Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

British International School of NY

Private | PK-8 | 260 students

Strong curriculum and small class sizes
 
 

 
 

Living in New York

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $805,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,110.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 18, 2014

Excellent teachers, great community. The class sizes are small, enabling individualized learning plans and goals for each student. It is a uniform school, and creativity and the arts are emphasized and celebrated. My daughter loves the school, and so do we.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2013

Small class sizes, beautiful classes and location for a New York school. Teachers are kind to the children, but still expect a high level of work. I think it's emotionally smart that they do more fun subjects on Mondays so that kids love going to school on Mondays. The more demanding subjects they have on Fridays. There is plenty of homework, but usually not on weekends. There is a database where you get feedback about your child in the form of emails. What's great is that they also write you an email when your child has done something positive. The curriculum is IB and English National Curriculum together, which is great for acceptance to schools in both the US and Europe. Kids are less entrenched in a superficial teenage culture like in other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2013

My son has been going to BISNY for the last 2 years, since he was 5, and we absolutely love it. It follows the IB methodology which we like. Academically and otherwise it's a good place to be! The school is a small, warm community with a good mix of expats and locals. For people coming from abroad, as we did, it's a boon as you make friends and learn you way around NYC relatively quickly and smoothly. Highly recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2013

I attended BIS-NY (I'm an alumna), and I absolutely loved it there. I'm not an athletic child, so I didn't enjoy swimming or running miles on Friday, but the academics and overall arts were extraordinary. I felt as if almost every teacher put in their best efforts to ensure that me and the rest of my classmates received the best education, as well as understand ourselves better as learners. I must say, however, the student to teacher ratio is a bit low. Whilst a standard private school would have about 15 to a teacher, here, there were about 6-7, and that number DECREASED as the years went up. (In my class, there were 4). I do remember not liking it so much while I was there, but when I graduated and went to high school, every day I thought about how I almost took BIS-NY for granted! Wonderful school, and I hope they open a bigger one soon!


Posted October 5, 2012

My children have really enjoyed this school. Very good expectations and high academic standards both in and outside the classroom.. A real gem!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2011

My children have thrived at this school. They actually love going. They're engaged, they're challenged. I'm very impressed with what they're learning and the level they're at with regard to reading and math. We're on our third year there. Small class size. Excellent teachers. Very hands on and involved. I love the British/International Baccalaureate approach -- which is not only superior to anything we'd come across in the past, but also includes requiring children to *behave*. This school has rules, and kids are expected to obey them. Clearly some parents have issues with that as evidenced by some of the one-star reviews I've seen here. My guess is those are the parents whose kids are beyond reproach and who believe that paying a hefty tuition entitles them to special privileges when it comes to discipline. Not so here, and I love that fact.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2011

My child won't be coming back to this school next year. We should have known better, if we wanted a real-British Education, we should have sent our child to a school in Great-Britian. The teachers are rude, the Headmaster does not value parents opinions; if you complain about the teachers, he will immediately look as if you are causing trouble... Not impress one bit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2011

We have recently enrolled our son in BISNY and have had nothing but positive experiences to date. Our interactions with the teachers and staff have been extremely positive and have demonstrated a committed and thoughtful understanding of our son. Their accessiblity and communication with us has been exemplary. We have generally found that the cirriculum has lived up to our expectations and have been very pleased with everything we have seen and observed about the school- with one month under our belts!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2011

This school was a total let down to me as a parent who values quality education. I had two children enrolled in this school, and the end result was a disappointment. Immediately, when I enrolled the children I saw all the bitterness that goes on behind closed doors. After investing a good amount of money in Private School for your children, beside getting quality education, you expect to receive Great Customer Service, and I have to say, I did not receive none of the above... I won't go in depth of all the flaws, because I would run out of space to write, but I have to warn parents who are looking to place their children in a top school here in NYC-that BIS-NY is not the one to consider. I would not recommend this school to my worst enemy. Immediately, I decided to pull my children out and hope that I never come across a school like this again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2011

We've had a great experience at BISNY. The curriculum challenges the students while at the same time accommodating different learning levels. We've always felt the teachers and administrators truly know our children. It's obvious from the feedback we get at parent teacher conferences and the communications/support throughout the year. They give serious thought to matching students with teachers, and in our experience, it has always been a good match.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2011

Not nurturing, very cold, and punitive school. If you are a good observer, you will soon discover something is going wrong under the sheer cover of warm environment. There are some good teachers, but there are teachers you have to avoid not to hurt your child's feeling. Kids hear about who is naughty or who is not publicly on a daily basis and it is not a good environment to raise a happy, healthy child. Even though, teacher student ratio is not too bad, teachers are tired so they yell 'frezze" during the recess.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

Advice for the new headmaster of the British International School: - Employ more British teachers. It's what the parents are paying top dollar for. - Be proud of the school: BISNY needs a little more attitude. It's unique. - Do not lose your British accent. The moment you adopt a Transatlantic twang is the moment your currency will start to fade. - Stay enthusiastic. You have a fantastic job at a very special little school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2010

In spite of a hardworking body of teachers and a strong curriculum, I have not been impressed by the school's weak leadership and management and their stubborn unwillingness to try and meet our particular child's needs. I have not always felt that they have had our child's best interests in mind and I have been unhappy with their negative attitude. I thought that a good school should always try to see the best in a child and should aim to raise their self esteem, not lower it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

I am so impressed with BIS-NY. My children are thriving at the school. Both have become independent, caring, thinking individuals. The teachers and staff truly care about the students. This is a first rate school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

I absolutely love the school. The teachers are among the best in NYC, the curriculum is challenging, and my child is thriving there. I would recommend this school to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

When I made a post in November 2009 we were new to the school and therefore gave a balanced view of policies that we thought were 'evolving' but not fully in place. However, now at the end of the year, we have a feeling that due to regular change of Principals and teachers who keep leaving the school, the management appears to be weak in making teachers accountable. Some teachers have real attitude problems and we felt that one of them in particular did not have the best interest for our child in mind. The management was unable to resolve her inactions and negative behaviour with parents like us who are paying huge fee for two children in the school and yet teachers have the audacity to ignore our concerns completely. Meet the teachers before you select the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

I have a similar experience with the parent who made a post on February 18, 2010. We come from UK and my child is advanced in reading and maths. We found that the teacher neither had the power of observation to take a note of the skills in the half-yearly reports nor was she interested in encouraging the child to explore his/her advanced skills. Since she was American educated she had no understanding of the UK standards either. I am not aware of support policies for adavnced kids in the school at the reception stage. However, I do not know what is the policy of the school in its later stages.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2010

As a parent of a child being educated in the UK Private system we found the move into this school very difficult. The curriculum was very far removed from his British school - he was considerably more advanced at reception level due to the type of work he'd already done in the UK. The teacher could not cope, and offered no extension work. It has good points (music in particular) but if your child is in Britain - in private education - take care to check the level of teaching being offered matches your expectations and your child's current educational experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2010

We transferred our son in the middle of Kindergarten (Year 1) from another private school to this school. My son has flourished. BIS-NY is an excellent school - a stimulating (and challenging) curriculum, extremely competent teachers (who are caring, enthusiastic and professional), an impressive student body (confident and well spoken) and a supportive and involved parent body. The school encourages the children to be active learners and supports children of all abilities. The school day is very structured and plenty of sport. There is a well implemented discipline policy. My son's nut allergy has not been a problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2009

My daughter has been at the British School since Kindergarten (Year 1). She loves going to school and has learned far more than her friends at other public and private schools in the city. She has had wonderful teachers and feels a part of the community. The IB PYP program is extraordinary.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 52%
Asian 10% N/A
Two or more races 8% N/A
Hispanic 6% 21%
Black 4% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
German
Italian
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Dance club
  • Drama club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Cooking club
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:40 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • William T. Phelps
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Non-Denominational

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • English National Curriculum
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Global
  • Mathematics
  • Music
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
  • Gymnastics
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
  • Gymnastics
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Chess club
  • Cooking club
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$40000 - $40000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Grace Chruch
Horrace Man
Dwight
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

20 Waterside Plaza
New York, NY 10010
Website: Click here
Phone: (212) 481-2700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT