Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ School Profile
 
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

The Lang School is a work in progress -- by design. Being the first school of its kind means we cull best practices from the fields of gifted education, special education, and child psychology in a flexible, data-driven, and wholly unprecedented way every day. We adapt these practices for each child who walks through our doors. We offer intensive, ongoing professional development for all staff and are always pushing our individual and collective practices to the next level. Our students needs haven't been served in traditional settings, so we cannot be traditional in our approach-- not in the degree to which we partner with staff, parents and outside providers; not in the degree to which we provide transparency for everyone in our learning community; and not in the degree to which we personally commit ourselves to the success of each child. Lang's leadership founded the school after successful careers in fields that value ethics, creativity and innovation, three of the school's core values. Our team of educators is highly trained, collaborative and exquisitely attuned to the needs of this special population of promising students.
May 19, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Lang School 2

Posted June 05, 2015
- a parent
The biggest problem with this school is its lack of experience. Some of the teachers are good and care about the students, but many are inexperienced. The founder of the school does not have previous experience in a formal school setting prior to starting this school. She is difficult to work with. Also likely because of her lack of experience she is confidently clueless. This can be a dangerous thing. A good example is the school expelled a student for pointing a paper gun at another child and this incident was investigated by the attorney general's office. Google "paper gun the lang school". The psychological team is well intentioned but again in over their heads. I feel they don't have the skills to handle this population effectively despite trying hard. Unfortunately we did not research this school closely before we enrolled our child and have come to regret it. We bought into the rather slick marketing. Don't make the same mistake. If the school brings in a new principal that is willing to make bold changes, the school has potential. You are better off waiting till this happens.

The Lang School 2

Posted May 29, 2015
- a parent
My son goes to school here. There is high teacher turnover. We are looking for another school for him. The administration is bad. There are much better schools out there.


Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
The Lang School is a work in progress -- by design. Being the first school of its kind means we cull best practices from the fields of gifted education, special education, and child psychology in a flexible, data-driven, and wholly unprecedented way every day. We adapt these practices for each child who walks through our doors. We offer intensive, ongoing professional development for all staff and are always pushing our individual and collective practices to the next level. Our students needs haven't been served in traditional settings, so we cannot be traditional in our approach-- not in the degree to which we partner with staff, parents and outside providers; not in the degree to which we provide transparency for everyone in our learning community; and not in the degree to which we personally commit ourselves to the success of each child. Lang's leadership founded the school after successful careers in fields that value ethics, creativity and innovation, three of the school's core values. Our team of educators is highly trained, collaborative and exquisitely attuned to the needs of this special population of promising students.
Posted May 19, 2015

The Lang School 5

Posted April 22, 2015
- a parent
This is my son's third year at The Lang School and we have been very happy. He is an extremely bright child with a very complex array of learning disabilities, speech issues, ADHD and is on the spectrum. While I would not call his previous school experience a total disaster, it was far from ideal. He had few real friends and the teachers had no idea how to work with him and keep him engaged. From the moment he walked in the door at Lang, we all felt like everyone "got" him. It has not all been smooth sailing in terms of his progress, however, the school - from his fantastic teachers to the wonderful psychological team to the administration - have all worked with us and his outside providers every step of the way to help him become a successful student. Thank you Lang!
2 people found this helpful

The Lang School 4

Posted April 22, 2015
- a parent
My child is finishing her first year at Lang. This school has been an amazing fit for us - the academics are challenging and engaging. The supports provided are individualized and effective. Our child was "unfocused and frustrated" in her last school - a progressive, private school in Brooklyn - and here she is focused, engaged and inspired by what she is learning. We believe Lang is giving our child great tools to function in a rigorous academic environment in a way she is most comfortable and engaged.
1 person found this helpful


The Lang School 5

Posted March 01, 2015
- a parent
What a joy and relief that our son attends The Lang School. After a horrible experience in a G&T classroom at a public school, we weren't confident we could find a place where our twice-exceptional kid fit in. Lang is the place. This school works so well with both his strengths and weaknesses. He can work at his several-years-ahead math level and get help with his writing struggles. He's only in 2nd grade, but is studying Logic, Engineering and Architecture & Geometry.He still has meltdowns, and the school can handle them. Our son loves school now.
2 people found this helpful

The Lang School 5

Posted January 04, 2015
- a parent
My daughter attended Lang for its first two years. She was in 5th and 6th grades, then, and is now in 9th. From this perspective I can now tell you: they made miracles for her. I cannot rave enough about what they did for her. The therapy to support her academic challenges was intensive, and it was integrated with every lesson, as well as being done in separate sessions. It was effective in ways that nothing else before or since has been. Yes, they're not the normal, run-of-the-mill, stodgy, sort of administration. But if you're looking at Lang, you already know that that kind of school isn't doing your student justice. These kids are brilliant, one and all, and this school lets them run (which even most "gifted programs" really don't). If you have a brilliant, quirky, kid who needs more than even a good school has given him or her, this is the place to look. If your kid also has learning differences, do whatever you need to do to get him or her in. It's that good.
1 person found this helpful

The Lang School 1

Posted October 03, 2014
- a parent
The lang school is a special education school for children who do not need an individualized program. If your child has a complex set of verbal and non-verbal difficulties, and / or social skills problems I would not recommend the lang school. There is very little psychological support for kids with co-morbid emotional issues.
3 people found this helpful


The Lang School 3

Posted June 14, 2014
- a parent
The Lang School is apart from other schools serving kids with learning differences. It has more the feel of an "alternative" school than a "special needs" school, and that seemed to fit our child's diagnosis, which has a mild presentation. Others see the school's youth as a detriment, I think it lends the school an exuberance & freedom. The faculty is bright and energetic, the space itself is airy and fresh. Yet, a number of the students don't fit the Lang profile, to the detriment of the student body. These kids exhibit severe behavioral problems that seem very disruptive & draw down the school's resources. The school aims to allow each child to advance at his/her pace, with plenty of accommodations in areas of weakness. Even the youngest kids are programming; gardening, welding, and identifying false advertising - a vigorous curriculum that honors the kids' abilities. In practice, some of the kids' weaknesses dominate the scene. Improvement would mean a more careful screening of applicants and monitoring students' progress. Also, a brief weekly email would serve well - poor communication from teachers. I hope Lang grows into its mission, for it fulfills a dire need in our city.

The Lang School 3

Posted May 27, 2014
- a parent
I had written a post here about Lang a few weeks ago and it has gone missing. So i will re-post my thoughts until someone at GreatSchools can 'find' my original post. Lang is a great idea to teach and nurture cognitively intact children who struggle with emotional hurdles. The children they take in have had unpleasant and tragic school histories. I admire the administration for taking on a much needed task - to fill a niche so many children and families need. This school is still in its infancy - there is a lot to be sorted out through this time. My suggestion - to retain professionals to help the administration solidify concept and execution of standard policies, treatments and general school decorum. The school is not nearly 'solid' enough to consistently and thoughtfully serve many of the families it is admitting. While many children will be OK - many will not. Which is a shame. Some more work invested on the higher levels of school administration would make this mediocre school into the envy (or model of) of the Special Ed and 2e world.
2 people found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Lang School
11 Broadway, New York, NY  10004
(212) 977-7777
Last modified The Lang School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
The Lang School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 45 reviews. Top