Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Neighborhood School

Public | PK-5 | 315 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 11 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 7, 2014

The Neighborhood School is a dream elementary school experience. The community and culture is warm and focused on the children above all else. There is equal emphasis on academics as there is on raising socially aware and concientious human beings. I wish there was more music and art focus but Spanish is a huge plus and the all-school/family Sing! every month is a wonderful experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2014

We are so grateful to have found The Neighborhood School, as our family has benefited tremendously from the collective wisdom of the adults there. Both of our children have had committed teachers who have created rich, challenging and engaging curricula. Given the singularity of the DOE's focus--test, test, test--this commitment on the part of the teachers and leadership at TNS is particularly admirable. The social studies curriculum is the focus of learning each year, and has totally engaged my kids (and impressed their parents). My 4th grade daughter is right now up past her bedtime listening to a podcast by a medical historian about midwives in Colonial Williamsburg, at her own insistence. This intense engagement with their school work is typical. This is good teaching! The literacy curriculum at TNS is rich and involves reading and discussing novels, poems, and non-fiction. The math curriculum has shifted this year to align with Common Core and the teachers are working hard to adapt it to improve its delivery. The "special" teachers in science, Spanish, and gym, and our librarian and art teachers also deserve special mention for their all-round excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2014

I love the Neighborhood School because the academics are rigorous, creative, and fun. Very hands-on, very progressive. The community is very diverse (much more so than that of the rest of the city's schools) and very inclusive--it has become a big part of our lives, in a great way. My two children learned to love learning there and have carried that with them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

I love this school's progressive philosophy that stresses collaboration, citizenship, teamwork and kindness. It's not just lip service, the way it is at many other schools -- it's woven into the fabric of the way the kids are taught. I have a graduate and a 4th grader, and we've been blessed with devoted, spectacular teachers (only one lousy one, who is no longer at the school). My kids are very different learners, and TNS has been great for both of them. I feel that their teachers really GOT them. I think the school does individualized learning really well. I'm very optimistic about the new principal, who seems totally competent and savvy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

No school is - or can be - perfect but I highly recommend this school. I read the below negative reviews but I currently have two kids in the school and another who graduated, including a child with an IEP, so I can speak from years of experience with multiple teachers and three principals. Except for one bad year (and the co-teachers are no longer in the school), our experience has been very positive. I find the teachers to be supportive and responsive. Of course, there have been times when I was unhappy about something but my issues were responded to and addressed. The community is socio-economically and ethnically diverse. The parent community is warm and welcoming. Each classroom is also set up to be warm and welcoming. Student work is displayed in the hallways and in the classrooms. I want my children to develop a love of learning, to be curious about their world, to be good thinkers and be confident. I think The Neighborhood School is doing that AND providing a great academic foundation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

TNS is a great school! mixed-age classes (just like in private schools). True model of progressive education and is supportive of the varied families - from the diversity in the student body, to the diversity felt in how people tend to view education and even testing. Our leadership supports the families that want to test their kids and equally supports families that decide to opt out of state tests. Kids don't learn by rote memorization - they learn by project work. New principal is looking to bring more technology into all grades - communicates well/frequently, open to ideas. Plusses: Spanish 3x/week, gym 3x/week, science program. Parents are welcome. There's community-oriented environment; teachers don't merely drums facts into kids' heads. Minuses: construction = no playground this yr. School purchased Imagination playground equipment to compensate. Fundraising is key and PTA is strong. Looking for an environment focused on the "whole" child and want your child to develop a love of learning, critical reasoning skills, and be challenged by their own set of standards vs what some other governing body is telling you your child should be measured up against? Choose TNS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

My family is very happy at The Neighborhood school. My daughter continues to thrive and loves to go to school every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

It's definitely a "progressive" school. If your primary concern is your kid's academic achievement, then The Neighborhood School is not it. The emphasis is on holistic/broader development of skills (not just measurable skills) including social skills, emotional intelligence, and communication skills. And, it does a great job for that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

The Neighborhood School is truly embracing of the individuality of each child, they support, nurture, encourage each child in a way that makes them want to be engaged, to participate, to learn and grow. Children are active participants in their learning and each activity, no matter how big or small offers a new teaching moment. Learning is active, rich, deep and interesting and while the school is not formal in nature, the school days are structured: each day starts with a meeting where the schedule for the day is discussed. Students work at group tables to encourage group activities, the mixed aged (bridge) classes allow the older children in the classroom to 'mentor' the younger grade children. The bridge classes also eases the 'ramp up' during the beginning of the school year, as the teacher already knows half the students in the class. This year a new Principal has been a dynamic presence in the school. We only hope we will be this lucky in our Middle School selection.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

In an era when schools are "more segregated than ever" and according to the NY Times the biggest gaps in learning aren't based on economics, but on gender, I'm happy to report that the Neighborhood School is an inclusive, integrated and very diverse school that treats its girls as equally as its boys.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

The neighborhood school is a joke of a school, from the very questionable leadership, the toxic asbestos removal work that will last years and whom parents were notified only late september, to the non-existing support for kids who need help of any kind. I terribly regret putting my daughter in this school and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. Oh and they keep asking you money for fundraising, which for a school like that, is just a joke......
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2013

do not go to this school-no one tells the truth here-it is about to undergo years of toxic construction-the leadership is questionable-
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2013

Neighborhood School is an excellent choice for District 1. The teachers really care about the students and kids love to learn here. There is a new principal this year that seems dynamic and interested in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2011

I am pleasantly surprise! We had a few bad experiences in The Neighborhood School which is in the same building. The worst was when my 5 year old son had an asthma attack at The Neighborhood School and the nurse had called me to pick him up. When I arrived at the school in less than an hour time; he was removed from the nurse office by a staff. I found him lying on the bare floor in the main office which was crowded with kids and adults. When I spoke to the secretary that was in the room at the time, she stated that she offered him her scarf but he refused. I consider that environment unsafe. Losing hope in public school system; I enroll him in private school which closed after a few years. A friend recommended P.S. 63; I was definitely unsure about enrolling him but I am glad I did. In a year my son has blossom so much. P.S. 63 academics is very similar to the private school my son went to. I found the teachers and principle to be kind and informative. They always make an effect to reach out to the parents.. They also have the boys project which my son looks forward to every Wednesday. My son is the most precious gift I received. We finally found a home at P.S.63!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2011

This schools is for kids who don't need any support and can lead their own learning. My child rarely learned necessary concepts in math, science and social studies because they were busy doing projects that were not as meaningfuil. If you go look in any of the classrooms they are messy and display little teaching or learning. In addition because of this "free" environment and style, there are no behavior expectations. I am constantly run over by kids running down the hall. So if your child can basically learn on their own and don't need quality teaching, then yes this is a great school. If your child needs a little more help like most kids or you value teaching, then the Neighborhood School is not a good fit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2011

Definitly steer clear of this school. It is not what it seems. The principal is clearly inexperienced and the classrooms lack teachers who are inexperienced. The so called paras are a joke. Especially during lunch duty. Numerous incidents with safety in the yard. Well over 75-100 students in the yard. This school also lacks using inproper testing to measure a childs intelligence. Classrooms lack color, material and childrens work. Enrichment classes are soooo lame. No challenges for children to experience. Both schools are in constant battle, and you can cut the tension between the two with a saw. RUN RUN RUN STEER CLEAR OF THIS SCHOOL>
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2011

This school is the worst school in america - think twice before putting your kids in here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

I love this school...my son loves his teacher and the staff. The staff is supportive and encouraging. They truly help the children develop a love for learning. It's a wonderful school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

We feel very lucky to have our two children at the Neighborhood School. The teachers and staff are all so caring, experienced, intelligent and dedicated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

It's a dream school: a small progressive public school that really cares about the whole child!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

27 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

24 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

20 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

20 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

28 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

29 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 40% 48%
Hispanic 2 29% 23%
Black 1 18% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 13% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 1% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 23%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 241%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 65%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 181 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.3
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents15862%
Teachers2396%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. MILO NOVELO

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

121 E 3rd St
New York, NY 10009
Website: Click here
Phone: (212) 387-0195

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Ps 20 Anna Silver
New York, NY




Ps 64 Robert Simon
New York, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT