Advertisement
Advertisement

West Side Montessori School

Private

 
 

Living in New York

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $799,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,580.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 31, 2013

WSMS is a phenomenal school that has excellent administration, teachers and PA. I love the fact that they fundraise annually for their scholarship program which make it possible for children regardless of their family's economical status to receive great education. The support that a family receives during their time at the school is amazing. I had one child with special needs and one gifted; they both flourished during their time at WSMS. If your child has a need set, you can believe that it will be accommodated in the most supportive and therapeutic way. The Montessori educational philosophy is employed at every turn and shines through during your child's tenure at the school. WSMS exmission process is the best I've ever seen! I'm some what jealous that I didn't have this level of support throughout my educational journey from elementary school to post-graduate. Our two years at WSMS was a wonderful one with both trials and errors but thank goodness it wasn't one that we had to do alone. We will miss everyone at WSMS but never forget the friends we met along the way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2013

Our daughter has attended West Side Montessori School ("WSMS") for two years. We think that WSMS has given so much to our daughter. The program is innovative and dynamic, incorporating the important elements of a Montessori education. Our daughter is now more independent and able to do certain things. The teachers are excellent. They provide customized attention to each child based on his or her needs. The school community is very friendly, with the administration on top of everything that happens and the parents staying involved. We have seen other schools, and we think that WSMS is by far the best school we have ever seen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

I visited the school during my prego times, back in 03. I couldn't wait till my son was born to attend. He know is 5 yrs. old this is is his last year. I loved it the teachers love everything wish it can go to high school even college. Parents help alot in the school. I'll make sure if i have more kids i send every last 1 there. Mimi i love you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2008

Great school, superb teachers and intelligent programs! Although being initially very shy, my child has flourished there both intellectually and spiritually. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2005

Great school, love the staff. Would maybe like the class rooms to be a bit smaller. Great financial aid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2005

WSMS has been a very good school for our son who is in his 2nd year there (4 yr old). They set up classes w/ ages 3 -5 yr olds all in the same class. We thought that was odd but it seems to work. The teachers he had were all excellent. He had 3 teaches for his class of approx. 15 kids. It was very good for his scoial skills as he entered a bit shy in new surroundings and withing the 1st few months was really doing great. We sent him to 2 of the summer programs at WSMS which made his adjustment very easy - I would highly advise that for new students. It is a very proactive school so be prepared to pitch in as a parent. In general I would say your in very good hands with your child at WSMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 52%
Hispanic 12% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 9% 1%
Asian 9% N/A
Two or more races 9% N/A
Black 6% 21%
Asian N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mimi Basso
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS
  • NAEYC
  • NAIS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

309 West 92nd Street
New York, NY 10025
Phone: (212) 662-8000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT