Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Manhattan/Hunter Science High School

Public | 9-12 | 452 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

89 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 28, 2009

This school has a lot of after school clubs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 27, 2009

This school has many prodigious teachers. The school is a very safe environment. The hallway is consisted of all glass. Its uniform policy makes the student look very professional. We also have a 0 percent fighting and bullying tolerance.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 26, 2009

Manhattan Hunter Science School has a principal who is an experienced problem-solver and who understands young people today and the complexity of their educational and personal lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2009

the school has a small population so everyone knows everyone like a small town which also means the teachers and counselors can put their attention on any student that needs it. many of the teachers are young and talented. graduation rates are always high.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2009

I love MHSHS, it is my home away from home , the principal is awesome and it is the best school ever!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 24, 2009

MHSHS is awesome. Besides the fact that we have really great teachers that always want to make sure their students are doing the best they can in their calsses, we also fund alot of special events throughout the year ranging from BBQ's, to holiday Festivities such as building edible houses for Christmas, contests, selling snacks and foods to the student body and havign a very active student government that sets up trips for the Seniors. We also have so many clubs going on: Anime club, chess club, book club, Historical film society, Chorus, Wrestling and A basketball and Volleyball team for boys and girls. We also have special opportunities to show off our talents through the school plays, musicals, talent shows, fashion shows and presenting projects. The student body is very close knit and we work together. We also have really fun trips like skiing and camping. This school has a great environment because it always lets you know that maintaining your education and still having time to do other fun things isn't too far of a distance to cross. It's simply just learning how to balance both.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 23, 2009

I love Manhattan Hunter Science because it gives students a great advantage that many other schools in New York City don't. Our high school seniors are able to attend Hunter College to earn college credits before we even start as freshman. MHSHS has great students as well as staff; my teachers are great and I know I have made life long friends there. My school is amazing!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 23, 2009

I love attending manhattan hunter science highschool because I am offered the best possible choices here. My teachers offer help whether I need it or not. My teachers became my companions over the 3- 4 yrs I have attended Manhattan Hunter Science High School.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 23, 2009

MHHS is an excellent school. The teachers are very dedicated to giving the students a great education. It is also very nice learning environment
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

It trains the kids for college from day one. It's a wonderful opportunity and experience for the students. Not all school provide such perks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

It's affiliation with Hunter College is a great opportunity for MHSHS students. It helps its students slowly move into a college based environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

The school is located in a culturally enriched neighborhood. The building is shared with 5 other schools and both teachers and students get along great! It is also a 10-minute bus ride away from it's mentor college: Hunter College, whose facilities are accessible to the H.S. students. But the most important detail is that the teachers are dedicated to the success of each student. The Principal knows all the students and is an extraordinary leader and is respected by everyone. The students are encouraged and prepared for college, not just academically, but with personal touches such as time management and independent research skills. I would highly recommend this school to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

Manhattan Hunter Science High School is one of the best schools I've been to. The school is important because it trains you how to work as a college student in HS and its affiliation with Hunter is terrific. The school has wonderful teachers who liike working with and helping their students excell.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 22, 2009

my daughter goes to this school, I think its a great place for her to learn. The staff is very committed to helping kids, they have a great lunch and after school help program. This school deserve a funding to further their development
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

I love the education and attention my sister gets at the school. She has wanted to learn and keep her grades up to get into a great college and the teachers at the school have motivated her and inspired her to achieve her goal.


Posted September 22, 2009

The student-athletes are awesome! They also gain alot of educational value in the process. I'm glad that they can take AP courses that will translate into college credits!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

I love the teachers! they are really cool, and sweet. Everyone in MHSHS is really nice, and there can be competition :) There are many clubs and you can make one for your own, and there is a college program in senior year which I can't wait for! ;D
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 22, 2009

Best four-years experience of my life a blessing opportunity to have an early college experience, all the classmates and teachers are like a second family really care for each other. The graduation class of 09' all looked out for one another great friends and bonding connection =)


Posted September 22, 2009

I love Manhattan/Hunter Science High School because it has an excellent supportive environment that give it's students what they need to thrive in hight school and beyond!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

We have a 98% college acceptance rate and students are able to attend college their senior year!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 64% in 2012.

64 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
69%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 78% in 2012.

130 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 73% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
English

The state average for English was 82% in 2012.

247 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
97%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2012.

139 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
77%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2012.

145 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
87%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 72% in 2012.

219 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 78% in 2012.

99 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
92%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 79% in 2012.

45 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
50%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

98 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 79% in 2012.

129 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
79%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students50%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a

Chemistry

All Students85%
Students with disabilities33%
General population87%

Earth Science

All Studentsn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a

English

All Students93%
Students with disabilities60%
General population94%

Geometry

All Students82%
Students with disabilities38%
General population85%

Global History and Geography

All Students91%
Students with disabilities40%
General population94%

Integrated Algebra

All Students94%
Students with disabilities86%
General population94%

Living Environment

All Students98%
Students with disabilities80%
General population99%

Physics

All Students62%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population62%

U.S. History and Government

All Students96%
Students with disabilities83%
General population96%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the high school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 42% 23%
Asian 26% 9%
Black 21% 19%
White 10% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 1%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 7%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 43%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
School leaders can update this information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 550 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.7
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.4
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.2
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.2
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.2
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.2
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents13330%
Students39187%
Teachers2693%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:05 am
School end time
  • 2:17 pm
School Leader's name
  • MR. KEVIN FRONER

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Busses - M10, M104, M11, M20, M31, M5, M57, M66, M7, M72. Subways - A, B, C, D to 59th St-Columbus Circle; 1 to 66th St - Lincoln Center; 2, 3 to 72nd St
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Sofbtall
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

122 Amsterdam Ave
New York, NY 10023
Phone: (212) 501-1235

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT