Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Harlem Children S Zone Promise Academy Ii Charter

Charter | K-7 | 551 students

 
 

Living in New York

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $496,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,270.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 22, 2013

I see several negative reviews about PA II which prompted me to write my review. In my opinion, PA II is a very good school. I have twins who attend PA II - they are in the 5th grade and have been here since Kindergarten. Are there problems? Yes - but at most schools, there are problems. But on a scale of 1 - 10, I rate PA II as a high 8. Both my kids have done well academically each year. Almost all their teachers have been very good - they have been tough but approachable. Does the school emphasize tests ...yes and sometimes I think, too much. But tell me what schools in NY don't? And while there is a heavy emphasis on those state tests - they are learning and not merely memorizing. How do I know this - because they both have a love of learning and like going to school. Also, both my kids are involved in non-academic activties at the school - both during the day and in afterschool - and enjoy them. I am not saying that this school is the best for all kids - as a parent, you know your child and so this may not be the best school for your child ...but I give it high marks. My kids have been doing well here for 6 years. And more importantly, they like PA II.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2013

when this school first opened it was the best thing to hit Harlem so I thought. My son has been attending this school since he was 4 years old and he is now 7. Upon arriving to P.A 2 there has been nothing but prejudices against students and parents whom advocate for there children. The lack of communication the teachers and the Principal has with the parents is POOR! This school in my opinion is falling through the cracks due to hiring of teacher aids whom have absolutely no credentials to educate our children what they need to do is send them to take an anger management classes. I strongly advise parents not to send nor even consider sending there child to this school. There principal Ms.Sheryl Ra gland is absolutely unprofessional and extremely Ghetto and bias.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2011

My child is a former student of this school and I am so glad with my choice of terminating ties with the school. The prinicipal is so out of touch with parents. She punishes the parents who show involvement in the development and growth of their children. The turnover rate with faculty is unbelievable. They tout a reputation of caring and experienced but this is the farthest thing from the truth. They teach these children to "TEST" only. There is a broad area of learning which is lacking. Don't send your child hear for a quality education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

I am a parent at this school Parent involvement is very bad at the school and not enough arts and social programs to give a well rounded education. But parent involvement is the key.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

Once again, Harlem rises to the occassion. I support everything that this school stands for. I have been a proud parent since DAY 1. 2005
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2010

My son attends this school. I consider this school to be excellent, and commend it's mission and the hard work of the teachers and administration staff. The concerns that have been expressed by some parents about behavior issues in the school stems from the lack of parent involvement. Despite the efforts of the school to involve them more. Teachers and adminisitration can do so much. They are educators, counselors, interventionists, caretakers, etc...what more can you expect? Children and staff are together from 7:45 AM to 6 PM.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

my son attends HCZ's, PA2 and in terms of a dedication to education I gave this school a five star
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2010

An effort is made to work with the students and their needs. There is an affirmational aspect to teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2008

I rate this school poorly. There is not enough parent involvment in this school. I am very disappointed at the teachers especially they are lacking respect for each other. I am a concern parent. My daughter had atteneded this school and she was bully by another child, administration never call me to inform me. my daughter came home crying that everyday she is being bully by a student. not once the teacher in that class call me about this problem. i soon took my daughter out of this school. this school is terrible in my opinion. I sat in a classroom and watch a child throw a chair across a room almost hitting another child. this is school is going down hill i am not happy with admininstration either.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2008

My son started this school in september of this year after being accepted by the lottery. The ifrst two weeks were just a review of the pre-k program. At Kindergarted he is now on to writing sentences and learing three words a week with the help of his teacher. I am giving this school a chance as I have heard great things about the programs and will write again in January. So far the kindergarten program is good and I am happy with it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
10%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
15%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
23%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 1 83% 19%
Hispanic 2 13% 23%
Two or more races 1 2% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 1% 9%
White 2 1% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 25%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 278%N/A43%
Female 250%N/A49%
Male 250%N/A51%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 33%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 10%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 603 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.8
 

Students

This school

 
6.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.4
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.7
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
7.7
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.9
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.3
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
6.7
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.2
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.9
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.4
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents41684%
Students141100%
Teachers4696%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2005 Madison Ave-2nd Fl
New York, NY 10035
Phone: (917) 492-1481

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


All Sts. School
New York, NY



Ps 138
New York, NY



Ps 133 Fred R Moore
New York, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT