Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Success Academy Upper West
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted March 22, 2016
- a parent
Con mi hijo al contrario la integridad de mi hijo la an puesto en duda.es un nino con el cindrome de tuorrente y ADHD y eso ellos no lo an respectado.lo tratan mal permiten el bulin con mi nino y maltrato emocionales

Success Academy Upper West 1

Posted March 22, 2016
- a parent
Para mi hijo.esta escuela hacido terible.de maciado estre.no respetan los nino con discapacida.su integridad mala.a mi nino le an danado el cistema nervioso.es un nino triste.y cuando llego a esa escuela era un nino feliz


Success Academy Upper West 5

Posted April 23, 2015
- a parent
Very rigorous but caring environment. Students learn collaboration and cooperation in an diverse environment with a 0 tolerance for bullying. Our son looks forward to school every morning.

Success Academy Upper West 5

Posted December 02, 2014
- a parent
Great school. great staff, don't have words to express how happy we are being a part of this school. My son started in Kindergarten and just became a third grader with a 5th grader reading level and able to discuss intricate science subjects. I must say that this isnt a school for everyone, if you don't think that excellent learning takes time, effort and discipline then this isnt a school for you. Their schools days are long with only short periods of free time to idle, starting school at 7.30 until 4.30 dismissal won't give enough time for ballet, art or sports classes during the week, so our weekends are full of activities to compensate. This public school has the benefits of a private school with personalized kid approach, plenty of field trips, amazing location and great curriculum and without forcing parents to do "fundraising" to get extra staff, field trips, school supplies etc so parents can focus only on their children learning. Please tour a lot of schools before you make the final decision which school is best for your kid.

Success Academy Upper West 3

Posted November 23, 2014
- a parent
The Dismissal at this School is abysmal and Chaotic at best.The teachers have gotten better because of a Diverse Mix,Thank God for that!..They still need More Hispanic Teachers,Preferably Bilingual as well as More transparency..And please do AWAY with that prehistorically,Modernish,Confusing Tracking system that seems like it was invented by a obsolete Cyborg...By the way Parents complain about this while waiting to Pick up/Drop Off their Children..I have been there from the Inception ofvthus School..Upper West you are Better than this..From a Father of 4...


Success Academy Upper West 1

Posted November 13, 2014
- a parent
The school is great for children who are fast learners and can deal with a lot of work and stressed. However, SAUW may just be a nightmare for children who, despite their high intelligence, cannot perform at fast speed. I have heard of a lot of children and their parents going through so much stressed after 2nd grade. There is no artistic environment in this school. If you want your kid(s) to have " real kids life", this is not the place to send your kid(s).

Success Academy Upper West 1

Posted November 06, 2014
- a parent
My son (G 2) goes to this school since he was K. We loved the school when he was in K, he was definitely learning a lot and I considered the longer hours a good thing. Their focus on academics is impressive. However, the school seems overly stringent on rules and infractions to the point where kids are afraid to tell their teacher anything for fear of incurring an infraction. They seem more focused on keeping control of students and watching who follows the rules than encouraging curiosity and imagination. All teachers are very young and have no idea about very young children. They are not interested what was going on with each kids other than which kids are getting higher scores. Their communication skills with parents are very poor. I definitely don't feel like there is any partnership in trying to do what's best for the kids. They do not have "real" Art class (technically they have it but we rarely see any artworks from the class or heard about it), and no music class at all. Kids are talking about who got 100% or got Red and timeout today. It doesn't seem healthy to me. I'll definitely consider to pull him out from this school.

Success Academy Upper West 1

Posted November 03, 2014
- a parent
If you are looking for a military school this is perfect for you and your family. I had a child at success we took him out. The school is full of anxiety. The discipline borders abuse.


Success Academy Upper West 5

Posted October 27, 2014
- a parent
This is an absolutely amazing school! My wife and I were part of a G&T program and feel this is way beyond anything we experienced. Most importantly our kids are happy, confident, and highly capable. We are really thankful for the opportunity to attend.

Success Academy Upper West 5

Posted August 11, 2014
- a parent
My son just completed K at SAUW and so far we are VERY impressed. My child came in reading and being able to do some math, and his teacher went out of her way to keep him busy and engaged. My son loves science every day. He loves block time and recess, art and sports. At the end of the year he was reading at level L and able to do simple multiplication, division and fractions. We honestly believe this school is better than any local public and possibly the district gifted programs as it has the ability to teach each child at his or her own levels in small groups. In addition to the academics, SAUW is doing an amazing job to foster my child's creativity, curiosity and love and excitement about school and learning. The teachers are amazing, caring and enthusiastic. Despite having a traditional approach to discipline, we find the curriculum to be quite progressive with large project-based learning units and frequent field trips. If you are considering the school, I urge you to tour and talk to current parents. We highly recommend SAUW.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Success Academy Upper West
145 West 84th Street, New York, NY  10024
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (646) 274-1581
Last modified Success Academy Upper West is a Charter school that serves grades K-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top