Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ School Profile
6-12
Public district
New York, NY
Students enrolled: 532
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Wadleigh Secondary School for the Performing and Visual Arts 1

Posted June 18, 2013
- a community member
This is the worst school in New york city. Although the teachers are nice and work as hard as they can, this is not a safe school to go to. The students are very rude and mean, they don't have respect for anyone. Lots of nasty things happen during breaks and lunch. If you are interested in applying to this school SAVE yourself because it's not worth it at all. Honestly home school or online school is ten times better then this horrible school

Wadleigh Secondary School for the Performing and Visual Arts
no rating

Posted June 23, 2009
- a parent
I enjoy the after school programs for adults and children. The Personnel and Security are very positive people!


Wadleigh Secondary School for the Performing and Visual Arts 4

Posted June 12, 2009
- a parent
I have two sons at Wadleigh Secondary School (a senior and a junior) and they are both very active in the choir. Wadleigh imay not be the best school in New York City, but I remind my sons that it's their commitment to their own education that's more important than anything else. The Principal, Ms. Hall runs the school with dedication, compassion and understanding. I *love* Wadleigh and its very dedicated faculty.

Wadleigh Secondary School for the Performing and Visual Arts
no rating

Posted October 05, 2008
- a student
This school isnt bad... I go to wadleigh and Im president of the 10th grade.. I love wadleigh!! this school has a bad reputation, but if you are actually a student attending the school, you'd notice that wadleigh isnt as bad as people say it is.. I am 14 in 10th grade, I get 90's and above, and i never had a fight before.. In my opinion, wadleigh is better than most of the other high schools located in harlem!

Wadleigh Secondary School for the Performing and Visual Arts
no rating

Posted April 12, 2008
- a parent
Wadleigh is not one of the worst schools but is indeed a bad school. My child is in this school and i cant seem to transfer her out. She doesnt like the school. Her grades went from 80s & 90's to 60's this school made my daughter worse.


Wadleigh Secondary School for the Performing and Visual Arts 1

Posted November 29, 2007
- a parent
This school turned out to be one of the most horrible experiences of my life. My son went from a wonderful boy to someone almost unrecognizable. I had to take him out of Wadleigh in order for him not to get lost in the system. There are only a few teachers that care and by that time is already too late.

Wadleigh Secondary School for the Performing and Visual Arts 2

Posted August 21, 2007
- a parent
I was very disgusted by the lack of school spirit ,especially in the principle. The principal is always in her office ,and very rarely interacts with the parents. The lack of books,and school furniture is also an issue.

Wadleigh Secondary School for the Performing and Visual Arts 1

Posted August 17, 2007
- a student
The school is a bad institute, the books are in desperate need of updating.


Wadleigh Secondary School for the Performing and Visual Arts 4

Posted February 21, 2004
- a community member
Wadleigh Secondary is no longer it's name. The new name is Wadleigh Arts. The school has improved over the past three years with the new princpal. Test scores have risen and the school staff and security provides a safe environment for the students, parents and staff. They are now focusing on the Arts in Harlem for the children of the community and those who are accepted into the school. There is still room for improvement with parent involvement. Shows cases are every month for the school, parents and community. The school is housed in a lovely building that has a culinary kitchen, t.v. studio, dance studio, choir studio, music studio. There are dance classes; tap, ballet, afro-jazz, interpatation and hip-hop. Music; choir, opera, jazz, piano, guitar, bass and spirtuals. Art classes; photography, computor art, water colors, painting, lithograph's. Sports; winnig basketball team, varsity, middle school, cheerleaders. This is a NYC Public School in Harlem.The school has been talk bad about, but that is the PAST and we hope that you come to look at the school. Give it a chance and see the beauty of the school, the work that is produced by the staff and students. Feel free to come and meet us. we will be glad to see you. From the PTA President & Parent Coordinator.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wadleigh Secondary School for the Performing and Visual Arts
215 West 114th Street, New York, NY  10026
(212) 749-5800
Last modified Wadleigh Secondary School for the Performing and Visual Arts is a Public school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Wadleigh Secondary School for the Performing and Visual Arts Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top