Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / School Profile

K-8|Private
494 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The School At Columbia University 3

Posted February 16, 2016
- a parent
My experience at this school was good and bad. But when you're paying full tuition, bad is is bad. It's has diversity but it's policies lack "equity" and seems to affect mostly the minority population. There is teacher turnover. The curriculum may seem superior with the Columbia connection but lacks structure and consistency depending on the teacher. If your child has any challenges be aware. They will have some accommodations but they're not consistent and the inequitable policies towards behavior or academics expectations can hinder your child. The school population consist of "Columbia teachers kids" and "community kids" which is not always unified. It is a "new-ish" school that has yet to figure out who they are and needs clear leadership to define it's identity. Unfortunately, the present Head of School has created an atmosphere which does not support community spirit or parental concerns.. I cannot say it was all bad. The school facility , cultural arts programs, few key teachers and parents were a positive experience. Tuition support is provided so if you're comparing it to a public school and you get full tuition then its a no brainer. But it's a lottery to get in. Dec 20015

The School At Columbia University
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
There were a couple of teachers that inspired and supported a child's self confidence. It is not always about the material but the connection you make with a student.


The School At Columbia University
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
Although the schools talks about their social and emotional aspect in their curriculum I think some of their policies undermine those with challenges or differences.

The School At Columbia University
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
The school includes many topics on social justice which is used to teach lessons on fairness and equity.

The School At Columbia University 5

Posted March 01, 2015
- a parent
It is so nice to get away from a focus on testing and instead a focus on collaboration and learning. They work hard to help your child with his/her specific style and level of learning. Not everyone is a genius and not everyone needs remedial work, it is a reflection of the real world where we all need to function eventually.


The School At Columbia University 1

Posted January 08, 2015
- a parent
At first, this school seemed amazing, after-school, the food, facility, amenities, but alas when something seems too good to be true, it most likely is. The people that seem the happiest with this school are the lottery parents from Harlem. The Columbia parents express that the school is not rigorous enough for advance students nor is the peer group challenging & I must agree. I regret placing my kid here because it made my child regress in terms of learning. Some of the kids in 4th grade can barely read & write & how about not knowing multiplication in middle school? Too progressive. The concept is nice, but like with other schools, it's apparent why testing & screening is needed for all kids instead of taking some advance kids, some mainstream & some below average. If everyone is learning from each other, who are the advance one's learning from? The teachers were nice, but inexperienced. Not surprisingly, the head of school & the principals all have elementary aged kids that go to the highly rigorous independent privates, but if this school is so great, then why not have your kid attend? No excuses. You choose what's best. It's like a baker not eating from his own bakery.

The School At Columbia University 5

Posted December 02, 2014
- a parent
It's wonderful to have my daughter in a school that smashes down walls through a diverse atmosphere enabling thinking outside of the box. The students emerge each day more confident in the world in which we live in able to conquer, create and lead tomorrow.

The School At Columbia University 1

Posted October 01, 2014
- a parent
These people have no business dealing with teenage boys. Unless you have a very compliant child, do your child and family a favor and stay away from here. Some of the teachers are great, some way too fresh out of college to be working with such a cutting edge curriculum. The new head of school is completely uninvolved in the children's lives. He does not know them by name and is pretty much clueless about them.


The School At Columbia University 2

Posted May 04, 2013
- a parent
My children use to go to this school. My one child had all great teachers while my other didn't. The kindergarten teacher wasn't warm at all she would be better off in the upper grades. As far as community feel it's not a true unless you live right in the Columbia area. As far as the admin if you were not a Columbia professor they didn't have the time for you. I was very disappointed in the school. The good things were their specials, dance, art, science, spanish and wellness but that's it. Took my kids out they are learning more than they did there.

The School At Columbia University 5

Posted November 11, 2012
- a parent
I have a child in Kindergarten and am just amazed at the individual attention given by the highly experienced and nurturing head K teacher. She spent 26 years as a Kindergarten teacher at Hunter Elementary, and the last 10 at The School at Columbia. She called the curriculum not only "integrative" but also "differentiated" and I could not agree more. At a recent parent-teacher meeting, I was shown a thick file of my child's classroom activities, and each child's file differs considerably. At the same time, the communal spirit within the classroom is strong; the day is punctuated by songs as well as group activities in art, math, and literacy. At the moment, I could not be happier. As one reviewer said, no school is perfect, but I am thrilled that the parents seem so motivated and involved, and if there are problems ahead, I believe our voices will be heard.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The School At Columbia University
556 West 110th Street, New York, NY  10025
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. (212) 851-4215
Last modified The School At Columbia University is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top