Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ School Profile
 
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

The Lang School is a work in progress -- by design. Being the first school of its kind means we cull best practices from the fields of gifted education, special education, and child psychology in a flexible, data-driven, and wholly unprecedented way every day. We adapt these practices for each child who walks through our doors. We offer intensive, ongoing professional development for all staff and are always pushing our individual and collective practices to the next level. Our students needs haven't been served in traditional settings, so we cannot be traditional in our approach-- not in the degree to which we partner with staff, parents and outside providers; not in the degree to which we provide transparency for everyone in our learning community; and not in the degree to which we personally commit ourselves to the success of each child. Lang's leadership founded the school after successful careers in fields that value ethics, creativity and innovation, three of the school's core values. Our team of educators is highly trained, collaborative and exquisitely attuned to the needs of this special population of promising students.
May 19, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Lang School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted July 08, 2015
- a parent
Many of the students suffer from anxiety and attention issues so this is a fundamental principal that the school works on with students.

The Lang School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted July 08, 2015
- a parent
I think the school does an uneven job with this. I think it is harder with the younger students, where the emphasis is more on developing impulse control. I think the teachers of the older students work very hard promoting respectful behavior among students. Some teachers and staff are great. Others have not been, though they don't last at the school.


The Lang School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted July 08, 2015
- a parent
Absolutely! It is the primary thrust of the psychological staff as they work with kids to develop social skills.

The Lang School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 08, 2015
- a parent
The school staff put a great deal of emphasis on developing social skills of the students. This includes focus on developing skills like perspective taking, having empathy, understanding ones own triggers and developing strategies to tolerate frustration and anger. They also work on helping kids develop grit and overcome their anxiety about school work and social interactions. 2e children generally have a highly sensitive sense of justice and the school helps children find an appropriate way to channel that energy.

The Lang School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 08, 2015
- a parent
My son's teacher have been excited about working with this population, they make learning fun and find creative way to engage the students and get them interested in the work. They also really get the students and enjoy working with them. Teachers get regular professional development throughout the year so they are always learning and developing within their profession.


The Lang School 2

Posted June 05, 2015
- a parent
The biggest problem with this school is its lack of experience. Some of the teachers are good and care about the students, but many are inexperienced. The founder of the school does not have previous experience in a formal school setting prior to starting this school. She is difficult to work with. Also likely because of her lack of experience she is confidently clueless. This can be a dangerous thing. A good example is the school expelled a student for pointing a paper gun at another child and this incident was investigated by the attorney general's office. Google "paper gun the lang school". The psychological team is well intentioned but again in over their heads. I feel they don't have the skills to handle this population effectively despite trying hard. Unfortunately we did not research this school closely before we enrolled our child and have come to regret it. We bought into the rather slick marketing. Don't make the same mistake. If the school brings in a new principal that is willing to make bold changes, the school has potential. You are better off waiting till this happens.

The Lang School 2

Posted May 29, 2015
- a parent
My son goes to school here. There is high teacher turnover. We are looking for another school for him. The administration is bad. There are much better schools out there.
1 person found this helpful

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
The Lang School is a work in progress -- by design. Being the first school of its kind means we cull best practices from the fields of gifted education, special education, and child psychology in a flexible, data-driven, and wholly unprecedented way every day. We adapt these practices for each child who walks through our doors. We offer intensive, ongoing professional development for all staff and are always pushing our individual and collective practices to the next level. Our students needs haven't been served in traditional settings, so we cannot be traditional in our approach-- not in the degree to which we partner with staff, parents and outside providers; not in the degree to which we provide transparency for everyone in our learning community; and not in the degree to which we personally commit ourselves to the success of each child. Lang's leadership founded the school after successful careers in fields that value ethics, creativity and innovation, three of the school's core values. Our team of educators is highly trained, collaborative and exquisitely attuned to the needs of this special population of promising students.
Posted May 19, 2015


The Lang School 5

Posted April 22, 2015
- a parent
This is my son's third year at The Lang School and we have been very happy. He is an extremely bright child with a very complex array of learning disabilities, speech issues, ADHD and is on the spectrum. While I would not call his previous school experience a total disaster, it was far from ideal. He had few real friends and the teachers had no idea how to work with him and keep him engaged. From the moment he walked in the door at Lang, we all felt like everyone "got" him. It has not all been smooth sailing in terms of his progress, however, the school - from his fantastic teachers to the wonderful psychological team to the administration - have all worked with us and his outside providers every step of the way to help him become a successful student. Thank you Lang!
3 people found this helpful

The Lang School 4

Posted April 22, 2015
- a parent
My child is finishing her first year at Lang. This school has been an amazing fit for us - the academics are challenging and engaging. The supports provided are individualized and effective. Our child was "unfocused and frustrated" in her last school - a progressive, private school in Brooklyn - and here she is focused, engaged and inspired by what she is learning. We believe Lang is giving our child great tools to function in a rigorous academic environment in a way she is most comfortable and engaged.
2 people found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Lang School
11 Broadway, New York, NY  10004
(212) 977-7777
Last modified The Lang School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
The Lang School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 61 reviews. Top