Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

KIPP S.T.A.R. Charter School

Charter | K, 5-11

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in New York

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $535,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,210.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 2, 2013

kipp star changed my lfe I am succedd baecuse my old school ps.57 was horrible I am am greatful I find kippstar it is a really good school good service I do not want to go back to my old school jhaneshua crew loves kjipp star and thank you for education I love you


Posted May 18, 2013

Kippstar is the best ever. My son has really enjoyed his time at kipp. I am very proud to call KIPPSTAR our School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2013

I am a 7th Grade parent who appreciate the leadership at the school from the principal. The teaching method, the way they prepare the students for the state tests and the every day school and life challenges. I will say my child is well prepared, happy to be one of the student at the school. I raise my hat to the principal and the staffs at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2012

KIPP S.T.A.R is a great school. My child is a sixth grader at KIPP and she is receiving a wonderful, challenging education. At first I had reservations about the school due to it being a shared space. However the curriculum and the reading and writing classes have been stellar. My child can correctly annotate, has read over 40 books and has improved her E.L.A score. She has traveled outside of New York and has expanded her sense of responsibility and has taken ownership of her own education. I am pleased with the teachers taking the time to respond and will get back to you with any concerns they or I may have. Parents receive feedback each week in regards to the progress or lack of for each student. They offer options and resources to help students succeed. I am going to be honest to say that some systems may need to be tweaked a little like the petty infractions that some students may receive like not having your pencil in your hand fast enough, relax , choose your battles. For the most part your child will receive an excellent education and build great character and that is what we desire most. YOUR CHILD WILL BE WORLD and COLLEGE READY !! Hard Work Pays Off.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2012

Kipp Star is a great school and I recommend it highly. My daughter has learned a great deal here at KIPP She has been exposed to so many different literary works and has learned how to be responsible and organized. The teachers are very supportive and are accessible. When my child have questions she can call the teacher and they respond very quickly. She has learned that hard work pays off in the end. I am proud to be a parent of a kippster. Supportive teachers and challenging curriculum who can ask for more. KIPP Is Great
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2012

My daughter has been at KIPP STAR since the 5th grade, she is now a 7th grader. Having her become a KIPPster was honestly the best decision I ever made. They work hard but play nice. It is a lot of work, long hours and tons of homework, but it keeps my daughter focused and challenged; and its preparing her for college. Once she got "into" the homework routine, it doesn t take her as long as it did at the beginning and it has helped her master "time management". The school offers lunchtime and after school tutoring which I think it s a great thing, as well as many extracurricular activities for the kids . I think the teachers and staff are wonderful..they always return calls, are always available to talk and are eager to help resolve any concerns that I as a parent have ever had. As a child I remember having that ONE teacher that made a great impact in my life; My daughter found that teacher at KIPP STAR; and while he left STAR to be the principal a KIPP Washington Heights, he is still a big part of my daughter s and my family s life and its constantly in touch with us, to check up on my girl. KIPP STAR is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2012

So disappointed in the decline of this school. Too much homework (see comment below because I agree with it). However, the teachers, kids, and parents are all stressed out. The teachers yell so much in the classrooms. What kind of example are they setting? Teachers are great but they don't work together. One hand doesn't know what the other hand is doing. Principal seems to be oblivious to what is going on at school. Kids up tell wee hours doing homework just to get it done. They are not retaining much but rushing through to get it done and get A LITTLE rest. Parents are frustrated and kids are frustrated. My kid won't be here next year. I am pulling him out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2011

My 7th grade granddaughter has attended KIPP STAR since 5th grade, and she loves it. She has had only one teacher in that time who was less able than we would hope, but even he wasn't disastrous. (And others have been good enough to make up for him!) She enjoys the many wonderful opportunities KIPP STAR offers beyond the school day as well as the excellent quality of the classroom experience. The school does, indeed, give too much homework. The problem is that the children can then only focus on getting it done; they do not have time to dwell on it, do a really good job, and reflect on what it can teach them. I do hope improvement will be made in that area, but I wouldn't suggest changing much else!


Posted October 25, 2011

I too am a parent of two kids at Kipp Star. I love this school and so do my kids. They are challenged and still have fun. The teachers are great and so is the staff and administration. I do agree that the students get a lot of homework but the administration is looking into it and they are always willing to listen to parents. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

I rate the school a 5, it is an excellent school, has the best teachers, and a host of extracurriculum activities. I wish that all schools were this focus on academics, and family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2006

I attend this school right now I have the three As and one B I have attended this school sense it opened I have been doing well. If you are not prepared to work from 7:25 - 5:00 you might not want to go here. There is a twist with this school though the whole time they are teaching you, you are having fun. For example we have chants to help up learn things and remember. They also challenge you so you wouldn't be board with easy work.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 27, 2006

I am very happy with this school. Both the teachers and leadership are committed to the sucess of all the children and do an excellent job in making the children want to suceed. I wish the school ran from PK-12!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
34%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
13%

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
34%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

73 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
22%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
42%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

73 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
23%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
n/a
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
52%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
56%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
100%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
76%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
77%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
90%
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
n/a
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

13 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students74%
Female89%
Male57%
African American69%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English74%
Non-migrant74%

Chemistry

All Students56%
Female67%
Male48%
African American55%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population61%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant56%

Earth Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a

English

All Students92%
Female86%
Male96%
African American93%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic89%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilities64%
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%

Geometry

All Students82%
Female80%
Male84%
African American82%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population81%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%

Global History and Geography

All Students81%
Female77%
Male84%
African American85%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities61%
General population87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%

Integrated Algebra

All Students90%
Female88%
Male93%
African American92%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities67%
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%

Living Environment

All Students88%
Female86%
Male90%
African American89%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic84%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities78%
General population90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%

Physics

All Students39%
Female33%
Male50%
African American35%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English39%
Non-migrant39%

U.S. History and Government

All Students89%
Female94%
Male83%
African American86%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic93%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 2 60% 19%
Hispanic 2 37% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 1% 9%
White 2 1% 48%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 27%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 279%N/A43%
Female 149%N/A49%
Male 151%N/A51%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 18%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 13%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 416 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.9
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.9
 

Students

This school

 
6.6
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.1
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.0
 

Students

This school

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.1
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.7
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.7
 

Students

This school

 
6.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.1
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.3
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.8
 

Students

This school

 
7.6
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.6
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents22948%
Students16781%
Teachers2065%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. STACY JOHNSON
Fax number
  • (212) 666-4723

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

433 W 123rd St
4th Fl
New York, NY 10027
Website: Click here
Phone: (212) 991-2650

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ps 125 Ralph Bunche
New York, NY



Ps 180 Hugo Newman
New York, NY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT