Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mott Hall Ii

Public | 6-8 | 317 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 3, 2014

My daughter is finishing 6th grade at MHII. What a great year! Everyday when we turn up W109th St, she says the same thing she's been saying since September: "I love my school!" She's having fun while learning excellent study habits, and how to think critically, and work collaboratively. The kids are developing their intellects while engaging socially (important for middle schoolers). The faculty and staff are attentive, responsive and care very much about the students. I highly recommend MHII for the best middle school experience in NYC.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

My son just started this school and he is thrilled! I love that the work is challenging but not overwhelming. The staff is super friendly and it feels like family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2013

I am currently in the 8th grade from all of my years here i have had the best time anyone could have. the teachers challenge you just enough so you are always at the same page as the other kids and the teachers just show enthusiasm from day 1 i would highly recommend this school


Posted June 18, 2013

I went on tours for several Middle Schools in Manhattan. After visiting Mott Hall 2 , I knew this was the school for my daughter. The curriculum is challenging yet fun. The teachers and administrstion truly care about the children. My daughter's first year has been amazing. All the kids get along well. And very important as well fantastic families!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2013

My daughter's first year at Mott Hall II has been outstanding! She loves her school, her classes, and her the teachers. The work is challenging but the students are given the tools to succeed. I couldn't be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2013

This school is one of the best. My child used to go to this school and now she's in Harvard. This school also makes childrens future bright. Unlike other schools, the teachers love and help these students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2011

i just graduated from this school and it was probably the best experience i could have ever had in middle school. i love the principal and most of the teachers, they are all so kind and loving.


Posted November 18, 2010

This is one of the sweet little secrets of the Upper West Side. It's a loving, caring school community; project-based learning which teaches the kids to work together; teachers who practically tailor the lessons for the children and yet don't coddle them; the principal herself is gentle and clear and guides children directly in one-on-one sessions. For some reason it's still overlooked by most New York parents. The school humanely and gently produces excellent intellectual responses in their kids. The school also takes in kids with learning disabilities and brings out their best performances (self-contained and CTT/ICT). From Day 1, they teach the kids life skills, such as the kids conduct their own assessments each quarter, so that by the end of their time there, they are ready to confidently handle the high school interview process--and of course interviews later in life. Kids go from this school into some of the best high schools, depending on their personal performance. They have a history of working with children who have dealt with personal difficulty and have helped them find their footing again. A remarkable school. Run do not walk to send your child here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2009

My daughter is graduating from Mott Hall II in 2010. Not only do I love the school but my daughter does as well. She has learned so much. The teachers are wonderful. They treat the children with alot of respect. The teachers, principal and staff are very dedicated and hardworking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2009

MH2 is amazing, & the staff is always there for you. You are always pushed to do better and it helps knowing how much they care about you & your future. Ms.gorman is an excellent guide, she only tries to help even if its about your personal life, shes there, as well as Ms.De los santos , Mr.Lowe, & basically the whole staff. The work is just the right amount, and don't get me wrong - the school is tons of fun, especially in 8th grade, so stick it out, because you will love this school a lot, just like I do!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 27, 2009

Fantastic school; outstanding students, and awesome teachers. Beautiful atmosphere for all of us who work there. Enjoyable - every single moment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

Although the teacher quality and experience with project-based learning can vary, I've seen tremendous growth in my daughter. Unlike many middle schools, they pay close attention to the social/emotional development of their students during the critical middle school years. Ms. De Los Santos is accessible and has a clear vision for the school. She's a true leader and it shows. My only real complaint would be that some teachers don't post their assignments on the website with consistency. But most will answer emails in a timely fashion. It's small with a college focus. Love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2009

The school is excellent everytime my child goes there she always coes home with a smile
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2009

my daughter is so happy here. the teacher's are amazing and help you through everything. they even go out of their way to make sure you succeed ! my daughter is so lucky to be in this fantastic school. five stars !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2008

i just graduated from mott hall II in 2008 and i miss it so much. the teachers are amazing. they actually care about you not only just about school, but they will go out of their way to help you with personal problems too. the faculty over my three years of mott hall II became somewhat apart of my family. i trusted my advisor with any problems i had, and Ms.Gorman was the absolute best when you're searching for a high school. I'm in high school now and she still helps me to transfer out of it. The workload isn't that much once you get used to it. they give alot of projects but they're usually very intresting. mott hall II is an amazing school and anyone that gets accepted there will experience some of the best years of their lives when they walk up those 4 flights of stairs everyday.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 1, 2008

I really love this school. Everything is so friendly and safe. The teachers and staff are nice and you meet new friends. I am a sixth grader and I have been here for only two months and I really love it. The homework are fun the teachers are nice and you get to eat snacks. Even you get to talk more than in fifth grade. I just got to say anybody who gets excepted will be very satisfy with the school and apply right away. Also you will take the test and study hard. If you get excepted don't be sad be over excited(but if your friends is not going to with you don't be sad you will make new best friends).
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 13, 2008

I am love this school and I will start crying when i have to graduate. Everything is so welcoming and friendly.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 10, 2008

Omgee.im actually an 8th grader at mott hall right now. im going to graduate in 2009. well i have so much to say about this school. this school is so good i actually mean this because the teahcers are so nice , the staff are also nice. the school is safe and friendly. the classes that you find boring will be the classes you will find interesting and so fun. the homework that they give is actually fun. they have so many afterschool programs that are fun and interesting like omg. the school.students& envoirnment is so cool and safe. you will get along with every. what im trying to say is this school is awsome. like im a student in mott hall II and its my last year to be here :( i actually feel sad to leave because im going to miss everyone.they have so many programs that help you more.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 22, 2008

I agree with all of the parents who wrote such great reviews. I actually attended Mott Hall II a couple of years ago. I attended this school half way into the 6th grade, when I arrived, I was in a nurturing, caring environment. Thanks to Ms. Moss, Maria, and Ms. D, all the people who attend and who have attended Mott Hall II have been challenged, have excelled. As the Mott Hall II motto goes: 'Today's scholars, tomorrow's leaders.' This motto stands true to what Mott Hall II is about. Anyone planning to attend Mott Hall II, you will have a great experience which will last for a lifetime, ultimately, you will feel as if you were one big family. Mott Hall II has received several awards for their great teachers and students. Mott Hall II has teachers who a truly dedicated in what they teach.


Posted March 12, 2008

i love this school! it is great for kids and learning!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 27% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 27% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students31%
Female38%
Male22%
African American29%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic21%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Not economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities17%
General population33%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant31%

Math

All Students50%
Female52%
Male47%
African American57%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic37%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities8%
General population55%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students51%
Female58%
Male43%
African American41%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities20%
General population54%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant51%

Math

All Students58%
Female54%
Male62%
African American41%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities40%
General population59%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students32%
Female32%
Male31%
African American23%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White35%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Not economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population34%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant32%

Math

All Students41%
Female43%
Male40%
African American32%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White41%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population44%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant41%

Science

All Students85%
Female85%
Male86%
African American83%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 1 47% 23%
Black 2 28% 19%
White 2 19% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 6% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 1% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 12%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 168%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 5%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 30%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 611 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.3
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.9
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.3
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents27387%
Students32398%
Teachers1568%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. ANA TORNATORE

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

234 W 109th St
New York, NY 10025
Website: Click here
Phone: (212) 678-2960

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Ascension School
New York, NY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT