Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / School Profile

PK-12|Private
910 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Dwight School 5

Posted July 06, 2016
- a parent
My daughter is starting this coming September and the amount of communication as well as commitment to get her ready for the fall is impressive. I am so excited to see where this journey takes her.

Dwight School 4

Posted June 29, 2016
- a parent
My three children attended the preschool division of this school. Small class sizes and patient teachers with well thought out educational plans helped make this preschool a great experience for my children.


Dwight School 5

Posted June 20, 2016
- a parent
Our daughter has been at the Dwight Preschool since the Small Wonders program. The curriculum is varied with the right mixture of self guided play and teacher driven learning. We can see the foundations of the IB program already and have seen how this extends through the entire school experience. The teachers and administration are caring and know each pupil well. They are more than willing to spend time with each family to ensure the best possible experience for each child. The school has pupils from a diverse range of countries and has a good emphasis on learning an alternative language. Our daughter already knows an impressive array of Spanish words even though this is not spoken at home.

Dwight School 5

Posted January 29, 2014
- a parent
I must strongly disagree with any parent who says that Dwight teachers do not care.(Comment re Quest program below) I have two children who have been attending Dwight for the last three and a half years. Both my kids are very capable but sometimes fall behind due to their active participation in outside sports. All I can say is that whenever either of them have had an issue, the relevant teacher has been right on top of them and in touch with me. The teachers are always willing to meet them after class with some extra help. Any child who has the fortune of attending this wonderful school, I believe to be extremely fortunate.

Dwight School 1

Posted November 05, 2013
- a parent
At Dwight, your child will never receive any grade below B. This is wholesale academic deceit. "Schools" like Dwight ensure meritocracy remains a myth in American society.


Dwight School 5

Posted June 06, 2013
- a parent
Our child just finished his first year at Dwight, and we couldn't be more pleased. The teachers are talented and supportive, and the school has a culture that encourages kids to find their sweet spot and really nurture it. There are rules but there also is this flexibility that comes along with the school's philosophy of paving a way for students to build their individual strengths and pursue their interests. As well, the ability to hear perspectives from students from all over the world is priceless preparation for the increasingly global world we live in.

Dwight School 5

Posted April 10, 2013
- a parent
I love this school but my son LOVES this school. The teachers are excellent and the students are caring and well behaved. The school offers safe and nurturing environment. But yet, the school gives out challenging topics which students must tackle and resolve. They also embrace variety of cultural and ethnical backgrounds by having the children bring to the class and discuss from an early age (pre K). We also were very grateful that they have on-site nurse who care about each child's well being. My son must carry epipen and the nurse knows very very well about my health as well as his teacher. I have nothing but wonderful things to say about this school

Dwight School 2

Posted December 12, 2011
- a parent
I have been very disappointed with the school and the teachers. I do not feel my children are getting an excellent education. I would not recommend Dwight to anyone.


Dwight School 5

Posted April 29, 2010
- a student
Dwight students have unique talents. Whatever a Dwight students talent may be , he or she always manges to be the best at it. From fencing to sailing, to skating, students at Dwight are ranked at the top. This is because the Dwight school encourages us to pursue our talents, and explore any fielor area of interest. the faculty i unlike any other school. They work to help you do your best, and allow you to demonstrate your potential. At dwight we also experience a great variety of cultures, as an IB school. Because of such diversity, we are exposed to many cultures and become aware of other parts of the world. Dwight really prides itself in developing leadership, which I must credit Dwight for being succesful in this field. The Dwight school has organized many leadership trips across the world to help those in need. I enjoy dwight a lot

Dwight School 5

Posted January 16, 2010
- a student
I have been at the Dwight School for almost two years now, and I must say I absolutly love it there. The community in Dwight is so strong, and it's especially great to be part of an international one. There are students from almost every country you can think of, just in my grade alone there are students from Britain, Spain, France, Russia, China, Japan, Saudi Arabia, Australia and more. The students are very friendly and caring towards one another and the teachers are more than willing to help anyone who needs it. It is also one of the few schools in the city to offer the IB program, which is by far more rigorous and rewarding than any onther program. Overall, a fantastic school that I would highly recommend.

Nearby schools

Dwight School
291 Central Park West, New York, NY  10024
(212) 724-6360
Last modified Dwight School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top