Advertisement
Advertisement

Academy of St. Joseph (The)

Private | PK-3 | 41 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in New York

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $911,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,110.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 30, 2010

I think at one time this was a nice school. It is not now. Our dc goes here and there is a very violent child who seems like a special needs kid in the K class. He seems to punch or bite or kick someone every five minutes and kids are getting hurt. The director won't throw him out, but nothing she has tried has worked. We are losing many good families becuase of this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

Catholic but inclusive. Orthodox but liberal. And in the heart of Greenwich Village. What's not to like?


Posted December 26, 2009

Thoroughly impressed and highly recommend -- this school is incredible 'on paper'. What parent doesn't want their child to have foreign language exposure as early as Pre-K-3? But the true amazement doesn't come until you experience the school. . . . a head of school who greets you every morning, not just on the first day of school, teachers who email weekly newsletters and more individualized correspondences as often or infrequently as you request, and childhood development opportunities such as leading morning assembly that simply can't be found elsewhere. Visiting this school will not be a disappointment. I'm sure that any Academy parent you approach will tell you the same. (Daughter in Pre-Kindergarten)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2009

Our daughter attends kindergarten at the Academy of St. Joseph and we feel fortunate that we found this opportunity for her to grow in a safe and secure environment that also provides a curriculum designed to inspire and challenge the students. The school is blessed with the leadership of the Head of School, Ms. Coombs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2009

I feel so lucky to have found such a wonderful school for my son, who is in junior kindergarten. He loves his teachers, and while the atmosphere is very warm and caring, only the academic standards are of the highest caliber. He is thriving in this environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2009

We love the school. The director of the school is a dynamic and caring professional who runs a well organized school. The academic standards of the school are high yet the children seem happy and enriched in this environment. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2009

This is a great school in the West Village. The curriculum is humanities based and rigorous. My son is very happy there. With the small class size, each student gets lot of individual attention. Ms. Coombs, the principal, has many years experience and is a very warm and welcoming person.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2009

We transferred here from a nearby public school. I cannot believe the difference in my child. THe quality of education, the individual attention, the high-reaching curriculum, the opportunities--it's been a wonderful, confidence-boosting experience for my child. It's also been wonderful for the entire family, as we now have that proverbial village to help raise our child. Highly recommended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2009

Our son joined the Academy of St Josephs this year and it is proving to be a truly wonderful school. It is a small, nurturing community, and the academic standards are very high. The principal is inspiring and the teachers are excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2008

Our son just started this year at The Academy of St. Joseph in First grade. We are so happy we made the switch from a nearby public school. The teachers are very caring, yet have high academic standards. The school feels like more of a second home for our family, and Ms. Coombs, the Head of School, cares greatly about each and every student.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

111 Washington Pl
New York, NY 10014
Phone: (212) 243-5420

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


LREI
New York, NY




St. Lukes School
New York, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT