Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Repertory Company High School for Theatre Arts 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
Since 2013 Repertory Company HS for Theatre Arts has undergone new leadership. The school is going in an uphill direction. The school grades have become very competitive with other special arts schools. This school's enhanced education system makes the student college-ready. I, as a parent, am totally impressed to the program outlined for each grade. These newley developed programs challenge the student academically as well as creatively. My child has grown immensely since attending three years ago. I believe this is a school that every student and parent should review when deciding on a high school to attend.

Repertory Company High School for Theatre Arts 4

Posted August 02, 2013
- a parent
This is a school that most of the students like. It could use help in the form of more actors and actressess guiding them to improve in their acting. It's a small school right in the middle of the threatre district, with many talented students. If they can get a sponsor - guide these young future actors and actresses, and the many multi-talented ones in what they want to be in the future. The teachers know the students, and students know their teachers. It is not so big that a student can get lost. Regular academics is stressed but students can work a little harder for the academics. If someone could help sponsor this school, it would be even better.


Repertory Company High School for Theatre Arts 4

Posted October 29, 2012
- a parent
I believe every school has its good and bad. So far my daughter has been doing great and she is pressed to go forward by her teachers.Sometimes its really up to the student also to put their effort but I do understand that sometimes teachers are just following curriculum.

Repertory Company High School for Theatre Arts 2

Posted November 17, 2011
- a parent
The Reperatory school, is definitely not the fit for a student, who had graduated from a school with high academic standards. This school has no structure, the students are all over the place. I consistently ask my child about test, and quizes, how are these students going to get what they need academically from this school? The Principal never returns your phone calls, the administration is very unprofessional. Trust me, find another alternative especially if your child would like to seriously study performing arts, this school is not the fit.

Repertory Company High School for Theatre Arts 1

Posted September 03, 2011
- a student
I'm a current senior and from before freshman year my peers and I were promised 4 years of dance, acting, and music. We've recieved about 2 years of dance, most of the acting but with different acting teachers every year, and literally 6 months of music. As for the academics, the bear minimum is given for a regents diploma.The only sciences are living environment and chemistry. Thats it. No calculous either. Almost everyone in my grade failed the chemistry and geometry regents. If you want a school that will help you grow artistically, soar to new heights academically and thrive in an environment where everyone wants to learn s much as you do, REPERTORY COMPANY H.S. IS NOT THE SCHOOL FOR YOU OR YOUR CHILDREN.


Repertory Company High School for Theatre Arts 5

Posted July 17, 2011
- a parent
My son is a senior at Repertory; he will graduate next June with an Advance Regents Diploma. In September, he will be taking courses at Hunter College thru College Now. I liked Repertory because of its size; the school averages about 240 students. The school exposed my son to technical theatre and now he is looking at colleges where he can major in theatre and technical theatre. The teachers and the staff are very supportive of students, and parents have access to teachers. Repertory has a family atmosphere; the teachers and staff know the students. Academically Repertory ranks among the average in public high schools. The down side, Repertory struggles financially. The school has talented students but without famous alumni or big names sponsors, the PTA is the only source of fundraising. Never the less, the school gets a ton of credit for what it accomplishes annually on a limited budget.

Repertory Company High School for Theatre Arts 5

Posted November 20, 2010
- a student
being a current junior in this school i have been thrilled with the experience in this establishment. i have a lot of hands on training and the teachers are very well concerned to not only passing their students with above satisfactory grades but also on being able to apply their knowledge into real life situations. also, being a theatre arts school, the principal does a lot to try and incorporate and encourage kids in all aspects of theatre (set, light and sound operation, and technical crew) the curriculum is college based and gives qualifications for every student in attendance, in four years time, graduate with an advance regents diploma which gives an exemplar look on a students transcript when looking for colleges. being located in the meat of the Theatre district (Times Square) gives no greater place for a rising star to be trained and set out into the real world with high expectations not only from loved ones but also from myself.

Repertory Company High School for Theatre Arts 1

Posted May 18, 2010
- a student
This school is terrible, the grades are low the standards of the teachers are low. If the teachers arent stopping the lesson for one thing there cursing out a student . With the grade levels being low some of the teachers before regents go up to students the dont feel will do well. And say i dont think you should take this regents this year and the students end up having to take the regents over. This has happend to me personally as well and I ended up passing the regents. There is no structure in the school. Please take Action . There are so many students unhappy.


Repertory Company High School for Theatre Arts 1

Posted April 23, 2010
- a student
Repertory has just reached satisfactory in the performing arts field, which also isn't so amazing. The academics at this school are extremely terrible. I am currently a freshman, and the unorganization at this school is unbelievable. Alot of students are unhappy here and wish to transfer but the Priciple will not allow transfers.Many students alternate to dropping out and recently classes as a whole have failed regents exams. This can be partially the students fault, but is mostly due to poor preperation.There is no sense of motivation here at repertory as well as no diversity making some students uncomfortable in this enviroment. Many students have voiced feeling deprived of their talent once arriving at repertory h.s. The gradutation percentage at this school is decent but overall the terrors of Repertory are overlooked. I am personally unhappy here and hope that one day this school can go undergo evaluation, depleting its existence.

Repertory Company High School for Theatre Arts 1

Posted February 13, 2010
- a student
I am a freshmen at this school. I hate it so much, i am trying to transfer out. There are not enough preforming arts. None of the kids are motivated, no one cares about education. The teachers are rude and disrespectful. Don't come here!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Repertory Company High School for Theatre Arts
123 W 43rd St, New York, NY  10036
(212) 382-1875
Last modified Repertory Company High School for Theatre Arts is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Repertory Company High School for Theatre Arts Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top