Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Amber Charter School

Charter | K-5 | 443 students

We are best known for rigorous academic program.

 
 

Living in New York

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $505,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,270.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 24 ratings
2011:
Based on 31 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

70 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

Amber Charter school is tops for education. This school has a reputation of being one of the oldest charter schools in NYC and the best at what they do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2013

My son just completed Kindergarten. It is a very nurturing school, teachers are very proactive and respond to any concerns you may have. There are two teachers per classroom and my son gets most of his support. My only major concern would be if your child has an IEP, it might be difficult to receive all the services your child may require such as SETTS. If they receive OT and PT they will need outside services because the school will not be able to accommodate, however they will support you looking for services. The teachers have been a great support, especially Ms. Laurie. They are truly dedicated to education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2013

This is great school. Both of my daughters are currently attending ACS. Classes are very small My daughter is in 5th grade and has 16 children in her class. Most of the teachers in the school have been their since she was in Kindergarden. My 6yr old's 1st grade class has 23 students w/ 2 teachers in class. The school has a great relationship with its parents they make you feel like your apart of a family. They have a Saturday classes for students who struggling academically. I wish they had a lot more extra curricular actives for the children besides Choir, Cheerleading and Basketball.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2013

my son is in kindergarten and i am very satisfied wit h the progress he has made through out the school year. his teachers are great and they have a lot of patience with him as well as other students. keep up the great work. picking this school for my son was a great choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2012

I believe that Amber is a great school for my child. The teachers and caring and administration is readily available.Every member of the staff cares about the well-being of my child. The teachers, security, meals and transportation...etc. If you are lucky enough to win a spot in this school, look no further. You've found home.


Posted November 20, 2012

Amber Charter is a great school. Its small with a family type setting. The children are loved and taken great care of. The academics are great. Your child is tested regularly for growth and placed based on such. I love this school and I am sad that my daughter is leaving next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2012

The staff at Amber School is wonderful. They are always willing to lend a helping hand and listen. The teachers genuinely care about the students and involve parents. Those are key ingredients to a wonderful school network for children's success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2012

My child is in kindergarten and I appreciate that so early on Amber takes a childs education very seriously and the staff treats parents and students alike with the upmost respect. Amber is a great school and I would highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2012

My child has been attending since Kindergarten and he does very well. Excellent communication with teachers and staff members.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2012

I feel that Amber is an excellent chose of school to select for any child to attend. The staff is very caring and the teachers do an excellent job in teaching the children. Im comfortable in sending my child to school every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2012

Amber has been a very good choice for my child, both environmentally and academically. I would advise more parents to choose Amber. It has been an excellent choice of mines and will continue to be so.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2012

This the first year my child is attending Amber, he`s in kindergarten. I thought that he wasn`t going to adapt but he seems to be very happy. I am much more comfortable now knowing that my child is in a successful school and he's also safe. The teachers are very supportive and prepared. I so far only have to say positive things about Amber!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2012

Amber charter is an excellent school.I am very happy that my child has the opportunity to be apart of a school that makes him feel confident and safe. The teachers and staff are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2012

amber is a very good school and im very glade my son is going heir
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2012

Amber Charter School is one of hthe hidden gems in NYC. Nestled in the middle of an East Harlem block, you'll miss it if you walk too fast, and if you did that would be such a shame because you'd be missing out on a whole lot. The environment is loving, warm, friendly and inviting, the true depiction of school being the second home! The staff is open and receptive to any problems and concerns and tries to offer the best solution possible. The unique design of the school is such that it accomodates all levels of students from those with special needs to the advanced. Although I am only a first year parent of a Kindergarten student, I can say that so far I am satisfied, from the teachers (Miss Loraine and Miss Eunice are absolutely, truly without a doubt the greatest on the planet) to the Parent Association. So far, so good! And I can only hope and pray that it cotinues...keep up the good work Amber :-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2012

I am very satisfied with My sons productivity since he started this School. All the teachers and staff are very helpful. Keep up the great work
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2012

It's my son's first year here as a kindergarten student and he has learned so many things in a matter of three months. The teachers are fantastic and always going the extra mile with the children as the staff is helpful and friendly, especially with parents. I'm happy my son is here and look forward to what's ahead as the years go on due to the great staff and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2012

Iam pleased with how the staff is attentive to the needs of the parents and students. Anytime I come in to Amber with an inquiry or concern it is quickly and easily addressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2012

Amber is a great super friendly school for both my daughter and myself.The teachers are very dedicated to the children and make sure no one slips through the cracks. I'am very greatful to have found this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2012

I have two children attending Amber Charter School and I couldn't be happier. I am very happy with the education that my boys receive at Amber. My yongest son is in frist grade...he is reading above grade level. It is great to leave for work and know that your children are safe. I am very please with the security at Amber. I have nothing but good things to say about Amber. Great staff from security to the principal. Teachers and staff are very accessible. There is also a very supportive Parent Association. Join Amber!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
39%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

48 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
12%

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

48 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 2 61% 23%
Black 1 36% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 2% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 1% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
White 2 0% 48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 53%N/A49%
Male 47%N/A51%
Limited English proficient 24%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 261%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 8%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 4%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Arabic languages
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Disney and Points of Light Grow Involved Award (2011)
  • Hispanic Federation Community Service Award (2008)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 317 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.6
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.4
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.0
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.9
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.4
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.4
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.9
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.0
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents28068%
Teachers3793%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MR. VASTHI ACOSTA
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (212) 534-6225

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Swimming
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Swimming

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • Amber Charter School offers a warm nurtuting environment for all students where they are challenged to learn and mature.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

220 E 106th St
New York, NY 10029
Website: Click here
Phone: (212) 534-9667

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Tag Young Scholars
New York, NY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT