Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bard High School Early College

Public | 9-12 | 617 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

109 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 20, 2009

Great teachers and atmosphere. There's something for everyone in the available courses, and the classes leave you with an understanding that will stay with you for a while. The only thing that ever holds it back is the lack of money, which is why this would be perfect!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2009

BHSEC is a wonderful school with inspired teachers who provide engaging courses. Budget cuts have limited our ability to have all of the classes we want. Winning this money would allow us to have teachers teaching what they're interested in to students who love to learn.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2009

BHSEC is made of teachers who change lives, a huge range of classes and a loving environment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2009

my school is thee best. we start out with a week to write and think-- no classes!! bhsec rocks.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2009

Because it challenges me to examine what we are given and to question it. the teachers are masters of their subjects, and their love is passed onto us. they honestly care about each and everyone of us. there is no place like BHSEC. I have been taught to think.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

I love Bard because we are given intellectual freedom and creativity to express our ideas and to share our experiences with others who are also passionate about learning and discovering! The emphasis on a true liberal arts education is one reason why BHSEC is one of the best schools and I'm proud to say I attend Bard. I'll leave Bard knowing that it has played a tremendous role in building my education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2009

BHSEC is a community filled with students who want to think and teachers who treat us with a great deal of respect. The community has a great dynamic and is filled with people who truly enjoy being here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

I love BHSEC because the students there aren't interested in education for the grades - neither do they learn for learning's sake. Rather, the students learn because they want to apply it later on in life - they want to make a difference in the world
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2009

Advanced learning, fantastic teacher. A model school in structure and purpose.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2009

The only school where the students and faculty are truly unique.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

BHSEC is so amazing that President Obama highlighted it in his recent speech to the NAACP saying that we have to create and support more schools like this one. It celebrates intellectual exploration through a rigorous, non-formulaic liberal arts curriculum in a diverse, inner-city environment. The students are such interesting people. BHSEC is extraordinary, a gift to our city.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

At BHSEC, the teachers are incredibly supportive and in a lot of their spare time to individually tutor students. There's a great atmosphere in the classrooms--small class sizes and discussions. When you graduate, you earn an Associates Degree--for free! Students can chose to transfer into another two year college after BHSEC to earn a full four-year degree, which basically gives public school students two free years of college.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2009

Obviously, all good schools are going to have smart students but at Bard High School Early College, everyone seems to have invigorating ideas in the classroom as well as being amazing people in general. We're not just a school about working hard to get good grades, but rather thinking through ideas and getting to the conclusion, which is, for many, much more satisfying and useful than getting an A
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2009

I love Bard High School Early College because it's one place where you can be creative and not have to take any flack about it! Everyone is their own spirit and it's always respected. I'm so in love with it already, and i haven't been attending for that long. Something else that is great is that we all are able to have thoughtful discussions, adequate debates and writing for days. It's amazing, plain and simple
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

BHSEC is a great school. The students, staff, and parents all contribute to the BHSEC environment which allows progress and learning to come easily.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2009

Five stars! Excellent, par none. Excellent reputation known for Innovative programs. Caring teachers who provide the students with the tools to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

Bard has provided me with so much. I have all that I need to go to 'real' college.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2009

I love it because i think it has the best academic program. and is vert diverse
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

This school doesn't indoctrinate- it educates. It teaches without forcing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

This is one of the few high schools that give you the opportunity to graduate with not only a high school diploma but also an A.A degree. Did I mention that Obama used our school as an in example in his speech. 'We should also explore innovative approaches being pursued here in NewYork City; innovations like Bard High School Early College and Medgar Evers College Preparatory School that are challenging students to complete high school and earn a free associate's degree or college credit in just four years.' You meet such a diverse group of people here and the experience last for a lifetime. This is truly my second home. Where would I be without my precious Bard! After graduating it would be nearly impossible for each and every student not to go far.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 64% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 78% in 2012.

186 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
63%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 73% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
English

The state average for English was 82% in 2012.

158 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2012.

176 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
89%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 72% in 2012.

80 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 78% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
100%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 79% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 79% in 2012.

186 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
92%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Studentsn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a

Chemistry

All Students89%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a

Earth Science

All Studentsn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a

English

All Students98%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a

Global History and Geography

All Students98%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a

Integrated Algebra

All Students99%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a

Living Environment

All Studentsn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Students86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the high school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 48%
Hispanic 18% 23%
Asian 16% 9%
Black 16% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 0%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 23%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 73%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

525 E Houston St
New York, NY 10002
Website: Click here
Phone: (212) 995-8479

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT