Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Neighborhood School

Public | PK-5 | 296 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 12, 2013

do not go to this school-no one tells the truth here-it is about to undergo years of toxic construction-the leadership is questionable-
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2013

Neighborhood School is an excellent choice for District 1. The teachers really care about the students and kids love to learn here. There is a new principal this year that seems dynamic and interested in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2011

I am pleasantly surprise! We had a few bad experiences in The Neighborhood School which is in the same building. The worst was when my 5 year old son had an asthma attack at The Neighborhood School and the nurse had called me to pick him up. When I arrived at the school in less than an hour time; he was removed from the nurse office by a staff. I found him lying on the bare floor in the main office which was crowded with kids and adults. When I spoke to the secretary that was in the room at the time, she stated that she offered him her scarf but he refused. I consider that environment unsafe. Losing hope in public school system; I enroll him in private school which closed after a few years. A friend recommended P.S. 63; I was definitely unsure about enrolling him but I am glad I did. In a year my son has blossom so much. P.S. 63 academics is very similar to the private school my son went to. I found the teachers and principle to be kind and informative. They always make an effect to reach out to the parents.. They also have the boys project which my son looks forward to every Wednesday. My son is the most precious gift I received. We finally found a home at P.S.63!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2011

This schools is for kids who don't need any support and can lead their own learning. My child rarely learned necessary concepts in math, science and social studies because they were busy doing projects that were not as meaningfuil. If you go look in any of the classrooms they are messy and display little teaching or learning. In addition because of this "free" environment and style, there are no behavior expectations. I am constantly run over by kids running down the hall. So if your child can basically learn on their own and don't need quality teaching, then yes this is a great school. If your child needs a little more help like most kids or you value teaching, then the Neighborhood School is not a good fit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2011

For my kids, the mixed-age classrooms, emphasis on community and citizenship, and whole-child approach that values rich learning over standardized tests and textbooks has been a gift and a joy. My older child has studied -- in an in-depth, multifaceted way -- Greek mythology (how many 7-year-olds have studied The Iliad?), the physiology of trout (her 1st-2nd grade class raised them), the architecture of our city, the history of American immigration. My younger child has studied A Midsummer Night's Dream (in 1st grade!), written plays, learned math through graphing and grouping, and is thriving in a relaxed, loving, low-pressure environment. Every school has its challenging students, but I feel confident that TNS takes character and bullying seriously. Some parents have issues with mixed-age classrooms and classes mixing special ed and general ed students. I don't. Finally, I love that TNS still reflects the diversity of our neighborhood. I hope it will continue to maintain its wonderful mix of families and cultures as the East Village continues to gentrify. And I hope families that SHARE the school's values and let's-all-pitch-in ethos will apply!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2011

Definitly steer clear of this school. It is not what it seems. The principal is clearly inexperienced and the classrooms lack teachers who are inexperienced. The so called paras are a joke. Especially during lunch duty. Numerous incidents with safety in the yard. Well over 75-100 students in the yard. This school also lacks using inproper testing to measure a childs intelligence. Classrooms lack color, material and childrens work. Enrichment classes are soooo lame. No challenges for children to experience. Both schools are in constant battle, and you can cut the tension between the two with a saw. RUN RUN RUN STEER CLEAR OF THIS SCHOOL>
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2011

This school is the worst school in america - think twice before putting your kids in here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

I love this school...my son loves his teacher and the staff. The staff is supportive and encouraging. They truly help the children develop a love for learning. It's a wonderful school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

We feel very lucky to have our two children at the Neighborhood School. The teachers and staff are all so caring, experienced, intelligent and dedicated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

It's a dream school: a small progressive public school that really cares about the whole child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

The Neighborhood School is a diverse community of caring parents and educators who believe in the whole child in education. Parental involvement is encouraged and parents play an active role in enrichment on a volunteer basis, sharing their talents. Kids are encouraged with love, patience and kindness. Questions and thinking are a priority, and the kids feel free to express their ideas and are never afraid to explore. We are a warm community of learners together, kids, parents and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

There are a core of teachers, who have been at TNS for 10+ years, who have taken it upon themselves to stand true to the original mission of the school. While it is true that the entire faculty and all the children and families work to make this a solid school, this particular core deserve every bit of praise they receive. They are, without a doubt, the blood line of TNS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

I love the school and the faculty. They have made my daughter and myself feel like family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

It's more than a school, it is a community of caring families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

The curriculum is top-notch: rigorous and ambitious in its thinking, engaging to the children, showing a great balance between the spreading of content knowledge and granting opportunities for thinking/creating processes to take hold in children. Both are valued and developed here, which gives kids what they need in order to think and discover for themselves. The teachers are great facilitators. Kids learn how to learn everything from Spanish to claymation to photography to life cycles to New York history. The classrooms, science room, and the library breathe learning. Bravo!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

Great teachers who help children thrive and learn in a creative and supportive environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2010

The parent body, students, and most of the teachers are amazing. The principal is out of touch and has his own agenda, but does his best to put on a good show. Many families that are learning English as their non native language struggle to keep up, as the academics can be week to non existent. Children rely heavily on outside help from their parents and community, unless their teacher really stands their own ground and teaches in their own way, outside of the non existent curriculum. If you don't have one of those teachers you're out of luck. There are a lot of issues , but on the bright there is an amazing parent body and PTA and lots of potential and greatness in some of the previously hired shining star teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2009

This is the best School. Great learning evviornment. Very diverse and full of wonderful arts programs. They even have a program with 3rd street Music School that offers 2 years of Music lessons! The strong perental envolvment helps alot
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2009

Great school...good diversity, parent involvement and the staff is wonderful. Sadly my son won't be attending next year due to us moving. Each child is welcomed here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2008

My son completed a great first year of Kindergarten and is now happily moving on to 1st grade this fall. Although I immediately liked the vibe, creativity, sense of community and diversity in the school, I was a little concerned about the academics. Mainly I worried because other parents commented often about the hour of homework their kid s got each night in TAG programs and NEST (Neighborhood has none!). Last summer I had gone with my gut and turned down a last minute TAG spot for him and I must say, I am thankful that he did not have an hour of homework each night! He s only 5.5 and he still has lots of playing to do, and it seems like he s learning a lot along the way in an integrated way, not just memorizing and repeating. He s really thinking for himself, reading and constantly discussing and practicing math amongst other things. We are really excited about this school, but I do feel like it could be a bit more organized behind the scenes. The good news is this year many new parents (and old ones) are rallying to get more focused, bring in more funds and take it up a notch so the school will have even more resources to support it s big beautiful heart and soul.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 88% in 2011.

43 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 40% 48%
Hispanic 29% 23%
Black 18% 19%
Asian 13% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 41%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 65%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 181 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.3
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents15862%
Teachers2396%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. MILO NOVELO

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

121 E 3rd St
New York, NY 10009
Website: Click here
Phone: (212) 387-0195

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



P.S. 20 Anna Silver
New York, NY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT