Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kipp Infinity Charter School

Charter | K-1, 5-11 | 687 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in New York

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $535,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,210.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 17, 2014

It is challenging, but keep on the hard work and it won't be too long till you see yourself finishing that grade. The end of the year trip is so worth it though :) . I am in 6th grade currently and am pretty used to waking up at 6 every morning to work hard and go to college. I am in class 2024, from Natalie Martinez


Posted October 24, 2013

NYC KIPP COLLEGE PREP IS A WONDERFUL SCHOOL. MY DON IS A 9 TH GREATER and loves going to school in the mornings.I am amazed on how well he's doing and has become a motivated child. Love my Charter school for my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

I like this school. I will make application for my son. but I do not know how to make application, keep checking
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2013

I find this school to be amazing. After serching on Great Schools for a school for my daughter. I am so happy. I needed to change my daughter's previous school. Her previous school had to many transistions with staff and no consistency. went to many open house and spoke to parents. I am very blessed to have my daughter at Kipp. My daughter is a 5th grader that can't wait to get to school the next day. She looks forward to the teacher and staff. They have a very creative way of engaging the children. The school is always clean, quiet, and excellent learning evironment. This was a huge change from her previous school. She came to this school 3 grades behind in reading. She is almost grade level. The extra help that was given to my daughter was amazing. This was done in only 5 months. I believe the rating is low. Every student is given the teacher's cell's phone numbers. There is no reason why homework can not be completed. The principal and staff are always available. I'm extrememly happy with the accomplishments my daughter has made. I'm glad I choose Kipp Infinity
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2011

there are good teachers and the school can be quite complicated but there are teachers that willbeome your role model and guide you through middle school and the the grade year spent with Kipp infinity when i was in the Kipp High School seemed very nice. There Are Many Rules And expectations that are set to aim above average. Kipp Is Outstandingly challenging. The Bonds made between students are great to see as well. Life long companions are made in the Kipp System.


Posted September 21, 2009

Kipp has the most awesome teachers. They are so helpful and caring. They have the coolest principle. He is very much loved and respected. This school also has a wide range of extracurricular stuff that the kids can do. There days are long but they do everything in their power to keep challenged all day and my kids love their school. They brag about it to all of their friends. And me as a parent, I love them. I've never seen so many young kids with so much talent and love for a school.The teachers communicate everything with me and they are always available, even on weekends. I am proud of my kids and the excellent work they've done and also proud of being a Kippster( being part of KIPP). May God bless them all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2009

My son just graduated from KIPP: Infinity Charter School. He has been in the school since it first opened. The school only gets better and better as it grows. KIPP is exceptional and I could not think of any better place for my son. I cried so much at graduation. My son and I are going to miss everyone at KIPP very much. Everyone there was always so dedicated to each and every one of these kids. I strongly recommend this school. Kippsters are so lucky and so are we (the parents)!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2008

My name is Taisha Valentin.I'm an eighth grade student at KIPP: Infinity Charter School. I am part of the founding class and I think this program is an astounding school. It helps its students through both academically and emotionally as well. To attend this school would mean thata your setting a goal for your life no matter how big it may be. You'll be climbing the mountain to college.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 17, 2008

My son is currently attending the summer academy to prepare for his first year at KIPP. So far we both love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2008

KIPP Infinity is an excellent school. The teachers and staff are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
41%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
95%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
81%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
66%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
100%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
98%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
n/a
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

55 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students77%
Female77%
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population77%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant77%

Chemistry

All Students57%
Female56%
Male58%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant57%

Earth Science

All Students74%
Female68%
Male82%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population76%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant74%

English

All Students87%
Female93%
Male77%
African American77%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities58%
General population92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant87%

Geometry

All Students84%
Female91%
Male75%
African American83%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic84%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant84%

Global History and Geography

All Students69%
Female71%
Male68%
African American65%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population74%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant69%

Integrated Algebra

All Students93%
Female95%
Male92%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities75%
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant93%

Living Environment

All Students88%
Female84%
Male93%
African American91%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities77%
General population90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant88%

Physics

All Students67%
Female50%
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population67%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant67%

U.S. History and Government

All Students92%
Female90%
Male95%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic93%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant92%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 1 66% 23%
Black 1 32% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 1% 9%
White 2 1% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 153%N/A49%
Male 147%N/A51%
Limited English proficient 19%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 191%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 15%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 9%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 619 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.3
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.7
 

Students

This school

 
7.7
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.6
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.5
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.8
 

Students

This school

 
8.0
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.7
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
7.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.4
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.5
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

Students

This school

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.6
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents36569%
Students21590%
Teachers3978%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. ALLISON WILLIS-HOLLEY
Fax number
  • (212) 234-8396

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

625 W 133 St
Rm 308D
New York, NY 10027
Website: Click here
Phone: (212) 991-2600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Annunciation School
New York, NY


Ps 325
New York, NY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT