Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
60 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 121 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 290 Manhattan New School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted February 26, 2016
- a parent
Homework is a joke. It is busy work. The school is also in the stone age. Nothing is online. Homework is handed out on flyers. If you like flyers MNS is for you, the kids backpacks will be filled with flyers since this place has never heard of a website.

Ps 290 Manhattan New School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted February 26, 2016
- a parent
The teachers would need to have persistence, grit and determination to be able to teach it. They have no such abilities.


Ps 290 Manhattan New School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted February 26, 2016
- a parent
It doesn't develop honesty, integrity or fairness. It is petty, small minded, and comically self important.

Ps 290 Manhattan New School 1

Posted February 26, 2016
- a parent
This is not a good school any more. The facilities are run down and over crowded. Kids are packed in like sardines. Teachers deal with overcrowded classes. Most teachers Ive met are short tempered and insensitive probably due to the poor conditions. It is living on the reputation of yesteryear that ended with the Dinkins Administration. Gym class takes place on the street. The place is literally bursting at the seams. The PTA raises money but even expensive perfume can't cover this stench.

Ps 290 Manhattan New School 4

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
hanha aggaga agaga aq aq a qa q aq a qa qaq a qa q aq a qaq


Ps 290 Manhattan New School 5

Posted August 29, 2014
- a parent
We moved to the UES last year from a very good suburban public school, and I had trepidation about moving her to NYC pub schools. Everyone upstate was horrified at the idea of bringing her into NYC to live and going to a NYC public school. Little did they know! I couldn't be more thrilled with the school. The UES takes education seriously, and the benefits to the kids get are just amazing. Targeted after school help, quality classroom equipment, challenging lessons, educational field trips, recitals (even dance lessons!), the quality of education is just superb. Serious, positive parent involvement as well in PTA. And kids are just really nice kids and the neighborhood is comfortable. Everyone was very welcoming. So glad I made the leap and moved into the city. My daughter found a home in this school and thrives and I get to walk her to school everyday and spend time with her face to face. From what I see the teachers bring their A game every day. I don't regret a thing.

Ps 290 Manhattan New School 5

Posted June 23, 2014
- a parent
Ps 290 Manhattan New School is an amazing school - the teachers are very talented, caring, and do an amazing job of keeping a class of 20+ focused and learning. I have spent a couple of days "observing" and was totally blown away at how the teachers are able to keep the kids engaged. We are much happier at Ps 290 than the 2 private schools before - no attitudes, no pretension, just a great neighborhood school with a focus on the kids

Ps 290 Manhattan New School 5

Posted January 15, 2014
- a parent
This school is amazing. I am a snobby, UES parent who would have never selected a public school for their child. However, my child ended up there. I cannot be more thrilled and impressed with the quality of the teachers, administration and entire staff. It is a warm, nurturing, loving environment from the principal on down.


Ps 290 Manhattan New School 3

Posted June 07, 2012
- a parent
PS290's excellent reputation is based on the school it used to be, not what it is now. The curriculum emphasizes writing, but neglects fundamentals such as spelling and grammar. My daughter just learned what a verb is... because I had to explain it to her. Math is generally weak, as other reviewers have noted. They teach to the middle, ignoring high performing students (except kids of PTA board members). Teacher quality is inconsistent. A few are excellent, but most are mediocre at best. My daughter's current teacher has not sent home corrected homework since January & brazenly plays favorites in the classroom. The current principal is more interested in playing politics than effectively administering the school. She plays favorites with the children of the PTA board, placing them with better teachers and prioritizing them for enrichment programs. As a result, the PTA operates as a catty insiders club, with board members jockeying to keep their posts and keeping outsiders in their place. Their fundraising efforts are laughable, and communication with the parents is unsatisfactory. Finally, it is 140-150% overcrowded, which the principal wants to maintain for her budget

Ps 290 Manhattan New School 5

Posted March 06, 2012
- a parent
Our daughter started Kindergarten this year and we could not be more thrilled! She absolutely loves the school, and so do we! Our daughter has benefited from the warm and nurturing environment. They make it fun for the kids and that makes them love going to school. Her teacher is excellent, and we sometimes notice our daughter imitating her (really looks up to her as a role model). They have extended day sessions for kids needing additional help - our daughter's fine motor skills have benefited from this program. They have a good after school program as well. I love morning drop offs, as the back yard is abuzz with excited happy kids and energetic parents. The PTA is very active with fund-raising. I've personally been able to contribute by doing a guest session on music. Due to it's limited real estate, the school does not have a spacious auditorium and it's cafeteria doubles up as the gym, but the gym teacher makes the most of it. There is some homework even in K, which I like... The principal, vice principal, teachers and staff at MNS are excellent, and I highly recommend this school...

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 290 Manhattan New School
311 East 82nd Street, New York, NY  10028
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 121 reviews. (212) 734-7127
Last modified Ps 290 Manhattan New School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top