Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pace High School

Public | 9-12 | 414 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 22, 2013

My son graduated from Pace in 2012 and is now in his 2nd year of college and doing very well. He has kept the communication going with his old teachers at Pace and visits the school everytine he comes home from college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2013

Im interesting in learning more about the school progress report. so that way i can decided which school is best for my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2010

I am a parent of a senior at this school. Ms son loves this school! The staff and safety agents in the building are so respectful and genuinely caring. This was our first choice school and we are so pleased to have had such an awesome opportunity to see our child grow into an young adult. We will surely miss PACE and all that it offers !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2010

I've met some of the most dedicated, nicest, caring teachers here. I realized how much I miss PACE now that I've graduated. I'm currently attending an prestigious liberal arts college.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 5, 2009

It's the place where teacher and student create a bond that is beyond verbal description. We learn and grow from the years that we've spent together and those are the years that made my high school experience much more than just passing the regents and getting into suitable college. Teachers are devoted to help their student to become not only a better learner, but one who will never fail to thrive for their goals. The four years that I've spent in those halls and classrooms cannot simply be denoted as struggles but a rite of passage for many teenagers. Everyday, I felt loved and cared for. I know this school will never let me down, education wise and specially as a growing young adult. There are just endless words that I can use to describe my thankfulness for Pace but bottom line is, it's my favorite school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2009

The teachers genuinely care about me, I really love going to class every day because my teachers gave me a new inspiration to learn. Plus, my fellow students were so intelligent, and so spirited that out of class had the same impact on me. Overall, my time at Pace High School has been filled with great friends, higher learning, and most importantly, character building.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2009

It provides that one on one attention that most New York City schools do not give and WOW! What an amazing staff and principal! There was education beyond the classroom and so many life lessons are taught by the good people of the school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 15, 2009

The teachers at Pace are some of the most committed teachers I have known. They work to engage their students in all aspects of their educations.


Posted November 3, 2007

im a freashmen at pace, and i think this school is fair enough. Almost all of the students know each other and help each other. Also there is not really a Clique situation. You can be and hang out with anybody you want to. Also as a freashmen i feel welcomed and happy that i got into a school that is the second best in Nyc, the first being Stuyvesant.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 15, 2007

My child began attending Pace HS when the school was only in its 2nd year of operation. At first, it lacked resources to give the extra classes, curricular activities or other educational support which some students required. They still need to incorporate more music, arts and sports program to make their school well rounded. The following year, the school had more to offer and excelled in making sure each student is prepared early to take all regents. Each child is encouraged to do their personal best without being labeled as the smart or challenged students. The teachers work hard to bring out the best in each child. The principal is kind and knows each child by name and is a great example of a leader. Pace really tries to bring out the best in the students by giving them the encouragement and confidence they need to go forward in their career
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 64% in 2012.

83 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
10%

2011

 
 
11%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 78% in 2012.

55 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
23%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 73% in 2012.

85 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
53%
English

The state average for English was 82% in 2012.

110 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2012.

127 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
51%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2012.

164 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
54%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 72% in 2012.

168 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
65%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 78% in 2012.

127 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
87%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 79% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

99 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
79%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 79% in 2012.

113 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
85%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students10%
Students with disabilities0%
General population12%

Chemistry

All Students26%
Students with disabilities0%
General population29%

Earth Science

All Students76%
Students with disabilities57%
General population79%

English

All Students95%
Students with disabilities91%
General population96%

Geometry

All Students38%
Students with disabilities7%
General population42%

Global History and Geography

All Students75%
Students with disabilities56%
General population78%

Integrated Algebra

All Students59%
Students with disabilities41%
General population62%

Living Environment

All Students83%
Students with disabilities71%
General population84%

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Students94%
Students with disabilities92%
General population94%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the high school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 42% 23%
Black 32% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 12% 1%
Asian 10% 9%
White 4% 48%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 2%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 70%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 8%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 48%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
School leaders can update this information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 788 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.4
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.7
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.4
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.1
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents34483%
Students416100%
Teachers28100%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. YVETTE SY

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Humanities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Busses - M103, M14AD, M15, M22, M5, M9. Subways - J, Z to Bowery; 6, N, Q, R to Canal St; M to Delancey St-Essex St; F to East Broadway; B, D to Grand St
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Soccer.
  • Swimming.
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Soccer
  • Sofbtall
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • Volleyball
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

100 Hester St
New York, NY 10002
Phone: (212) 334-4663

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT