. whether in the Lunchroom or in the classroom helping a teacher. The Principal is an asset to the school. She knows every student by name. And is willing to help whenever she can.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
33%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
37%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
38%
Math

The state average for Math was 27% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
5%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
37%
Math

The state average for Math was 27% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
43%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students19%
Female17%
Male22%
African American12%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged24%
Not economically disadvantaged0%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English19%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant19%

Math

All Students15%
Female10%
Male22%
African American14%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged14%
Not economically disadvantaged17%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English15%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant15%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students15%
Female20%
Male5%
African American16%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic8%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged15%
Not economically disadvantaged15%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population17%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English15%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant15%

Math

All Students5%
Female5%
Male5%
African American4%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic8%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged6%
Not economically disadvantaged0%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population6%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English5%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant5%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students18%
Female24%
Male5%
African American19%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged13%
Not economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant18%

Math

All Students11%
Female14%
Male5%
African American12%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged9%
Not economically disadvantaged18%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant11%

Science

All Students46%
Female39%
Male58%
African American44%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
32%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
30%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
16%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
92%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
55%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
60%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
74%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
59%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

33 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
84%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
74%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students53%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African American40%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English53%
Non-migrant53%

Chemistry

All Students32%
Female36%
Male27%
African American31%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged24%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English32%
Non-migrant32%

Earth Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a

English

All Students68%
Female62%
Male73%
African American67%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities73%
General population68%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant68%

Geometry

All Students35%
Female46%
Male23%
African American35%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged29%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English35%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant35%

Global History and Geography

All Students67%
Female66%
Male67%
African American68%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities50%
General population68%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English67%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant67%

Integrated Algebra

All Students57%
Female57%
Male57%
African American57%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities30%
General population60%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant57%

Living Environment

All Students62%
Female61%
Male63%
African American61%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities29%
General population67%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant62%

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Students66%
Female64%
Male69%
African American65%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities46%
General population70%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant66%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "D" for the middle school level. The school received a grade of "B" for the high school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 2 78% 19%
Hispanic 1 21% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 0% 9%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
White 1 0% 48%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 21%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 183%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 39%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 3%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
School leaders can update this information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 597 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.2
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.6
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.1
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.4
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents17333%
Students39770%
Teachers2771%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. SEAN DAVENPORT

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Humanities
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Busses - BX15, BX33, M1, M10, M100, M101, M102, M2, M3, M7. Subways - A, D to 125th St; 2, 3, B, C to 135th St
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

200-214 W 135th St
New York, NY 10030
Phone: (212) 283-8055

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St Aloysius School
New York, NY






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT